stormcontrol

At Long Last, A Place To Call Our Own

Updates!

Tiling in hall, entrance and hallway nearly complete. Now doing skirting and grouting. Tiling in guest bedroom also near completion. Lacking grouting and skirting now. Concrete base for kitchen also complete to my specified dimensions yay! =)

And yes! Hacking started today too. Could hear the rhythmic pounding all the way down at the void deck. If that disturbed any neighbours who are happening to read this, apologies!

Wah uncle really fast ah. Last tuesday/wednesday apply for hacking permit, less than 1 week get permission and within 1 week start hacking. Maybe chasing him does help =p

And oh yah. Bought the cuizino/franke package from Desmond of AsiaExcel on sunday as well. All thanks to smallboy who shared the info. You may be nuts but your lobang sure is good =p

Edited by stormcontrol

ah? your tiling almost complete then what are you hacking? wall?

yup. Wall separating my MBR from bedroom 2. Combining these two rooms together. So the tiling for these two rooms and the little bit of hallway leading up to these two rooms not done yet lor. rest of the house tiling nearly complete le. But i think the tiling works will stall for awhile after the hacking complete cz they need to build a new doorframe/doorway to my new and bigger MBR! :dancingqueen:

wow wow!!! A bigger MBR meaning can have WIW?? hehe...

WIW? not exactly lah. The dust will kill me and there still isn't enough space for what i feel is a proper walk-in wardrobe with an island in the middle for accessories, an entire wall of shoes, an entire wall of bags etc :P

The plan is to build a wardrobe and study area into the combined bedroom 2. A u-shaped setup. On 1 long side of the wall, a 9ft long wardrobe with sliding doors. The short side will have a study desk plus shelving. and the last long side of the wall facing the wardrobe will be an entire stretch of mirrors like in ballet studio like that. :dribble:

wah...i can;t wait to see the transformation leh...FYI, my fan is up and hor...no shadows on the wrong places...heng arh!

remember to update with more pics ok?

yup. Wall separating my MBR from bedroom 2. Combining these two rooms together. So the tiling for these two rooms and the little bit of hallway leading up to these two rooms not done yet lor. rest of the house tiling nearly complete le. But i think the tiling works will stall for awhile after the hacking complete cz they need to build a new doorframe/doorway to my new and bigger MBR! :dancingqueen:

mmm good also. let the tiles settle then I think the foundation of the tiles will be better. Good progress so far :)

Updates! Updates!

The hacking of MBR/bedroom2 walls as wel as removal of door frames is done. The banglah worker who did the hacking yesterday is really efficient sia:

DSC00183.jpg

Now because of the wall being removed i have a dangling switch and wires encased in a steel bracket hanging from the ceiling. haha.

And now new door frame is going up! But hit a snag, there is a lighting point right above where my new door frame is going to go so had to contact

Uncle and tell him to get his electrician here to move the wires before they can continue building the door frame.

Also another funny thing, if you look carefully at the above picture ah, the hacker forgot to remove that part of the wall that was above my MBR's original door frame! Uncle came down and stared at it for quite awhile before sighing and calling someone to bring a drill down to come and remove it. =p

Guest bedroom tiling also done:

DSC00184.jpg

Sui or not? =p and with the tiling, the guest bedroom does look slightly bigger!

Lastly some pictures to share:

View from my living room windows

DSC00185.jpg

The directions/dimensions/layouts i stuck all over my kitchen so that they can do the works properly =p

DSC00187.jpg

With 75% of the tiling complete, uncle tell me he will drop the laminate/solid surface/paint catalogues in my HSS tomorrow and try to get his carpenter down to meet me on saturday! He hopes to clean up the house by end of this week and start wiring works on monday and carpentry right after! keeping my fingers crossed now! So glad that so far i haven't really need to chase uncle. Must thank pinkpetter on her advice on how to handle uncle. Call n call n call to remind. hahaha =p

hahha :) I'm glad yours is smooth going though. :) Could be that the other works are coming to an end so yours is sped up.

MmmM as for that portion above your MBR door.. maybe the worker thought that that was a beam and decided not to hack it... without consulting boss first. :P It happens.. heh... seem fast sia.

Your progress looks good.. probably Uncle's new mgmt structure is taking effect.. Therefore faster and better now.. :)

Greetings StormControl.

Was really nice reading your T-blog and your heartwarming introduction.

Congrats on your ROM and also getting a very nice place in the heart of Toa Payoh. From your view, I reckon you must've been one of the lucky ones to get a place in the Block 79 cluster. :) The views for those blocks at the high floors are really fantastic. Sometimes, me and my wife or best buddies just like to go up and enjoy the view and chat, even though we don't live there.

Glad to see your reno's progressing well. Looking forward to more updates! :)

Hi Storm,

Wonder if you have any feedback on your tiling team?Cos uncle is using them for mine. How is their workmanship and etc?:) Uncle say until ultra good...bust v slow....wahahaha:P

Edited by blue_diamond

Hi Storm,

Wonder if you have any feedback on your tiling team?Cos uncle is using them for mine. How is their workmanship and etc?:) Uncle say until ultra good...bust v slow....wahahaha:P

No wonder my tiling team suddenly lose half the manpower lah. Progress slow down =p

They are as uncle describe lor, slow but good. My tiles are laid quite well. Even, and straight (to me). The tiles are also well cut and the grouting job so far is good. But it's true, they take their time. But ok lah, most of the comments i have been receiving from people here on my tblog seem to indicate that progress is actually at a good pace =p

All tiles and skirting are up as of today. and the new doorframe is up as well. all the holes leftover from the hacking have also been patched up. From what i can see, only things left are grouting in both my bedrooms and then cleaning up and we can move on to the next stage liaoz.

One thing though, uncle promised to pass me the catalogues two days ago but still haven't turn up. Supposed to speak to carpenter tommorrow/today also, but uncle never call to set appointment. Never mind, i'll chase him tommorrow/today =p

Btw, who's holding on to the majority of the catalogues ah? Last i heard was familyof4, but i also hear that she's passing it around. If you guys are done with them maybe I can get the catalogues direct from you guys instead of troubling uncle =)

Oh yar, finally settle aircon too. Signed with Hong Tar, coming on the 17th to run the piping. gotta remind uncle to be around too cz i've not much ideas about that one... >_<"

Edited by stormcontrol