shuseido 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 Hi all, I am intending to do a kitchen glass door with height abt 2.45 meter, which is from the floor all the way to the ceiling. But my contractor told me, no one is doing that coz cannot use HDB lift. My house is at 17th floor, no way to carry up using staircase. Is that true? Anyone has done the glass door with at least 2.4m height? If yes, got pic to show is the best. Thanks!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihihi 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 (edited) my contractor once quoted me for a wall mirror which I insisted as single piece. he says lift cannot fit, if wanna bring up need to add: $100 per floor. conclusion is that I didn't do it. if 10th floor = + $1000, siao, that's more expensive than the mirror itself. Edited May 27, 2009 by hihihi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 Hi all, I am intending to do a kitchen glass door with height abt 2.45 meter, which is from the floor all the way to the ceiling. But my contractor told me, no one is doing that coz cannot use HDB lift. My house is at 17th floor, no way to carry up using staircase. Is that true? Anyone has done the glass door with at least 2.4m height? If yes, got pic to show is the best. Thanks!!! Is not no way to carry up using staircase, it is very tough to climb up 17th storey. Half way knock on the glass break how? So most don't want to take the risk...Lucky for me, the 2.2m mirror can still fit in the life Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 my contractor once quoted me for a wall mirror which I insisted as single piece. he says lift cannot fit, if wanna bring up need to add: $100 per floor. conclusion is that I didn't do it. if 10th floor = + $1000, siao, that's more expensive than the mirror itself. Wah! Charge like this really siao... Hahaha... Is not no way to carry up using staircase, it is very tough to climb up 17th storey. Half way knock on the glass break how? So most don't want to take the risk...Lucky for me, the 2.2m mirror can still fit in the life Ya lor, my contractor also told me the same, too high risk. If no one can do, I only left with do the conceal door with glass at the middle type, it will cost me another $700. Haiz.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 i enquired with my contractor friend on this.. he says that there's possibility of a door or such of size 2400mm in height x approx. 900mm in width to be brought up to the unit by lift, as long as the lift's height clearance permits.. and hdb estates built since abt 6yrs ago usually have no issues with it.. and u can always get the glass contractor staff to take measurement before commiting to do it.. but if either of the measurement exceeds the above, then there's definitely no chance.. hope this helps.. Wah!! Thanks for the info sinner. Really great help! At least I still have some "tiny hope" here as my estate is just 5yrs old. Will check with my contractor again on this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shuseido 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 Contractor will come to my place to check out the lift and staircase this Thursday. Hope the lift is BIG enough to carry. Hahaha... If not, additional 300-500. Haiz... Anyone have any other comments on this? THanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites