newnyew

<<<讨厌小姐的new家@fernvale>>>

to IMM hoe kee, SSC. - saw Adrian_john n wifey hehe :)

hi 5 Adrian_john! saw that u also carrying a file/book just like me!

Heya, nice bumping into you.

Sorry I abit 'seh' lah. I'm actually down with a bad case of sinus problems, which explains why I look like a junkie with the the bad voice and blur, droopy eyes. So embarrasing! :P

Yeah, the file's like our reno 'bible'. Yesterday's actually the first time I ever stepped into IMM. I was at Hong Tar to enquire about air-con, then as we were exiting to go home, my wife saw IMM was just there so we thought just go and see see. :)

BTW, anybody got any recommendations for air-con? Hong Tar recommended Mitsubishi H.I., Starmex and Toshiba. Anyone got any experience with these or other brands to share?

You went IMM today? Did you see the Kohler WC inside asia excel? I don't know what model it is but it looks very sleek. Kohler is from US with a long history.

yup i saw the kohler wc at asia excel or wat shop i forgot. it was abt $900+

finishing is really gd but not the shape we wanted.

haiz... endless shopping for toilet bowls..

Agreed, the Kohler WCs look really sleek and nice. Saw it at Asia Excel (Balestier) on Sunday.

But they were really crowded and hence, we didn't stay there long since couldn't talk to any of the staff.

We'll probably go back again this week.

Asia Excel has alot of nice bathroom accessories.

Hi Adrian, it was either Mitsubishi E (Starmex) or Toshiba for me and for $100ish more, might as well get the Toshiba cos of its made in Japan compressor.

i heard there is furniture expo going on now?if so,usually they have some air con counter,and they usually have promotion too.

furniture expo going on?? mm..maybe i shd go look for my dining table and chairs

wahahahah!!!! I won!!!

i got an amasco instant heater!

took pics of tiger toilet but hubby left camera in the car :curse:

haha u gone for so long le meh? I got ur Pm thanks!

taoyan la, tiger toilet up 3quarter liao. looks like carpet lei!

haha thanks to Yeak actually! first thing in the morning told us if install heater, cannot do false ceiling.

so he bobian!

Congrates congrates! :D hehehe.. Guess u kinda owe it to Yeak as he helped u. hehehee

And where's the pics?! Haha, "carpet" in the toilet will look very luxurious woh. heheheh

over there,ID and furniture is not cheap lor.not worth.

okie, forget it then. thanks for telling me! else, we'll make a wasted trip :D

Agreed, the Kohler WCs look really sleek and nice. Saw it at Asia Excel (Balestier) on Sunday.

But they were really crowded and hence, we didn't stay there long since couldn't talk to any of the staff.

We'll probably go back again this week.

Asia Excel has alot of nice bathroom accessories.

If you're keen to buy the Kohler WC can ask Ricky at Asia Excel IMM. He quoted me a very gd price (definitely much less than $900+) buy I didn't get it as I already bought from Ideal Bathroom at Balestier.

Newnyew,

I forgot to add that if u cook with VC hob then got to remove the pot/pan from the hob after u finish cooking cos it takes a long time for the hob to cool down. If u leave the pot sitting on the hob then food tends to get overcooked. Other option is to turn off the hob before food is fully cooked then use the residual heat to finish off the cooking.

I compared the Ariston & Brandt induction hobs but settled for Brandt in the end. Brandt has the additional safety feature of auto power off to prevent overheating i.e. if you cook something & forget to turn off the heat, it'll auto shut off when a certain max temperature is reached.

Another word of advice...Don't buy the small 2 burner hob unless u intend to have another spare gas hob. It's quite narrow so it's difficult to fit 2 pots/pans side by side for simultaneous cooking.

Let me know if u decide to buy one. Will give u more advice then.

Like nottimonster mentioned, there's pros & cons. We'd initially wanted to get induction hob but after hearing that can only use 2 hobs at the same time if get 4 induction hob & comparing our budget for the hob, we decided to get the VC hob since there's just 2 of us to cook only. We don't cook alot so the VC suited our budget and practicality.

You should decide based on your budget and your preference. :)

Newnyew,

I forgot to add that if u cook with VC hob then got to remove the pot/pan from the hob after u finish cooking cos it takes a long time for the hob to cool down. If u leave the pot sitting on the hob then food tends to get overcooked. Other option is to turn off the hob before food is fully cooked then use the residual heat to finish off the cooking.

I compared the Ariston & Brandt induction hobs but settled for Brandt in the end. Brandt has the additional safety feature of auto power off to prevent overheating i.e. if you cook something & forget to turn off the heat, it'll auto shut off when a certain max temperature is reached.

Another word of advice...Don't buy the small 2 burner hob unless u intend to have another spare gas hob. It's quite narrow so it's difficult to fit 2 pots/pans side by side for simultaneous cooking.

Let me know if u decide to buy one. Will give u more advice then.

Sorry I wasn't clear just now. I got the bigger 2 burner hob. It's much longer so can fit 2 biggish pots side by side nicely. There are 2 sizes available for Brandt but only 1 size for Ariston for the 2 burner series.

Like what BunBun said, I can't handle cooking with 2 pots at any 1 time so that's why I didn't choose the 4 burner one.

At the end of the day, you got to make up your mind & choose which type of hob you want. If you are not going to cook much then induction hob may not be a good investment as it costs more then VC hob.