shespawn 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2009 nice 3d you have, but i feel your master bedroom should add more feel like colours to make it more cosy. Black colours in the room make it more masculine. did you consider wallpaper too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2009 nice 3d you have, but i feel your master bedroom should add more feel like colours to make it more cosy. Black colours in the room make it more masculine. did you consider wallpaper too? Totally agree with you. My mbr will not be so whiteish... maintanence nightmare sia.... I will do wallpaper for my place, so my mbr will have at least 1 wall with wallpaper... Living room area mostly will be wallpapers.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
voxy 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2009 (edited) Totally agree with you. My mbr will not be so whiteish... maintanence nightmare sia.... I will do wallpaper for my place, so my mbr will have at least 1 wall with wallpaper... Living room area mostly will be wallpapers.. shoes so close to dinning table? Also feature wall and suspended cabinet passe liao.... try to design something moveable using natural wood like oak. Go take a look at poliform and B&B Italia. Furniture should try to get movable ones..... the built in ones just too rigid and wasting of money. Your lighting plan looks sufficient. Try to mix down halogen with florescent to give you flexibility for differing mood, esp your living rm bec ceiling has white light, down should use halogen to give ambience esp hosting. BTW, the pendent light also passe liao.... go take a look at Flos for the latest trend. Dont have to get the ex stuff but there are always replicas. You could also use built in architectural lights for dinning area to make the house look bigger. Take the money and buy a nice standing flos light better..... can be a discussion piece when friends come over. lastly try not to built in lights to throw onto the wall from the furniture..... it is really really outdated IMHO. Take the money and spent on a Philip Stark would be a better investment. Hope I am not too critical. BTW welcome to the east! Enjoy your reno Edited August 3, 2009 by voxy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2009 shoes so close to dinning table? Also feature wall and suspended cabinet passe liao.... try to design something moveable using natural wood like oak. Go take a look at poliform and B&B Italia. Furniture should try to get movable ones..... the built in ones just too rigid and wasting of money. Your lighting plan looks sufficient. Try to mix down halogen with florescent to give you flexibility for differing mood, esp your living rm bec ceiling has white light, down should use halogen to give ambience esp hosting. BTW, the pendent light also passe liao.... go take a look at Flos for the latest trend. Dont have to get the ex stuff but there are always replicas. You could also use built in architectural lights for dinning area to make the house look bigger. Take the money and buy a nice standing flos light better..... can be a discussion piece when friends come over. lastly try not to built in lights to throw onto the wall from the furniture..... it is really really outdated IMHO. Take the money and spent on a Philip Stark would be a better investment. Hope I am not too critical. BTW welcome to the east! Enjoy your reno Thanks for the comments.. Will definitely explore some ideas... But see got budget or not lor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
voxy 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2009 (edited) Thanks for the comments.. Will definitely explore some ideas... But see got budget or not lor... Normally I only work on other cabinets when I move in after a yr or so..... bec that is why you need to squeeze some space out for storage. I would advice only do necessary built in (if really have to). As for lights.... can always buy later... no need to rush one. Also lighting point also impt... make sure dont drill many hole on the ceiling bec you only need about 50W of PLC to light a rm... dont let your ID dictate the lights. They normally over do it...... Edited August 12, 2009 by voxy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2009 Normally I only work on other cabinets when I move in after a yr or so..... bec that is why you need to squeeze some space out for storage. I would advice only do necessary built in (if really have to). As for lights.... can always buy later... no need to rush one. Also lighting point also impt... make sure dont drill many hole on the ceiling bec you only need about 50W of PLC to light a rm... dont let your ID dictate the lights. They normally over do it...... Thanks voxy. Appreciate your comments. I already need storage now.. Got a room full of my stuff at a warehouse already.. As for the lights, I was the one coming out with the lighting plan based on the design of my current place. Also factored in some experience after using them for 7-8 yrs. Basically my ID just confirmed my choice and added some refinement. Actually need to get his place up asap. Cos my old place already handed over keys. Staying with my parents now. But need to move out by Nov as my bro also sold his place and will move in in Nov Basically need to move out before kena evicted... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
voxy 0 Report post Posted September 5, 2009 Thanks voxy. Appreciate your comments. I already need storage now.. Got a room full of my stuff at a warehouse already.. As for the lights, I was the one coming out with the lighting plan based on the design of my current place. Also factored in some experience after using them for 7-8 yrs. Basically my ID just confirmed my choice and added some refinement. Actually need to get his place up asap. Cos my old place already handed over keys. Staying with my parents now. But need to move out by Nov as my bro also sold his place and will move in in Nov Basically need to move out before kena evicted... Wah.. you and me same boat, tight squeeze on the timing. Seems like everyone selling house. I also learn one thing from moving house.... ditch all useless stuff. Pain pain once and you will forget it. But I am renting now to tide over this period. I also hope to get my key asap and only doing up the basics.. ie lights and some wet work. Will most likely move in with existing condition and slowly do up the rest.... incl hunting for furniture. So I am planning my shopping for lights one week before collecting my key and hopefully electrical works and some outdoor flooring could be done in 2 weeks time. All the best to yur reno.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 Sorry all, it has been a long time since I blogged. Just got the keys to my place 2 weeks ago, now busy planning for reno to start.. All the rest of the stuff (furniture and electronics) bought already, now just wait for reno to start.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 Some pre-renovation photos to share... Living and Balcony - View from Front Door (Wife enjoying the view ) Living and Dining - View from Balcony Corridor to rooms Bedroom 1 Bedroom 2 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 Cabinets Master Bedroom Walk-in-Wardrobe (only can put half of my wife's clothes) Master Bedroom Bathtub (notice the windows... Super open concept) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 7, 2009 Toilet Fittings Last but not least, the Kitchen Renovation will start on Monday... Hope to share more pics then... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2009 Reno started yesterday... Only took 1 pic with my handphone. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2009 The electrician was nice enough to change all my living room switches and plugs to Clipsal Zencelo. He gave me 2 colors to match the wallpaper. White and Bronze. Here's the bronze one.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gorilla_chow 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2009 The electrician was nice enough to change all my living room switches and plugs to Clipsal Zencelo. He gave me 2 colors to match the wallpaper. White and Bronze. Here's the bronze one.. hi hkching congratulation on your purchase and start of your reno. Also welcome to the east. i too just got an apartment in the east, at telok kurau area, a 3 room too. mind sharing who is the ID that you finally selected and also what is the damage to your reno? so how long does your ID take to complete the whole reno? oh...and keep the photos coming. thanks and regards gorilla Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hkching 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2009 hi hkching congratulation on your purchase and start of your reno. Also welcome to the east. i too just got an apartment in the east, at telok kurau area, a 3 room too. mind sharing who is the ID that you finally selected and also what is the damage to your reno? so how long does your ID take to complete the whole reno? oh...and keep the photos coming. thanks and regards gorilla I got Edward from Im*ge Creat*ve. He was the ID from my previous place 8 yrs ago. Experienced and nice guy. My reno will take about 3 weeks. Main reno job from Im*ge Creat*ve will take 2 weeks. The rest of the work is done by other contractor which I find myself. 1. Chengal Decking - Liang Hoe Huat 2. Curtains - MGL 3. Wallpapering - Europa Overall cost is around $25k Share this post Link to post Share on other sites