worldangel

Love Nest In Woodlands (admiralty)

Day 6 of Renovation:

Everything is in order and I heard that the tiling will be completed on Monday :D

Pictures of the current tiling status

day06-tiling01.jpg

Common toilet

day06-tiling02.jpg

Master toilet - Decided to leave the pipes out in the open. Boxing them up will make the toilet look much smaller.

day06-tiling03.jpg

Close up of tiles, can see the flower motifs

day06-tiling04.jpg

The tiles are actually pretty much reflective, wootz. Really glad that we chose these tiles, they make the toilets look brighter and bigger visually/

day06-tiling05.jpg

Tiling for the MBR toilet floor is done too.

Err, I know nuts about 'chinese' geomancy but often heard that one should not sleep under a beam. Do consult and let your Fengshui master know, Nekorin. Better to have peace of mind. :)

Yep, my parents and in-laws will also jump if they know that we sleep under a beam. Luckily the new arrangement doesn't clash much in terms of fengshui. Now just need to work on the new layout + some adjustments of furniture and other stuff.

Day 9 of Renovation:

Wet works completed.

Framing for the partition walls are up :D

day09-framing01.jpg

day09-framing02.jpg

Study Room partition frame built up.

Sad to say the pictures that I took for the MBR partition were either blurred or corrupted. So no visual updates on that.

day09-kitchenentrance01.jpg

Entrance to the kitchen. Floor tiles are in grey.

day09-kitchenwall01.jpg

Wall behind the entrance. This will be our future dining area. :3

day09-toilet01.jpg

Bathroom is erected in MBR wootz.

Edited by Nekorin

looking good....

Hehe thanks...can't wait for the whole thing to be done! :D Now like super suspenseful...dunno wat I am going to see next!

So far, my fave has to be the bathrooms...the kitchen floor tiles a bit too "concrete like" for my taste but hopefully will look alright once the dust is swept off and the cabinets have been erected...

Any lighting experts here? I'm having trouble planning my lighting. Not doing any L-box, false ceilings.

Not sure whether should we add on any other lights, take away excess lights.

lightinglocations.jpg

Living Room:

Is 3 light points too much for the living room? Basically LP03 (Lighting point 3) is a fan with yellow light. By itself it is incapable of luminating the whole living area.

Is 40W light too much for LP04 and LP13? Thinking of when we need more light we can switch off the yellow light from LP3 and use LP4,LP13 instead to light up the area. Vice versa when we need more 'ambience' can off LP04,LP13 and just use the light from the fan (LP03).

Master Bedroom:

MBR has a horizontal ceiling beam running across in between the 2 rooms. I'm worried that 1 light above (LP01) is insufficient to light up the whole place. What is the best way to light up MBR without using Lbox, downlights, while maintaining ambience? Wall lights?

Balcony:

Do we need an additional ceiling light if we just put 2x wall lights? (Those small ambient kind)

Study Room:

Same as Living room, the lighting point (LP05) is yellow light mounted on a fan. Is there a need for another set of lights just to light up the bookcase area?

Any lighting experts here? I'm having trouble planning my lighting. Not doing any L-box, false ceilings.

lightinglocations.jpg

Living Room:

Is 3 light points too much for the living room? Basically LP03 (Lighting point 3) is a fan with yellow light. By itself it is incapable of luminating the whole living area.

Is 40W light too much for LP04 and LP13? Thinking of when we need more light we can switch off the yellow light from LP3 and use LP4,LP13 instead to light up the area. Vice versa when we need more 'ambience' can off LP04,LP13 and just use the light from the fan (LP03).

Master Bedroom:

MBR has a horizontal ceiling beam running across in between the 2 rooms. I'm worried that 1 light above (LP01) is insufficient to light up the whole place. What is the best way to light up MBR without using Lbox, downlights, while maintaining ambience? Wall lights?

Balcony:

Do we need an additional ceiling light if we just put 2x wall lights? (Those small ambient kind)

Study Room:

Same as Living room, the lighting point (LP05) is yellow light mounted on a fan. Is there a need for another set of lights just to light up the bookcase area?

Hi Nekorin,

We also didnt go L-box or false ceilings. For my living area, we only have 2 points, ie. one 3 tube light and one fan with light. Just switching on the 3 tube light is very bright for our living area. Hee.. Think cause its 3 tubes and we went for white light. So I think it depends on the light that you choose. Have you selected your lights? You can bring your floorplan along, the sale assistants will advise you whether the light you selected is bright enough for the whole area.

I read that you are only having the yellow light from the fan for the study room. We noticed that our fan light is actually not very bright, though we went for white light. Im not sure what fan you are getting, ours is the round light under the fan. For this type, the light is not strong even for white light.

For your mbr, you mentioned that there is a beam. I think you might want to consider the area size also. For us, we had a mini light at the balcony (beside our living area) and similarly, there is a beam inbetween. But I noticed that the light does come in to the living. So it depends on how bright you want the area after the beam to be. :)

lightinglocations.jpg

Living Room:

Master Bedroom:

Balcony:

Study Room:

3 light points is okay for your living room since you will not be switching them on all at the same time.

For LP04 and LP132, you can get 2 2ft tubes. Get cool white :)

MBR: you will lights above the bed and also at the wardrobe area. You can consider uplights.

Balcony: you don't need additional ceiling light, unless you love to read at the balcony.

Study room: fan light would be insufficient to light up a study room, I'd suggest an uplight or table lamp.

Thanks Rasp and ossify for your input :)

We have decided to go for 3 lights in the living room (inclusive of the one attached to the ceiling fan). But the two lights at the side will be those smaller, white light while the ceiling fan light will be more of the yellowish, ambience kind.

As for our bathrooms, unfortunately we won't be able to install 2 wall lights anymore cos it will be hard to hide the wiring and it will look really ugly running down our tiles. So we will just have a ceiling one with yellow light instead to create the soft effect that we want.

We are also trying to decide on the paint color now...anyone who has painted their wall these following colors wud like to share pics wif us? Quite difficult to choose colors when we can't see how they look like on walls...

Urban Grey (Nippon)

Smoky (Nippon)

Cotton White (Nippon)

Ivory (Nippon)

Natural Cane (Nippon)

White (Dulux)

Wah bath tub :dribble: :dribble: :dribble: :dribble:

Hehe yea...maybe that's why the bathroom is currently my fave spot in the house :rolleyes:

But got a problem lor...scared they might put up the sink too near to the bathtub until it "spilled over" to the bathtub cos they have already erected the pipe too near to the bathtub liaoz...so tomorrow need to tell Patrick and see if he can move it a little bit to the right....

Hehe yea...maybe that's why the bathroom is currently my fave spot in the house :rolleyes:

But got a problem lor...scared they might put up the sink too near to the bathtub until it "spilled over" to the bathtub cos they have already erected the pipe too near to the bathtub liaoz...so tomorrow need to tell Patrick and see if he can move it a little bit to the right....

oh now that you mentioned it hor then did i notice the pipe leh hehehehe :P

ya looks kinda near leh better not be too near else slip hor you will test your head harder or the basin harder liao hehehehe :D

oh now that you mentioned it hor then did i notice the pipe leh hehehehe :P

ya looks kinda near leh better not be too near else slip hor you will test your head harder or the basin harder liao hehehehe :D

Yea lor...very dangerous leh...but then the bathroom going to be very cramped...cos the toilet bowl will be right next to the basin...want to install it somewhere else but they told me that the piping does not allow other position... :(

Wah stress leh like that tummy ache also got no space to stretch le

wah for my size hor sure stuck inside de no space to close door no space to open door also :P

Wah stress leh like that tummy ache also got no space to stretch le

wah for my size hor sure stuck inside de no space to close door no space to open door also :P

if stretch to the front can haha...more like the side no space...cos right next to the toilet bowl will be the wash basin, then the other side is the wall liaoz...