stormcontrol

At Long Last, A Place To Call Our Own

YA I magic clean TWICE a day because my hair makes the whole house (all white tiles) look so dirty!!! :P

mm the grouting hor... mm brown tiles with white grout a little odd looking, don't you think? But then... it's not easy to mix the same brown grouting throughout the house... you may end up with uneven patches.

actually magic clean is pretty easy leh. hehe...it's easy for lazy people like me :P

I can't imagine my white tiles end of the day...but i still like bright and clean look ;) choose white, choose white! LOLx

oh... that bedroom tiles... initially we also selected that 'wood' tile. A good alternative to laminate. But after we abuse it a while, it loses it 'sheen/shine' so we decided back on homo tiles. Maybe it was supposed to be matte. Cos when the sample was given to us, it has a sheen about it.

Maybe you want to test test it first........ just a suggestion.

@smallboy: i don't understand. How you abused it to cause it to lose its sheen? :o . But anyway, the sample i got looks matt leh. That's why i chose it. Wanted it to be a little bit darker and mysterious in my bedrooms (especially since going to use so many mirrors and white already). Conducive for... *romance* mah :ph34r:

@mister_molly: haha thank you shifu. without your measurements i will still be in the dark about the ceiling lighting plan for my living room lor. I hope you don't mind if i share with other people who are doing cove lighting + ceiling fan 'k? =p

@pinkpetter: Eh? I tot hair can handle with vacuum cleaner? Dunno lah. Gonna be the first time i'm handling other household chore other than just vacuuming and washing toilet =p

What do you mean by uneven patches pinkpetter? Doesn't brown grouting come out of a tube the same way as white and black?? :blink:

@familyof4: I chose already. white/black/grey colour scheme for the house. Except for bedroom floor which will be 'woody' :yeah:

Updates:

DSC00180.jpg

This was my house yesterday evening. Uncle got the guys to set up "Project Runway" in my house. Roflmao. More progress today as in living room/hallway tiling nearly all up but couldn't take picture cause there wasn't a good place to stand and take pictures in my small little house!

1 sad thing though, uncle promised to make door kerb at my main door but tiler failed to do so. He said uncle told him to make same as my next door neighbour (who didn't have kerb) :bangwall: . But nevermind lah, chin chye can already. Uncle promised to do it FOC anyway, so do or not also no loss to us =p

Oh yah, posting this from Ya Kun downstairs of my house. Will go off to jalan besar and balestier to look at cooker/hood/fans etc later. =)

Edited by stormcontrol

wow! I thought yours will start next week~! Mine carpentry finishing now...so tomorrow, uncle is sending elder Goh's brrod up to clear the debris, clean, wash and also polish the floor! :)

WAH progress!! And I tot yours will be next week!!

.... eh. I think ah.. as long as they are still tiling you can ask them to make the kerb one!!

ERRRRR I saw Uncle's men mixing colour to get the grey grout they put in my MBR toilet leh. They use the White grout and they put in something to change its colour.... I have seen coloured grout before (cos I do tiling for art pieces) but those are extremely expensive...

WAH progress!! And I tot yours will be next week!!

.... eh. I think ah.. as long as they are still tiling you can ask them to make the kerb one!!

ERRRRR I saw Uncle's men mixing colour to get the grey grout they put in my MBR toilet leh. They use the White grout and they put in something to change its colour.... I have seen coloured grout before (cos I do tiling for art pieces) but those are extremely expensive...

Haha, i thought it'll be next week too with all the last minute rushing that uncle have to do with the others' handovers =p. But apparently uncle's tiling team is free so he just send them to start on my house lor =)

the kerb don't think can... the tiling uncle (aiyah forgot to ask name. Short middle aged bespectacled guy. soft-spoken and very clean one. not like your typical contractor/tiler =p ) say the doorway tiling finish le. If he just add tiles on it to make the curb, it'll be very ugly. And I get his point too, it'll look like half a piece here and there. If want to do sui sui, then he'll have to tear off the tiles that are already laid and build it. Like dat Uncle ah soon will have to "jia" those tiles right? Then nevermind lor. It's not as if my doorway is not siu. Its quite good already, so just chin chye and accept that there's no door kerb lor. Almost all my neighbours also never do anyway.

Ahh. I see what you mean about getting the colour uneven. I'll pay extra attention when they start. If not satisfied i'll dig out the grouting myself and ask them to put white lor =p

familyof4: looks like you're gonna be moving in soon! Congratz!

ahh ok. actually I didn't want a kerb too, a little ugly I think. :P but parents wanted.

Yay so your house has started.. hopefully everything Shun Shun Li Li!! ;)

Congrats Stormcontrol,

Like your location, very accessible and convenient. Tried BE your block last year (or was it 2007?) but no luck. End up bought 4Rm resale at TPY.

Enjoy your reno journey...

Congrats Stormcontrol,

Like your location, very accessible and convenient. Tried BE your block last year (or was it 2007?) but no luck. End up bought 4Rm resale at TPY.

Enjoy your reno journey...

aiyoo, so many many ppl try for balloting but w/o luck. that's how the go*ve**ment earn extra pocket money...shhhh...taboo.... :o

yo, stormcontrol, pls go ahead and share! Your qoute for Lbox quite reasonable also, altho mine slightly cheaper...hehehe

oh, have you found your tub? If you are looking for free-standing i can PM you where to find. The info and pics is somewhere in renotalk also.

Congrats on the start on your reno.

Re the woody tile, maybe you are right, it should be matte in the first place.

How I abuse it? I pour several types of cleaning solutions on it. See how clean it looks. I scratch it... to see it tolerance for sharp stuff..... I step on it to get a feel of it 'coolness'

I am mad, right? Really I subject it to abuse to see how it can tolerates. hee..hee...

aiyoo, so many many ppl try for balloting but w/o luck. that's how the go*ve**ment earn extra pocket money...shhhh...taboo.... :o

yo, stormcontrol, pls go ahead and share! Your qoute for Lbox quite reasonable also, altho mine slightly cheaper...hehehe

oh, have you found your tub? If you are looking for free-standing i can PM you where to find. The info and pics is somewhere in renotalk also.

got new idea for light placement in hall le. Inspired by zc31 and your suggestion previously =p Will draw it out and see how. Should be cheaper than the layout i have currently too =p

Found the dream tub liao. Wife and i aiming the free-standing tub at adamas. But too bad buying only 1 thing from them so can't ask for alot of discount. got quoted $680. Another item on our to-do list solved thanks to mister_molly =)

Haven't write anything abt my reno for 2 days already. More updates later today =p

Edited by stormcontrol

Congrats on the start on your reno.

Re the woody tile, maybe you are right, it should be matte in the first place.

How I abuse it? I pour several types of cleaning solutions on it. See how clean it looks. I scratch it... to see it tolerance for sharp stuff..... I step on it to get a feel of it 'coolness'

I am mad, right? Really I subject it to abuse to see how it can tolerates. hee..hee...

you did all that in the showroom????? wah. The sales staff handling you is very nice leh. =p

Yes smallboy, i think you're slightly nuts :dancingqueen:

you did all that in the showroom????? wah. The sales staff handling you is very nice leh. =p

Yes smallboy, i think you're slightly nuts :dancingqueen:

no la... so unglam, we took a piece of that sample home and did that in the privacy of my 'science lab'..... hahaha...

I a bit OCB.