stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 14, 2009 Next, long shot of entrance foyer with the frame for the half height mirror up. Another shot of the entrance foyer with some view of the HSS cabinet (can't get a good shot cz all the doors have been fitted with the "always open" type of hinges and the magnets to keep them closed not yet installed. So they are blocking any shots!) Long shot of the kitchen. But no work done on that yesterday as they wait for my decision for handles and the tilers/electrician to fix up my mistake with the power for the oven. =p Closeup of the organization of compartments of my kitchen cabinets My little unhappiness Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 Some little unhappiness with Ah di. Gave him very detailed drawings and dimensioning for almost all the carpentry and for those he did quite well. of course lah, my eyes also not very kim so i'm not sure if there is any poor workmanship or what. Anybody with kim kim eyes who want to volunteer to QC my carpentry? =p When he stuck closely to my drawings, everything is ok lah. its when he deviated where i am slightly unhappy and not sure if i can accept. 1st is that last photo of the kitchen cabinets. The original idea was to have two rows of hanging wall cabinets. The top row protruding out some to help coverup the water and gas piping, while the bottom row slightly recessed. Cabinets were to go all across the length of the kitchen wall until over the fridge. However Ah Di made a change to the cabinets hanging over the fridge. Due to too little space for the bottom row of hanging cabinets, he combined the top and bottom row of cabinets for that portion of the cabinetry only. This results in one part of the cabinets sticking out a little... I get the limitations that he's driving at, but i just wished he had asked for my design input before he went ahead to fabricate. Wife is ok with the change. Me, i'm trying to convince myself that the extra storage space created by Ah Di's design is a good thing. 2nd is the handles for my kitchen cabinet. Apparently Ah di has gone ahead to fabricate the cabinet doors already. With laminates and abs trimmings all fully installed. In other words, my choice of laminates has been restricted to those type where he won't need to cut the wood in a drastic manner. So only recessed safety handles or normal handles are ok. Profile handles cannot be done without chopping off the top of the doors and that's going to damage the trimmings and laminates. Somemore my laminate is shiny so the defects will be very obvious. in the end still decided to go with my original idea of using recessed safety handles lah even though Ah Di warned that it's only just glue holding the handles in. Those doing carpentry need to take note ah, don't leave your choice of handles until so late in the process >_< 3rd is the fixtures in my MBR wardrobe. Top of that list is the trouser rack. If you guys searched up in my thread you'll see the rack from ikea i originally wanted for the purpose of hanging my wife's numerous sling clutches. Even after including a picture of it in our drawing and Ah Di saying that he know what we want, he still got us this. A trouser rack like fanny's. However it's not all bad lah, as i realise that the Ikea rack at most can only hang 6 bangs or so. With the trouser rack, i can go up to 20 i think. But agan, i wished he had told me in advance to prepare me for the change. Also problem with the pull out shelving in the wardrobe. Didn't take a good picture of it cz it was only in retrospect (back at hm) when i realised something was wrong. I asked for Ikea type of wooden pullout shelves. You know how those look like right? He gave me these weird-looking slanted pull-out shelves. You know, like those magazine holder box sold in ikea but lower profile. It will serve it's purpose lah, but i did ask for ikea-like shelving and you said ok mah. I'm still considering whether to ask him to take back these shelves anot. Pending wifey's decision on this. Outside of this i don't really spot any problems lah. But like i said, my "bak jiu tak stamp" 1. =p And so is my wife =p. If any kind soul with good eyes want to come kpo and QC for me ah, you're very welcome =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 wahhh nice full mirror wardrobe wor. u need help with QC ahhh? u open house loh. a flock of people will go there and scrutinize for u. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 Storm, Carpentry's looking good! Love the full height mirrors and organised layout of the wardrobe and the study table! Both go together very well and make good use of the space. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 (edited) get rondy....he super duper good at this...i also pei fu him..very small things like hinges he also can tell me... but from pictures seem like everything ok ...love the fulllength mirror... Edited July 15, 2009 by preciousjam Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 initially i was looking at ur pics and was wondering why is the trouser rack up there, and so little allowance from the drawer beneath it...how to hang trousers like that ne? then realise it is the wrong that he made...oh well. if u can accept, it'll be good. everything seems rather fine from the postings...so open house nx? make it a party every saturday lah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 (edited) initially i was looking at ur pics and was wondering why is the trouser rack up there, and so little allowance from the drawer beneath it...how to hang trousers like that ne? then realise it is the wrong that he made...oh well. if u can accept, it'll be good. everything seems rather fine from the postings...so open house nx? make it a party every saturday lah Because it's not suppose to hang trousers but to hang wifey's sling clutches mah. so don't need so much space. heh. He's actually following my dimensions/spacing for it. Apparently ah di was using lateral thinking when he bought that =p party every sat?? For you and rierie, i'll be skipping remedial training in camp already leh. party every sat i die liao lah. later i have to log on to RT from DB (detention barracks!) =p Edited July 15, 2009 by stormcontrol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 Because it's not suppose to hang trousers but to hang wifey's sling clutches mah. so don't need so much space. heh. He's actually following my dimensions/spacing for it. Apparently ah di was using lateral thinking when he bought that =p party every sat?? For you and rierie, i'll be skipping remedial training in camp already leh. party every sat i die liao lah. later i have to log on to RT from DB (detention barracks!) =p ok, shall not "torture" u lah...we shall have a break and wait for our BD to have his and we'll go mess up the place ya Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 Storm, Carpentry's looking good! Love the full height mirrors and organised layout of the wardrobe and the study table! Both go together very well and make good use of the space. thank you, i'm particularly proud of that one cz i came up of the layout. But wife tweaked it so we could have more budget. Originally doing mirrors on the opposing wall (like ballet studio lidat) and plain wooden doors on the wardrobe where i could stick decals on. but like this also not bad lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 ok, shall not "torture" u lah...we shall have a break and wait for our BD to have his and we'll go mess up the place ya yes yes. mess up big big =p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 (edited) yes yes. mess up big big =p hey hey...dun think i am not ard then start to plan to mess up my house hor...i aldy got Booy to be bouncer liao lor..... n yes...yr carpentry looks good....not much of an issue from the picture. The mirror looks great....for yr 1/2 length mirror...u ask Uncle to quote? if u want F4 n Ivy to inspect...then i will have to quote u inspection fee by psf de.... *whisper to ivy n f4* see!!i got u biz again!!! Edited July 15, 2009 by blue_diamond Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rierie 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 open house open house!!! actually i thought that ur carpentry looks good. *maybe my eyes also got stamp* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 (edited) @b_d: i was actually thinking of ivy cz met her already and her eyes quite kim one, can see that laminate didn't apply properly =p But hor, you want to charge then i don't want leh. You must know, as a client of ah soon, i like FOC right? =p And yar, uncle quoted me for the mirror. if you want i can go dig out how much. quite exp lah. but it's also quite big/long. @rierie: aiya, you're seeing from my hp cam leh. maybe cannot see problem. if see real thing maybe you can spot alot of thing leh? My eyes are the ones that are really got stamps one. =p dun nid official open house *yet* lah. now everyday unofficial open house. Always welcome to cm down and help me QC =) Edited July 15, 2009 by stormcontrol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 @b_d: i was actually thinking of ivy cz met her already and her eyes quite kim one, can see that laminate didn't apply properly =p But hor, you want to charge then i don't want leh. You must know, as a client of ah soon, i like FOC right? =p And yar, uncle quoted me for the mirror. if you want i can go dig out how much. quite exp lah. but it's also quite big/long. dun nid official open house *yet* lah. now everyday unofficial open house. Always welcome to cm down and help me QC =) for this case...as it was not quoted in yr quotation...cannot FOC...got to be under VO de. U choose Ivy is a good choice...cos she has lots of talent of testing like:durability of gate, strength of window n etc...so carpentry is small case for her also. can help me check the mirror?is yr mirror those chamfer kind?tinted? cos i also asking Uncle to help me check... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted July 15, 2009 my eyes kim? i'm probably the "blindest" among the whole lot here. Super myopic. but from your pics I did see some planks got some gap, either cut crooked or probably cos wall is uneven. no big issue. i pick until ah wei and workers also asked : wahh lau like that you also can see?? I spotted a crooked hanging bar and ah wei use his measuring tape to measure then exclaimed : wahhh 1/2" u also can see?? hahahah anyway some of the things which i spotted at my side, I accept cos not life and death and I dun want them to cause more damage to the surrounding works just to make good small little flaws. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites