worldangel

Love Nest In Woodlands (admiralty)

For the future! No.1 - Add on kitchen Cabinet.

Since we hacked out our storeroom, leaving us with not many places to store our barang barang, I've singled out a place in the kitchen to store the much needed cleaning stuff.

Saw this on the IKEA catalogue and really loved it.

wlth-kitchencabinet.jpg

For the future! No.1 - Add on kitchen Cabinet.

Since we hacked out our storeroom, leaving us with not many places to store our barang barang, I've singled out a place in the kitchen to store the much needed cleaning stuff.

Saw this on the IKEA catalogue and really loved it.

wlth-kitchencabinet.jpg

Hey i saw this too but wonder if i will made an effort to arrange my stuff swee swee so that the vacuum cleaner can go fit in leh

also dunno how long the neat look will last hehehehe :P

Hey i saw this too but wonder if i will made an effort to arrange my stuff swee swee so that the vacuum cleaner can go fit in leh

also dunno how long the neat look will last hehehehe :P

haha yea that's my concern also. most probably I will chuck it inside :P

Hahahah i think i will just throw everything in and hope that all the stuff will not fall out will i open the door leh hehehe :P

Haha yea lor...this weekend going to be a huge spending day as we will get all of our furniture in IKEA...then going over to courts tampines to take a look at the bedding sale :D

Wah enjoy ah hehehehe

fav part of my reno leh hehehe

Wah enjoy ah hehehehe

fav part of my reno leh hehehe

Yea..and the not-so-fave part is when the bill arrives :P

Luckily my FIL agreed to sponsor the altar otherwise will be added expenses...went to walk ard Rochor Rd yesterday to look at altar but all look so 'obiang'...all made of rosewood which will definitely not fit into our house theme...we want something like this:

DSC00107.jpg

Simple and clean design...tink it's done by one of the forumites here, blue_diamond..but forgot who did it for him/her..

So tomolo Patrick will be coming down to take a look and give us a quote for this type of altar...

Yea..and the not-so-fave part is when the bill arrives :P

Luckily my FIL agreed to sponsor the altar otherwise will be added expenses...went to walk ard Rochor Rd yesterday to look at altar but all look so 'obiang'...all made of rosewood which will definitely not fit into our house theme...we want something like this:

DSC00107.jpg

Simple and clean design...tink it's done by one of the forumites here, blue_diamond..but forgot who did it for him/her..

So tomolo Patrick will be coming down to take a look and give us a quote for this type of altar...

It's his contractor who did it for him. But of cos you can ask if you contractor can do something similar or not lah.

Perhaps you would like to check with BD abt the price 1st ?

It's his contractor who did it for him. But of cos you can ask if you contractor can do something similar or not lah.

Perhaps you would like to check with BD abt the price 1st ?

Yea...will check wif him. Hopefully wun exceed 1k.

The carpenter will be coming down tomorrow to do measurements also, then my contractor will tell me how much it will cost before we proceed :)

Yea...will check wif him. Hopefully wun exceed 1k.

The carpenter will be coming down tomorrow to do measurements also, then my contractor will tell me how much it will cost before we proceed :)

hehehehe....looking for me isit??!!! :P

I think it $800 ...but let me confirm with my quotation again....it done by my carpentry ah wei.....:)

hehehehe....looking for me isit??!!! :P

I think it $800 ...but let me confirm with my quotation again....it done by my carpentry ah wei.....:)

Omg you are fast! :o

Just mention ur name here then u appear le...like genie in the bottle like that haha...

ah wei is a subcontractor or ur main one? Does he own his own company? You got make other items wif him?

Problem no.2 - Lighting the dining area.

Recently just discovered some problems with the location of the dining lights after they were installed. My bad, failed to plan for this, sighz.

The beautiful dining lights~

day17-dining01.jpg

... and they are situated... here T__________T (the 3 yellow dots)

problem-dininglights01.jpg

My wife is not really that happy about having her route to the kitchen blocked by the tables too. Thus we need to make some adjustments to the lighting position as well as the dining table position.

After some pondering, I came out with this....

problem-dininglights02.jpg

It will be a bit tight for the person who is closer to the fridge, but the lights are situated in a position where there is more freedom in positioning of the dining table and chairs

And as to why there are 2 tables (those 2 are IKEA MELLTORP btw), they can be rearranged so as to accomodate to more people should there be a need to. 'Guest Mode configuration + 4 extra foldable chairs'

problem-dininglights03.jpg

But this still pose a problem. Cuz of the nature of the dining lights, the upper left half of the dining area will not have ample light. I've considered having some small floor lights there but there are no wall sockets available there unless I spend more $$$ on renovation. Any suggestions?

And I hate that horizontal wall beam... makes planning so freaking hard %#@%@#^@#^%@#%$@

Actually my kitchen also have a beam thus blocking the lighting...that why was thinking to have 2 ceiling lights and 1 dining lights...

Having dining table in the kitchen is good...cook and eat in the same place...I like it too...

My dining table is a glass top custom made one (bar top height) and place against the wall...now only worry is whether will be too dangerous in the night if accidentally struck against the corners...sure very pain. (I think I will buy those rubber corner bits to protect against hitting and reduce the impact...

house.jpg

Actually my kitchen also have a beam thus blocking the lighting...that why was thinking to have 2 ceiling lights and 1 dining lights...

Having dining table in the kitchen is good...cook and eat in the same place...I like it too...

My dining table is a glass top custom made one (bar top height) and place against the wall...now only worry is whether will be too dangerous in the night if accidentally struck against the corners...sure very pain. (I think I will buy those rubber corner bits to protect against hitting and reduce the impact...

house.jpg

Yea I hate horizontal beams lolz.

Actually for our kitchen, even wif the beam there, it is still quite bright even though we only have two lights. Maybe cos our dining table lights are those 3-in-1 type...

But my kitchen and dining area super hot! Do you have that problem also? I think I need to get standing fan to put near the dining table, otherwise confirm will feel very warm when I am cooking and eating...

Yea I hate horizontal beams lolz.

Actually for our kitchen, even wif the beam there, it is still quite bright even though we only have two lights. Maybe cos our dining table lights are those 3-in-1 type...

But my kitchen and dining area super hot! Do you have that problem also? I think I need to get standing fan to put near the dining table, otherwise confirm will feel very warm when I am cooking and eating...

mmm...never thought of that yet...me and wife only think of having a LCD TV at the relaxing corner facing the kitchen so that we can watch while having our meal...haha.

But I do have a ceiling fan at my relaxing corner and my kitchen open concept...hope the wind is strong enough to reach the kitchen...

mmm...never thought of that yet...me and wife only think of having a LCD TV at the relaxing corner facing the kitchen so that we can watch while having our meal...haha.

But I do have a ceiling fan at my relaxing corner and my kitchen open concept...hope the wind is strong enough to reach the kitchen...

If your kitchen is open concept then shud be fine...mine is enclosed with glass door...so going to be hot and stuffy inside. Although got window in the service balcony right next to the kitchen but the dining area is still hot...

Actually all this you will only find out once the kitchen is done up then you go and stand inside...we also never thought about the heat issue until after the kitchen is constructed...