shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2009 Hi all, when signing OTP, seller agreed to do some reno works I have requested and to fix the illegal reno works such as bomb shelter hole boxed up. All these things are written down in Inventory List & Option form. However, if seller unable to fulfill his promises when completion date is up. What I can do ah? Thanks for all advices. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted June 9, 2009 (edited) hmm.. I thought this should be HDB Inspecter job Edited June 9, 2009 by therat Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2009 hmm.. I thought this should be HDB Inspecter job Story: The seller hacked down the wall to make 2 rooms into 1. He promissed to build up the wall for me at his expense and I am the one liasing with contractor as I am the one who need to accept the final outcome. Meantime, ask the contractor to fix the illegal reno as well. But till today, still no action at all. Not even know who is the contractor! And the completion date is 22nd June! What I can do? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
born_again 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 (edited) ya it should be the HDB officer chasing after the illegal works to be restored back. Y as buyer u need to do it? Just few years ago, inspection was carried out after 1st appointment and 2nd appointment would be delayed if seller did not fix back what they're supposed to do. I was in this situation back in 2005. HDB hold on to the 2nd appointment date till I made arrangement to change the windows rivets for my casement windows as i was the seller. They 'issued' the 2nd appointment date only after I submitted the invoice to prove that the works had been carried out. its quite tricky for your case as the seller might not want to get the works done if the 2nd appointment date is already out and was there any notice from the HDB officer about the illegal work? Did u or the seller by any chance draft up any agreement to state that u'll be held responsible if the seller did not restore back the illegal works? Think time is very critical here so would strongly urge u to contact the HDB officer to clarify this matter. Edited June 10, 2009 by born_again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 ya it should be the HDB officer chasing after the illegal works to be restored back. Y as buyer u need to do it? Just few years ago, inspection was carried out after 1st appointment and 2nd appointment would be delayed if seller did not fix back what they're supposed to do. I was in this situation back in 2005. HDB hold on to the 2nd appointment date till I made arrangement to change the windows rivets for my casement windows as i was the seller. They 'issued' the 2nd appointment date only after I submitted the invoice to prove that the works had been carried out. its quite tricky for your case as the seller might not want to get the works done if the 2nd appointment date is already out and was there any notice from the HDB officer about the illegal work? Did u or the seller by any chance draft up any agreement to state that u'll be held responsible if the seller did not restore back the illegal works? Think time is very critical here so would strongly urge u to contact the HDB officer to clarify this matter. Coz I dun wan any delay to the completion date. Thats why chasing the seller to finish all these things lor. Haiz... Thats why I ask whether can request for some sort of compensation if completion date being delayed. Coz me renting house now and already inform landlord will move out end of this mth. If cannot complete on time, I might have to find other place to stay and need to move twice. Very troublesome lor... Already written down in Inventory List that seller to restore back the illegal works. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
born_again 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 Coz I dun wan any delay to the completion date. Thats why chasing the seller to finish all these things lor. Haiz... Thats why I ask whether can request for some sort of compensation if completion date being delayed. Coz me renting house now and already inform landlord will move out end of this mth. If cannot complete on time, I might have to find other place to stay and need to move twice. Very troublesome lor... Already written down in Inventory List that seller to restore back the illegal works. hmmm.. is HDB aware of this arrangement ie inventory list drafted by both parties? u'll have to get the agents to chase after the seller. I'm just thinking what if the seller don't restore back the work? HDB still let the sales go thru completion? cos previously HDB would must check to confirm that the works are restored before 2nd appointment. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 hmmm.. is HDB aware of this arrangement ie inventory list drafted by both parties? u'll have to get the agents to chase after the seller. I'm just thinking what if the seller don't restore back the work? HDB still let the sales go thru completion? cos previously HDB would must check to confirm that the works are restored before 2nd appointment. Yes, written down in the official Inventory List and signed by both parties. Agent told me dun complete the resale if the flat not up to my expectation. Which mean, delay of completion date. This is the last thing I wan to see. Haiz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 wall is between u and buyer BUT bomb shelter hole boxed, that is HDB job. When HDB officer come down after the 1st appointment, they didn't say anything abt this Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 wall is between u and buyer BUT bomb shelter hole boxed, that is HDB job. When HDB officer come down after the 1st appointment, they didn't say anything abt this Hey therat, thanks for helping me all the way to here. Hahaha... Yes, HDB officer did came down before 1st appt and told seller to restore back before completion. Thats it... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 Hey therat, thanks for helping me all the way to here. Hahaha... Yes, HDB officer did came down before 1st appt and told seller to restore back before completion. Thats it... The seller need to restore back before 2nd appt. HDB will come and check before 2nd appt. At the mean time, ask ur agent to check with the seller agent. What is their problem? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 (edited) ok. Maybe the experience I had with mine will help... My two toilets were leaking and they had to be rectified before completion. But HDB checked with the owner upstairs and the owner would not be around until one week before my completion... and because they would not be enough time for rectification to be done, HDB asked both parties (us and the sellers) if they would sign the liability to us and pay US for the works to be done. Since the seller and us did not want the completion to be delayed and we were going to do renovation for a month after completion anyway we signed a document that said that we were willing to accept the money (from the seller) for rectifying the leakage AFTER completion (when the flat has already under our name). Your technical officer should be able to help you on this. therat is right on saying that HDB will check just before completion to make sure everything is intact. Just before they do down to check, you can just give the person a call and ask her (nicely) to pay attention to the above.. Just warn the seller agent that if all is not done, you will not be able to complete on the right date and threaten NOT TO PAY commission to either of them so let them go and psycho the sellers. I DID THAT TOO.. 5 days before completion we noticed that the house still had a lot of rubbish lying around. I called the agent and told her that I want a completely empty house.. not even curtains and told her that I would not pay her commission if it's not done. So she can jolly well go and clear it for all I cared. Anyway she needed to earn her money right? haha and it was very effective. Edited June 10, 2009 by pinkpetter Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 11, 2009 The seller need to restore back before 2nd appt. HDB will come and check before 2nd appt. At the mean time, ask ur agent to check with the seller agent. What is their problem? Hi therat, may i know when the HDB officer will come for final inspection ah? How many days before completion? Ya man, I dunno what is their problem exactly! My agent holiday in Australia and back this Sunday. Got to wait for him to come back to settle all these mess. Haiz... ok. Maybe the experience I had with mine will help... My two toilets were leaking and they had to be rectified before completion. But HDB checked with the owner upstairs and the owner would not be around until one week before my completion... and because they would not be enough time for rectification to be done, HDB asked both parties (us and the sellers) if they would sign the liability to us and pay US for the works to be done. Since the seller and us did not want the completion to be delayed and we were going to do renovation for a month after completion anyway we signed a document that said that we were willing to accept the money (from the seller) for rectifying the leakage AFTER completion (when the flat has already under our name). Your technical officer should be able to help you on this. therat is right on saying that HDB will check just before completion to make sure everything is intact. Just before they do down to check, you can just give the person a call and ask her (nicely) to pay attention to the above.. Just warn the seller agent that if all is not done, you will not be able to complete on the right date and threaten NOT TO PAY commission to either of them so let them go and psycho the sellers. I DID THAT TOO.. 5 days before completion we noticed that the house still had a lot of rubbish lying around. I called the agent and told her that I want a completely empty house.. not even curtains and told her that I would not pay her commission if it's not done. So she can jolly well go and clear it for all I cared. Anyway she needed to earn her money right? haha and it was very effective. "HDB asked both parties (us and the sellers) if they would sign the liability to us and pay US for the works to be done. Since the seller and us did not want the completion to be delayed and we were going to do renovation for a month after completion anyway we signed a document that said that we were willing to accept the money (from the seller) for rectifying the leakage AFTER completion (when the flat has already under our name)." Ohh... HDB willing to do that? Even for non-illegal works such as my case, the restoration of wall and open back the door? Actually, I dun mind the seller pass me the $$$, then I settle myself. I have proposed this idea to seller but somehow he is not willing to do that. How to know who is my technical officer and how to contact him/her ah?? Haiz... I dun wish to threathen anyone leh. I wish to have a pleasant and smooth deal. Everybody happy. But I think no choice liao, have to press whoever I need press to get the things done. One last question, If... If really really have to delay the completion... nothing I can do? Just LL delay the completion and I end up have to find another place to stay for temporary? On my own expense?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
born_again 0 Report post Posted June 11, 2009 Hi therat, may i know when the HDB officer will come for final inspection ah? How many days before completion? Ya man, I dunno what is their problem exactly! My agent holiday in Australia and back this Sunday. Got to wait for him to come back to settle all these mess. Haiz... "HDB asked both parties (us and the sellers) if they would sign the liability to us and pay US for the works to be done. Since the seller and us did not want the completion to be delayed and we were going to do renovation for a month after completion anyway we signed a document that said that we were willing to accept the money (from the seller) for rectifying the leakage AFTER completion (when the flat has already under our name)." Ohh... HDB willing to do that? Even for non-illegal works such as my case, the restoration of wall and open back the door? Actually, I dun mind the seller pass me the $$$, then I settle myself. I have proposed this idea to seller but somehow he is not willing to do that. How to know who is my technical officer and how to contact him/her ah?? Haiz... I dun wish to threathen anyone leh. I wish to have a pleasant and smooth deal. Everybody happy. But I think no choice liao, have to press whoever I need press to get the things done. One last question, If... If really really have to delay the completion... nothing I can do? Just LL delay the completion and I end up have to find another place to stay for temporary? On my own expense?? remember the letter of inspection whereby HDB indicated that someone would be turning up at the unit to inspect for illegal works? U should have a copy of the letter and u can call up the undersigned. Nevertheless, u can also call up the officer handling your resale. Login to MyHDB from HDB website using your SINGPASS, go to resale flat status and u'll see the officer's name and contact number there. U can email to the officer with your contact number and he/she would response fast. I tried that and the officer called me the next morning as there's some issues with the loan matter. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 11, 2009 (edited) "HDB asked both parties (us and the sellers) if they would sign the liability to us and pay US for the works to be done. Since the seller and us did not want the completion to be delayed and we were going to do renovation for a month after completion anyway we signed a document that said that we were willing to accept the money (from the seller) for rectifying the leakage AFTER completion (when the flat has already under our name)." Ohh... HDB willing to do that? Even for non-illegal works such as my case, the restoration of wall and open back the door? Actually, I dun mind the seller pass me the $$$, then I settle myself. I have proposed this idea to seller but somehow he is not willing to do that. How to know who is my technical officer and how to contact him/her ah?? Haiz... I dun wish to threathen anyone leh. I wish to have a pleasant and smooth deal. Everybody happy. But I think no choice liao, have to press whoever I need press to get the things done. One last question, If... If really really have to delay the completion... nothing I can do? Just LL delay the completion and I end up have to find another place to stay for temporary? On my own expense?? If you propose to him yourself of cos cannot la. you call your technical officer to find out more. She also will help you if need to sign agreement or what. And the seller MUST give you the money by second appt. FYI, if you took a loan (any loan) for your flat you cannot delay completion. There is a penalty for it... unless you take HDB one and HDB is lenient with you, waiving it off for you. Banks will not be so kind though. Time to be tough. otherwise the one who suffer is you wor... remember the letter of inspection whereby HDB indicated that someone would be turning up at the unit to inspect for illegal works? U should have a copy of the letter and u can call up the undersigned. Nevertheless, u can also call up the officer handling your resale. Login to MyHDB from HDB website using your SINGPASS, go to resale flat status and u'll see the officer's name and contact number there. U can email to the officer with your contact number and he/she would response fast. I tried that and the officer called me the next morning as there's some issues with the loan matter. follow born_again's instructions ba. Edited June 11, 2009 by pinkpetter Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 12, 2009 remember the letter of inspection whereby HDB indicated that someone would be turning up at the unit to inspect for illegal works? U should have a copy of the letter and u can call up the undersigned. Nevertheless, u can also call up the officer handling your resale. Login to MyHDB from HDB website using your SINGPASS, go to resale flat status and u'll see the officer's name and contact number there. U can email to the officer with your contact number and he/she would response fast. I tried that and the officer called me the next morning as there's some issues with the loan matter. I only received 1 letter of inspection nia, which is before 1st appt. No letter of inspection after that. Thanks born_again! I shall contact the officer for advice. If you propose to him yourself of cos cannot la. you call your technical officer to find out more. She also will help you if need to sign agreement or what. And the seller MUST give you the money by second appt. FYI, if you took a loan (any loan) for your flat you cannot delay completion. There is a penalty for it... unless you take HDB one and HDB is lenient with you, waiving it off for you. Banks will not be so kind though. Time to be tough. otherwise the one who suffer is you wor... follow born_again's instructions ba. Thanks pinkpetter! Will do so. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites