Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 15, 2009 Gorgeous cake u've got there Bun Bun. The piping works look good too. Check with u guys.. My muffins sometime feel very dense/heavy. Any reasons for it? I got try not to overmix liao leh. Heard that when measuring the flour, cannot pack it tight, as it'll be too much. Really true? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted June 15, 2009 Ya cos my friend requested for alot of fruits and a light cake for her mother's bday. I'm not too sure about the gelatine part as I looked up online to see whether must add gelatine since gelatine is similar to Jelly when set since its supposed to hold the fruits in place. Surprisingly, couldn't find any mention of dripping gelatine on top of fruits on an iced cake. Need to look up again. wow!so many fruits on top ah? One tips for u,u drip gelatine on top of the fruits it would looks shinning! I think the temperature is too hot that why it erupted. yesterday i bake a cake and the center part mecham volcano erupt!!! is it that i should not On the fan in the oven?! Thanks angel81, it's actually my first attempt in doing a fruits cake. I haven't heard about that but did you sift the flour before adding to the mixture? Sometimes the recipe may not require to beat the mixture when flour is added, it might involve using the folding method to fold the flour into half into the mixture. Gorgeous cake u've got there Bun Bun. The piping works look good too. Check with u guys.. My muffins sometime feel very dense/heavy. Any reasons for it? I got try not to overmix liao leh. Heard that when measuring the flour, cannot pack it tight, as it'll be too much. Really true? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted June 15, 2009 Thanks for the tip. Will try it out again next time. something like this,it looks shinning and hold the fruits well,just a very thin layer of it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted June 15, 2009 (edited) . Edited July 20, 2009 by newnyew Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted June 15, 2009 The cream is not a fruity one or whipped cream either. It's a plain sweet italian meringue buttercream. The next time I want to make Swiss meringue buttercream. Cake is a very light sponge cake. Cheesecake is very versatile, its easy to experiment with the flavours but I'm not very good with cheescakes myself. Should bug precious to set a date kekeke wa bun! really many fruits! haha but makes me feel happy seeing it wat flavour of cake was it? cant wait for precious' housewarming so we can all eat alot of cakes! i tried baking my cheescake last week. tried using berries yogurt this time for a change. turned out great as well so u can try w other kinds of yogurt flavours! post pic let me see wor! Btw, Rondy.. I just saw your muffins! But we need to see your recipe for the muffins so that we can help you ascertain whats the big problem. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 Thanks angel81, it's actually my first attempt in doing a fruits cake. I haven't heard about that but did you sift the flour before adding to the mixture? Sometimes the recipe may not require to beat the mixture when flour is added, it might involve using the folding method to fold the flour into half into the mixture. Hmm.. Got sift leh. And got beat the eggs to introduce more air too. Signz. If I can't do muffins well, I can't 'graduate' to do more chim stuff leh.. Sure fail.... hahahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 newnyew & rondy: yeah was late cos i was reading anime manga online. So not dreaming of cakes definitely I'm too hooked on manga. wa bunbun u so late then come in! she must be suddenly dreams of cake !haha Paiseh, just realise its your cake. Hmm what's your cake recipe? muffin ok la,just the cake got the volcano effects! Hmm..you beat manually or with a mixer? Hmm.. Got sift leh. And got beat the eggs to introduce more air too. Signz. If I can't do muffins well, I can't 'graduate' to do more chim stuff leh.. Sure fail.... hahahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 16, 2009 newnyew & rondy: yeah was late cos i was reading anime manga online. So not dreaming of cakes definitely I'm too hooked on manga. Hmm..you beat manually or with a mixer? Ooo! What manga do u read? Manually. My muffins are mostly those dry & wet ingredients mix separately then fold together. Only did once with the creaming method, cuz that one uses more butter and I'm rather health conscious. Plus I still haven decide on a standing or hand-held mixer! hahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites