skyblue

A Simple Place @ Bedok =)

End of Week 8 - Part 7

Part of the kitchen cabinets with hob. There are no top cabinets and hood as "instructed" by my mother who rather not have them. The backing is not completed yet.

Wk8_DSCF2816.jpg

The interior of the kitchen cabinets below.

Wk8_DSCF2819.jpg

Wash basin area.

Wk8_DSCF2817.jpg

The interior of the kitchen cabinets below the wash basin area.

Wk8_DSCF2818.jpg

Additional basin near the washer for some hand wash clothes, as "instructed" by my mother to install one around there.

Wk8_DSCF2815.jpg

End of Week 8 - Part 8

Bedroom 3 door

This is my favourite "door" – Mr K’s creative idea (a very fantastic one!), which can close at two possible positions.

Bedroom 3 door closed in its original position.

Wk8_DSCF2803.jpg

Bedroom 3 door closed in another position (2 way closing).

Wk8_DSCF2804.jpg

End of Week 8 - Part 5

Wall fans installed in the living room, "instructed" by my mother. 1 more installed in the new guest/study room and another 1 in Bedroom 2.

Wk8_DSCF2802.jpg

Hi Skyblue,

Seems like you got quite abit of 'instructions' from your mom. Hee.. :D Anyway, I noticed that your wall fans are install just below the downlights. I wonder if the lights might flick when the light go through the moving blades.

Hi skyblue

the laminates you have selected for all the cabinets/drawers very nice! I using IH but different ID hee. Hope my house will turn up as nice as yours.

ohh very nicely done up. I like the way he combine the different laminates. nice :)

Hi Skyblue,

Seems like you got quite abit of 'instructions' from your mom. Hee.. :D Anyway, I noticed that your wall fans are install just below the downlights. I wonder if the lights might flick when the light go through the moving blades.

Hi Rasp, no choice leh, staying with mother is that "troublesome" one lor...

Regarding the point you raised, I hope there is no problem, I hope my ID would have considered that. Will let you know when I check it out again. Thanks. :)

Hi skyblue

the laminates you have selected for all the cabinets/drawers very nice! I using IH but different ID hee. Hope my house will turn up as nice as yours.

ohh very nicely done up. I like the way he combine the different laminates. nice :)

Hi pbtgal & ivy, thanks. Actually, it was all mainly my ID's suggestion as I am quite "nuts" on design. Good thing it turns out fine. Haha... ;)

Hi bro,

Was going thru some of the pics and post.

Notice that your shoe cabinet dun have any opening??

I thin it’s better to have some kinda opening for ventilation. Else, cabinet might have some funny smell after a few months of usage?

Jus a tot…

Everythin lookin good :)

Mr K is another ID that alot of people got superb review on. You are definitely in good hands. Saw some of the T-blogs of his clients, his designs are usually nice. Too bad that time when i was trying to get quote from them Mr K did not respond to me leh..

Well, thanks for your input, ivy. Maybe I could also elaborate a little more on my ID selection.

After knowing I would be buying the flat, I join this forum before my first appointment, and have been reading a lot since then. This year, I narrowed down to three main firms (not in any particular order):

(1) Intradesign - Dave

(2) Renozone - Ronney

(3) Ideal House - Mr K

There was a fourth one, whom I met by chance at the HDB hub, but I "failed" him immediately when I noticed his firm is not HDB-licenced, and I do not want to take that risk. His firm was also relatively new, so no one could provide feedback as yet.

Back to the three of them, I am actually quite comfortable with all three. Intradesign - knowing how the quotation is going to be, I did not want to waste time on asking them to itemise the quotation. They did not "pass" because their quote was on a high side. Some of the you here also said that eventually the final quote maybe higher than original as the process started (add/change here & there), though they also did not regret it at the end. But since I cannot afford that "huge" budget (possibly over 50K at the end), hence I passed. Dave is actually a nice person to talk to. :)

As for Renozone, did met up with them at least twice I believe (the same time as I met with Ideal House), to discuss about the plan and layout. Both quotations (RZ & IH) were competitive actually. But RZ "failed" on 3 main points:

( a ) IH has 8% discount on the grand total, which RZ do not have (you can choose other offer over at IH website if you don't take this 8% discount);

( b ) RZ could not do up a plan to my liking for Master bathroom, they also did not suggest hacking wall to make it bigger (or be more flexible);

( c ) RZ also could not suggest a better (or creative) idea that Mr K have for my bedroom 3 door (see above post #62).

Hence, the end result will be IH.

I did not want to "collect" too many quotations also, simply because this might cause more headache and making me more difficult to decide, thus I only selected the few main ones, after reading comments here in RT. Just thought of sharing the process that I went through.

Cheers! :)

Edited by skyblue

Hi bro,

Was going thru some of the pics and post.

Notice that your shoe cabinet dun have any opening??

I thin it’s better to have some kinda opening for ventilation. Else, cabinet might have some funny smell after a few months of usage?

Jus a tot…

Everythin lookin good :)

You've made a good point, rolexboy. I didn't think about it. But then, I quite like the look of it as it is now, I might just put something inside the cabinet to rid any smell? Anyway, will check with Mr K on this matter too. Thanks. :)

the same spot used to be a 'no room no hall' (hokkien) rental block. well, under the first crass gahmen objective of maximising land use & profit, it is now a block of 4 & 5 rooms. the next plot of land awaiting new flats to be built would be near blk 85 market, previously occupied by blk 83, next to the long staircase mrs piglet used to climb in her teenage days. :)

skyblue, yours a good choice of newer flats in Bedok besides block 10 at Bedok South. Longvale at Bedok Reservoir is quite inconvenient in terms of transport and amenities, while blk 180 to 185 are quite small being flats built abt 5yrs back. your block is within walking distance to post office, dry cleaners, GP & specialist clinics, 24 hr coffee shops etc etc. Excellent!!

1 room flat? No wonder just that blk is demolished and rebuild. Looks weird in the midst of the older blks. but definitely a very gd location to stay in! the staircases there got blks meh? i only know the big carpark leh.

By the way, I was wondering if anyone can help me with some suggestions on the type of curtains/blinds for these two rooms below?

Bedroom 3 - my own study/work room (opposite master bedroom). I was thinking of roller blinds, is this a good choice?

Wk6_DSCF2756.jpg

Guest/game/study room - beside the main balcony. This room could be study room for my nieces, or games room (mahjong) for me. I was also thinking of roller blinds, what do you guys think?

Wk6_DSCF2754.jpg

Or would curtain be a better choice for the 2 rooms?

Also, anyone here has good recommendation on where/who I can approach to get curtains/blinds done up? Appreciate your help and suggestions, thanks in advance. :)

I see that ur room's got some sunlight coming in. Depends on wat u want to do with that room, if it is a bedroom, i'll suggest block out curtains. Like my bedroom now is totally dark even when i sleep till noon! :P

Curtains will have higher maintenance than roller blinds, roller blinds no need to wash, just wipe will do. :) but curtains are aesthetically nicer too!

You've made a good point, rolexboy. I didn't think about it. But then, I quite like the look of it as it is now, I might just put something inside the cabinet to rid any smell? Anyway, will check with Mr K on this matter too. Thanks. :)

Put toilet roll inside! I read from Mace's blog that it helps to absorb the sweaty smell. :)

Hi Skyway,

Great place you've got there at a nice location too. I actually attended kindy at Blk 103 when I was a kid and occasionally pop by for foodie indulgence at Block 85.

The Private Balcony is really a great feature and makes the MBR more cosy indeed! Nice to see the reno progress is going on well! :) The colour combo and choice of laminates really looks great. Eagerly awaiting more updated pics! :)

Edited by adrian_john

I see that ur room's got some sunlight coming in. Depends on wat u want to do with that room, if it is a bedroom, i'll suggest block out curtains. Like my bedroom now is totally dark even when i sleep till noon! :P

Curtains will have higher maintenance than roller blinds, roller blinds no need to wash, just wipe will do. :) but curtains are aesthetically nicer too!

Put toilet roll inside! I read from Mace's blog that it helps to absorb the sweaty smell. :)

Hihi mrspiglet, you are so informative. :)

Yeah, I'm quite a lazy one when it comes to cleaning and such. Thus, I should do up roller blinds in bedroom 3, and possibly curtains at new study/games room.

By the way, do you have any good recommendations on the shop/people who make good curtains/blinds??

Toilet roll, do you mean the whole roll? I suppose need to change it after some time right? Will go read up the blog you suggested, hopefully not too many pages, haha...

Thanks, thanks, really appreciate your feedback. :)