Lilian

Lg Washer

Yup. LG WD14331AD Washer Dryer.

Started washer shopping with wifey in March when old Ariston Margherita start making

terrible banging and screeching noise after 7 problem-free years.

Sounds like bearing or fractured drum spider. Bo bay chow liao. Must buy new washer.

Don't make economic sense to repair.

Saw the LG.

Through my eyes..

-Special Offer $899 only, big drop from $1699. Wah! At that price, nothing comes close.

-1400 spin speed. Higher better, need less time to dry.

-DD. Big motor driving drum directly. The techy in me says this is not a gimmick.

-Looks like a well built quality machine overall.

Through wifey's eyes..

-LG? Alamak! Pekak Korean brand. Visitors to kitchen sure see no up.

-Cheapskate Hubby trying to get away spending less

-If good why salesmen keep recommending Electrolux instead?

-Not bad got PAUSE feature. Always forgetting something to throw in last minute.

-Not bad 8kg. Can shove in bedspread or curtain and get hubby to hang dry. And if

machine turns out to be lousy, can shove hubby inside then will personally hang hubby to dry.

So we got the LG.

I told my wife if we got visitors to impress in the kitchen, start vacuuming.

Our vacuum cleaner is a red MIELE.

$899 is a good buy. Now courts and HN are all eager to clear their electronics goods and they are offering veri good buy. The LG 8kg direct drive washer was $500 plus only! But I didn't buy cos still deciding. I'm like your wife loh.

Ohh? 599 for direct drive washer?? Which model you refering to ah? 599 really good price for DD washer.

As from what I know, there are only 2 DD washer for LG below 1500. One is WD14331AD which having 899 promotion and the other one is new version selling 1399 with 300 cash back and free portable DVD player.

Ohh? 599 for direct drive washer?? Which model you refering to ah? 599 really good price for DD washer.

As from what I know, there are only 2 DD washer for LG below 1500. One is WD14331AD which having 899 promotion and the other one is new version selling 1399 with 300 cash back and free portable DVD player.

Sorry wrong info. It's the WD-10481TP washer (non direct drive) selling for $399 at Courts. But only 5 sets.

LG has another washer which is F1422TD (only washer, no dryer one) also a direct drive rite? This one is also below $1500. I believe those two models that you mention should be a washer cum dryer ba. I am targeting on a LG washer WD12390 (a 7kg direct drive washer). Suppose to be out in the market from 01 June. However, courts and HN have not showcased this washer yet. But I went down to Audio House and saw the display set. Retail price is about $1199.

Washer cum dryer (direct drive) at $899 is a good buy. And some more it got an Intelligent Washing System. Wa!

True. WD14331 is older model.

No cold water option.

Minimum temp is 30 degrees.

I reckon just to raise to that temp the extra juice needed is negligible.

After all what's the temp of raw water from pipe in Singapore?

Anyway, detergents need a minimum temp for the enzymes and agents to work their best.

Machines running cold wash only will also encourage black mould forming.

Yes DD is so quiet you tend to notice the pump noise instead.

Don't resist. Its a great buy!

The controls are not as modern looking as newer models.

There are two separate displays with large readouts (the alpha not the screen).

One for spin speed, the other gives the time to completion.

It doesn't look dated or gimmicky.

More timeless classic looking.

Like a good German machine.

Cold water option is only an added incentive. I agreed with you that detergents need a minimum temp. Besides, most ppl use hot water to wash their clothing rite? The price tag and direct drive system is worth spending. Good buy!

Er...I went to LG washer to take a look at WD-12320RD. Under the spec tab, I saw this:

Variable temperature: Cold/30/40/60/95

So that means got cold temperature as well ma? Am I right?

Hi Cromodora/kthc,

Where is the offer? I went to Courts and HN but did not manage to find this model with that price tag leh. Did you see it from some where else?

Hi Cromodora/kthc,

Where is the offer? I went to Courts and HN but did not manage to find this model with that price tag leh. Did you see it from some where else?

I first saw model WD14331AD at Courts AMK in March .

Did not buy there because went to research and compare with other brands and models first.

Finally purchased at Courts Megamall in April.

I saw it still being advertised in The Straits Times two weekends ago.

Hope still available for you Lilian.

Cold water option is only an added incentive. I agreed with you that detergents need a minimum temp. Besides, most ppl use hot water to wash their clothing rite? The price tag and direct drive system is worth spending. Good buy!

I went to AMK Gain City today and got the WD14331AD 8kg/4kg washer-dryer @ $879. It comes with 2 yrs warranty / 10yrs on motor / 5yrs on the rubber stuff. I added $206 for extended unlimited warranty that covers transport, parts, labour, 1-to-1 exchange for a full 5yrs.

It's under promo price currently at $879 + $20 delivery (my delivery was waived becos i also ordered fridge, and aircon from IMM). The price tag stated original RRP at $1599. I asked about the cold water wash, apparently there is, but it is when u select 'Wool' wash setting

Edited by kered

Not an expert in washer but just sharing my experience here.

My first washer is an Electrolux front load bought from Courts about 10 years ago. Didn't survive the extended warranty. Called Courts but service was delayed for an entire week because they could not decide which subcontractor to use for our servicing. After scolding the helpdesk for an entire week we gave up and bought an LG WF-T6517TC instead.

The LG lasted us till today, still in pretty good condition.

We recently bought a new house and have bought another LG, the WD-1250ERD from Harvey Norman, this time without extended warranty. Have not had a chance to use it yet but glad to say that our experience with LG is so far so good.

Picture of WD-1250ERD:

LGWD1250ERD.jpg

Hi sohck, can have your feedback on this washer? I am also considering it, I like the steam function .... but it's a costly machine, so would like to have some feedback on it before deciding ... thanks!!!

I went to AMK Gain City today and got the WD14331AD 8kg/4kg washer-dryer @ $879. It comes with 2 yrs warranty / 10yrs on motor / 5yrs on the rubber stuff. I added $206 for extended unlimited warranty that covers transport, parts, labour, 1-to-1 exchange for a full 5yrs.

It's under promo price currently at $879 + $20 delivery (my delivery was waived becos i also ordered fridge, and aircon from IMM). The price tag stated original RRP at $1599. I asked about the cold water wash, apparently there is, but it is when u select 'Wool' wash setting

Hey congrats, $879 is a good price.

Was that the killer factor that made you go for this machine?

I went to take a peek at Courts when I was at Tampines Mall today to maybe update Lilian on the price.

Thought had to tell her the bad news that it is selling at $1099 now.

There is cold water wash available but only on the wool/silk program.

This program can only take 2kilos though.

I went to take a peek at Courts when I was at Tampines Mall today to maybe update Lilian on the price.

Thanks so much for the info. Wa...increase to $1099 le ar...that's fast leh. Must be a popular one loh. They must have regretted offering at such a low price then see the response good, then adjust a little bit hor?

Haha becos of your glowing review loh...

After reading your experience with this model, I went online to do further research and results indicate this is a decent washer-dryer. I probably don't need to use the dryer function regularly, but the other direct-drive washer-only model costs $1099, so I bought the WD14331AD instead.

Thanks so much for the info. Wa...increase to $1099 le ar...that's fast leh. Must be a popular one loh. They must have regretted offering at such a low price then see the response good, then adjust a little bit hor?

If you are referring to WD14331AD, try calling GC AMK to check on the price?

I believe it should still be $879+$20. When I bought on Sat, the salesman claimed there are 5 sets left.

I PM u the number and the name of the salesman who attended to me. Good luck.

Edited by kered

Well, what I can say about LG washer is that it has a good quality. But your problem in buying it, is on how to bring it at home. If you're really planning to buy then I would suggest that you rent a mover to deliver your LG washer securely.

Haha becos of your glowing review loh...

After reading your experience with this model, I went online to do further research and results indicate this is a decent washer-dryer. I probably don't need to use the dryer function regularly, but the other direct-drive washer-only model costs $1099, so I bought the WD14331AD instead.

Die.

If machine kaput now my wife got somebody to help her ...

Better reduce chances of me ending up being stuffed into the LG Tromm...

If already know, consider this instructions to suck eggs..

On delivery, ensure the four transit bolts are removed after arrival just before siting.

These bolts work like a sports bra

helps prevent important bits from bouncing around when moving.

Keep them for when you need to move machine to another house.

The Courts deliverymen were quite thorough setting my washer up.

But they have other deliveries to do too..

Nevertheless have to still ensure the machine is level and sitting rock steady.

Check for wobble by pushing on opposite corners.

Quite easy to adjust washer feet with the supplied spanner.

If you have spirit level lagi best.

Best not to let machine touch adjacent cabinet if you have space.

Before use, run one or two maintenance washes.

Don't use spirits or solvents to remove any gum residues you may see.

(Mine was around the rim of the drum very close to the door rubber seal.

It went away after two washes. Solvent will eat the rubber.)

Always check pockets for coins or keys before putting in washer.

Turn clothes inside out if no soiling on outside.

Hang clothes inside out to slow down fading.

What type detergent to use?

Unlike my wife, I don't believe one detergent fits all especially the "whites whiter, colours brighter" claims.

She likes to use the liquid recommended for people who live in submarines.

Detergents can't tell which is stain which is dye.

Best to use different detergents for different loads.

Whites/Light colours/Beddings/Towels/Maintenance Wash

Powder detergent is best.

They contain bleaching agent.

Good for stain removal and sanitary for clothes and machine.

Cuts down on mould, goo,slime,gunk,grease buildup.

Usual suspects are Persil and Spin.

Can try Fab white bag or others as long as

lalelled for front loaders or low suds or HE (like anti-tank round like that)

Premium brands are:-

If Greenie - 7th Generation

If America Rules! type - Tide HE

If wear wool or silk, choose non-bio so won't get holes.

Coloured clothes

Liquid low suds if you like.

Thinner is better than those thick gooey type.

Tide HE liquid is the thinnest but also pricey.

Washes great but the smell can be better (to me at least)

Black and Dark colour Clothes

Perwoll Black.

Liquid is not black in colour.

Great at preventing/slowing down colour fade.

Don't use this if seasoning new jeans also

Don't use this and then hang dark clothes in direct sunlight afterwards.

Defeat purpose.

Not widely available though.

Last I saw a few bottles at Giant Tampines.

Fabric Softener

No favourites but don't use on towels.

Nice to have soft bouncy towels.

But better to have them good at absorbing water from your body.

For all detergents, start with recommended dosage.

Fine tune by looking at final spin water thru porthole.

Should not be too foamy or sudsy.

After using machine, soak up the water pooling in the door rubber seal.

Should not be much, about the size and shape of an Ikea pencil.

Also keep door open if possible to prevent mould buildup.

Just check drum for anything thrown in before next wash.

(kids may put toys inside)