stormcontrol

At Long Last, A Place To Call Our Own

but it's a mthly payment right? they asked u to pay one lump sum??

i kenna the same as others....i also has my doubt as i pay a lump sum during my 2nd appt....but they still bill me...but of cos...i din bother to check...:P

but it's a mthly payment right? they asked u to pay one lump sum??

when i bought the flat directly from hdb that time, other than fire insurance, they also made me pay a few months' worth of s&cc.

Heng go and checked with the TC. I *do* owe them $ for this month! *phew* must make a note to go and pay after work... >_<"

when i bought the flat directly from hdb that time, other than fire insurance, they also made me pay a few months' worth of s&cc.

Heng go and checked with the TC. I *do* owe them $ for this month! *phew* must make a note to go and pay after work... >_<"

wa...so, no overdue payments? heng ar....luckily u go check!

think muz get htb to come up with a spreadsheet for all the fees to be paid each mth, amt and when is it due le..

why hdb made you pay a few months? Did you check with HDB if it is what was owing for that unit?!

anyway, I was furious with town council last week. Didn't get the first notice and got a reminder notice with a late payment charge already. zz that's how they treat 1st time owners of hdb flats?! then within the same week, their reminder letter came... super fast right?!

anyway, pay my dues without the late payment, if I see the late payment next month, I'm going to call them again...

why hdb made you pay a few months? Did you check with HDB if it is what was owing for that unit?!

anyway, I was furious with town council last week. Didn't get the first notice and got a reminder notice with a late payment charge already. zz that's how they treat 1st time owners of hdb flats?! then within the same week, their reminder letter came... super fast right?!

anyway, pay my dues without the late payment, if I see the late payment next month, I'm going to call them again...

i dunno why lah. i went and dug up that receipt. i bought the flat and paid the lump sum of $156 back in march. only this month then have to pay s&cc so i think i's ok bah?

ask govt to do things will drag and drag and drag, but ask them to chase $ ah, v fast one lah. maybe suggest that the finance dept ppl go and take over the other dept's jobs and the other dept ppl go tfer to finance better yah?

i dunno why lah. i went and dug up that receipt. i bought the flat and paid the lump sum of $156 back in march. only this month then have to pay s&cc so i think i's ok bah?

ask govt to do things will drag and drag and drag, but ask them to chase $ ah, v fast one lah. maybe suggest that the finance dept ppl go and take over the other dept's jobs and the other dept ppl go tfer to finance better yah?

you sure it's s&cc?! I also remember paying the $100+ conveyancing fees

confirm. cz the s&cc and the fire insurance were the only things we couldn't pay through cpf =p

One weird thing leh. Uncle quote me for 14ft of kitchen cabinets (top and bottom). But overall quote of $900 for solid surface at his rates translates to 12 feet of solid surface.... My hanging cabinets only 2 feet long meh??? Maybe his $75 refers to the cheapest bellus? He give allowance just in case we choose most expensive bellus?? :wacko:

Yo wanna clarify something here, uncle quoted u kitchen cabinets for 14ft top and bottom. Meaning yr lenght of the kitchen cabinets area is 14ft and not 7 ft rite?

Coz uncle quoted me 7ft for top and 7ft for bottom and another cost for 7 ft for solid top. Tis is the oldest trick in the reno industry. But I closed both of my eyes!!! lolz

75 f***ing sqm.... and I thought mine was small at 85sqm... but nice and cosy for 2 persons and can clean very easily.

Congratulations, Toa Payoh Central, worth it:)

My 3rm was 62sqm nia!-_-

More small leh!haha

Hello everyone. Not having much "xin1 qin2" to come RT and post/update blog because very sian with reno these few days. But have to thank Ivy and Sean for their sms-es and concern. Sorry ah, Ivy and sean, though i promised to post this yesterday but really no mood. even now also not much =p

Haiz, as usual uncle really dragging his feet. Wife also become "si3 xin1" + "xin1 ruan3" after uncle fail so many of his timing promises and look so apologetic and "ke3 lian2" (got 1 time rushing around until never take his meal so my wife bought for him to eat at my place lol.). The work proceeding at an uber slow pace. Like bird ****ting on a car like dat, one small shot at a time... >_< Worst part is that till today, still got NJDs *faint* and also it seems as though everytime 1 item is done, 2 problems crop up. Problem-spot and rectify until want to tear my hair out le....

SS backing for the kitchen up le. But 1st thing uncle never tell me cannot do in 1 entire piece so now i've one long stretch of ss backing and one small square patch. Nvrmind, can accept. But the worst thing is the cutting/pasting. The space between the backing and my solid surface is around 2mm at one end of the backing and nearly 1cm at the other end. In other words, it's wai ki ko!!! Uncle says that he's going to use black sealant to fill up this spacing and make it even, but it's nearly 1cm thick leh, will look nice meh? nvr mind, let him try. If CMI, i insist on redo. Now abit regret nvr take up ah di's suggestion to install ss backing first before installing worktop.... Another bad thing is that there are 5 power sockets behind the ss backing that up till today uncle has not pulled out. The socket faces already removed, so it's actually naked wiring behind. F***ing dangerous! The best thing is, there's no marking on the ss as to where the power points are located behind the backing! So i'll just sit back and see if the electrician is going to bring x-ray goggles with him to locate my power points when and if he comes to finish this job... ...

Living room partition boards all done up. but want to :bangwall: . The partition walls start out slim at the top and end up fat on the bottom :bangwall: . Forget it, it's at feet level where it bulges out a little so i'll close my eyes pretend nvr see. Future guests are well-warned to refrain from mentioning this defect to me on pain of death... >_<"

MBR door is up. But also :bangwall: . Why? The door has to be modified (ie cut and filed) to fit into the doorway. They cut it at the hinge side of the door. So naturally after everything done they need to varnish that side right? Oh they didn't forget to do that. But now my nice light beech colour door has a deep bright orange colour at the hinge side only... :bangwall: . Ask me acceptable somemore. What to say? if i say not acceptable, waste another day to rectify right???? Blast it, i'll just accept it and keep the door closed lor... :sob:

Last rant is the painting. WTH!!!! I'm paying $1100 for this kind of s***???!!!! Paint on door frames not straight and spilling onto the walls. TV "feature" wall's grey colour is crap at the interfacing borders with the other walls. Like got snake like that. U're supposed to paint, not do calligraphy!!!! And paint splashes on my ceiling fan and switches + power points!!! Worst, my MBR uses ICI dulux spring blush, but i don't know what kind of white they used to patch my walls in there but confirm not spring blush cause i can bloody well see non-pinkish white big patches on my MBR walls!!!!! Anybody got any children coloring books?? I think i'm going to need some to teach uncle's painters how to colour within the lines and choose colours!!!!!!!!!! Right now, i'm feeling like telling uncle to just go buy me a new set of paints and set of painting tools and i'll go and paint myself. Just give me some discount off that $1100. I don't want to put him in a tight spot/lose $ but i also don't want to feel so crap about paying for this s***.

But not *all* bad things lah. Uncle boxed up my gas piping for me FOC, and I have to say the cornice guy did it quite well. Also piping to the kitchen sink and the kitchen fittings also up. Workmanship on the plumbing is also good. Handspray working well and no leaking in the sink pipes! The cornice guy doing up the partitions also helped me to patch up the walls and ceilings where the wall was hacked (oh wait... are those white patches on my MBR walls because he went to patch up there and not paint??? but there was nothing to patch on that wall iirc...). Special mention also goes out to Ah soon's worker, Ah Keong, or Four-eyes Ah keong =p. He's like an odd-job general handyman who can solve alot of problems. We mentioned to him that the kitchen sink doesn't seem to be to be able to drain alot of water without/flooding the waste trap (dunno how to say lah, we shifted the sink from the original location given by hdb so they ran a wastage pipe for the sink to a waste trap in the kitchen floor.) So he added a pipe joint and fixed the problem. Also helped ameliorate the problem with the snaking borders at my grey wall and helped to adjust the SS backing when we found it to be crooked (but even after fixing also still not very good. I see how it goes after sealant goes up). (oh yah, ah keong was the one who did up the MBR door too though, so don't go around thinking he's perfect hor =p )

hugs...

Nothing much I can do here...hope u get those needs to be resolved resolved soon!

can help lah. got colouring books? I send uncle's painters your way for your kids to train? =p

coloring books aplenty!!! :D

Which batch of painters u have? Really jialat...I think my gal color better lah! :P

coloring books aplenty!!! :D

Which batch of painters u have? Really jialat...I think my gal color better lah! :P

i don't know, i've never seen their "lu shan zhen mien mu". They always finish and leave before i come >_<"