newcastler

Kitchen Cabinets And Toilet Reno Quotation

I am new to this forum. Currently trying to touch up our 20yr old HDB flat.

Went to get a few quotation and get quite confused at some quotation as it is significantly higher as compared to the rest. But we ask them why, they always say the same thing, "Oh, we are giving use the best material, we wont give you inferior quality and charge you less". But, how are we suppose to verify that or they are just trying to chop carrot head?

Anyway, I have come out with a quotation and hope the seniors can give your expert opinions on it. If you have good lobangs, appreciate if you can give me some direction as well. Thank you very much!!

Demolish old kitchen cabinet $220

Install kitchen cabinet $110/ft

Install kitchen sold surface top $85/ft

1 panel sink door $130

3 pcs besglas sliding door $1950

Overlay 2 x Toilet with wafer proofing $1580

Change 2 x Toilet Bowl $680

Change 2x wash basin with lever tap $500

1 set tempered glass shower screen $630

Demolish 1 set wardrobe (bedroom) $150

Paint whole house - Unlimited colour ICI paint $1900

I am new to this forum. Currently trying to touch up our 20yr old HDB flat.

Went to get a few quotation and get quite confused at some quotation as it is significantly higher as compared to the rest. But we ask them why, they always say the same thing, "Oh, we are giving use the best material, we wont give you inferior quality and charge you less". But, how are we suppose to verify that or they are just trying to chop carrot head?

Anyway, I have come out with a quotation and hope the seniors can give your expert opinions on it. If you have good lobangs, appreciate if you can give me some direction as well. Thank you very much!!

Demolish old kitchen cabinet $220

Demolish 1 set wardrobe (bedroom) $150

Install kitchen cabinet $110/ft

Install kitchen solid surface top $85/ft

1 panel sink door $130

3 pcs besglas sliding door $1950

Overlay 2 x Toilet with wafer proofing $1580

Floor or wall tiles

If you overlay your wall tiles, you might need to dismantle the wiring and copper piping. So

that might incur other cost too.

Change 2 x Toilet Bowl $680

Change 2x wash basin with lever tap $500

1 set tempered glass shower screen $630

Paint whole house - Unlimited colour ICI paint $1900

You've got mail

How big is your HDB flat?

With regards to your painting, better specify what type of paint, whether or not they will paint the pipes, doors, door frames, etc. For SGD1900, your unit better be HUGE and they better cover everything =)

How big is your HDB flat?

With regards to your painting, better specify what type of paint, whether or not they will paint the pipes, doors, door frames, etc. For SGD1900, your unit better be HUGE and they better cover everything =)

Hi DKCH and Alan26,

thanxs for the reply.

My flat is those Bishan HDB mansionette type. But good point on the part to make sure they cover everything. Didn't think about the pipes and frames etc.

Any other comments on the quotation?

Mansionette should be 1500 sqft thereabouts right? Hmm, should be ok I guess.

For your kitchen cabinet, the price looks reasonable. But since it is not specified, you could ask your contractor what laminate they are using, does it have ABS trimming, type of rollers. Should be included for that price.

Also, ask your contractor whether it is a good idea to overlay your tiles in the toilet. Means, the tiler will have to check and see if the old tiles are hollow underneath, which may be the case if water has seeped through. If it is, then the old tiles are not so secure. Hence, if you overlay new tiles over the old ones, and if the old ones get loose, so will your new one. But, if the old tiles are ok, then overlaying is fine.

Speaking of tiles, check with your contractor what price of tiles he is getting. If he says, for example, SGD2.90 psf tiles, then you know if you choose something more ex you will have to top up. If less, then discount lor...

Mansionette should be 1500 sqft thereabouts right? Hmm, should be ok I guess.

For your kitchen cabinet, the price looks reasonable. But since it is not specified, you could ask your contractor what laminate they are using, does it have ABS trimming, type of rollers. Should be included for that price.

Also, ask your contractor whether it is a good idea to overlay your tiles in the toilet. Means, the tiler will have to check and see if the old tiles are hollow underneath, which may be the case if water has seeped through. If it is, then the old tiles are not so secure. Hence, if you overlay new tiles over the old ones, and if the old ones get loose, so will your new one. But, if the old tiles are ok, then overlaying is fine.

Speaking of tiles, check with your contractor what price of tiles he is getting. If he says, for example, SGD2.90 psf tiles, then you know if you choose something more ex you will have to top up. If less, then discount lor...

If you are just doing just kitchen cabinet

You can try ClosetDesign at Balestiar, look for Luke, told him you are recommended by Eric from pasir panjang!

www.closetdesign.com.sg

Balestier Showroom

355 Balestier Road #01-355 Goodwill Mansion,

Singapore 329782

Tel: (65)6252 1514

Fax: (65)6258 1514

Operating Hour: 12pm to 9pm

overlaying of toilet floor tiles is common.

But i dun think its that safe to overlay wall tiles. the gravity will cause it to tilt.