worldangel

Estimating Renovation Cost For 4 Room Flat

Now in the midst of calculating reno cost :P Want to know if it is worth getting this unit which has good location and everything, but the owner asking for 8k or higher COV and the condition of the hse is quite bare.

So if we manage to get this unit, we will need to do the following:

Hacking the floor in the toilets (2 of them) and re-laying the tiles

Hacking down the built in wardrobe in the rooms (2 of them)

Building up a partial wall near the entrance of the kitchen so that the kitchen cannot be seen when people walk in, the kitchen is right beside the main door

Hacking the kitchen cabinet and re-doing them

Repainting

That's what we can think of right now, the flooring for the rest of the house is quite new so don't think we need to do anything to them. How much do you think this type of renovation will cost? it is a 4 room flat by way, around 100sqm :)

Thanks in advance

The toilets... you're only doing the floor not the wall?

There's a small complication there. Waterproofing for the toilet floor should be done across the floor and up to 1.5cm at the base of the wall. Which means a good (responsible) contractor will have to hack the bottom most wall tile in order to lay the waterproofing properly. This means you have to decide if you wish to use the floor tile to compensate for that wall tile (and it'll look like a skirting) or if you can find back the wall tile which was used to patch back. The current owners might have kept some tiles.

mm what about toilet bowls and sinks? will you be changing those?

Shower screens?

Partial wall is made of hollow block (more solid) or partition?

How long is your kitchen cabinet going to be? heh. and what kind of surface top?

hacking and hauling - $2000? (a guess)

Relaying of tiles + tiles - $600 - $800

Kitchen Cabinets - $90 - $120 per foot

Solid surface worktop - $70 - $100 per foot

Painting - $1200

The toilets... you're only doing the floor not the wall?

There's a small complication there. Waterproofing for the toilet floor should be done across the floor and up to 1.5cm at the base of the wall. Which means a good (responsible) contractor will have to hack the bottom most wall tile in order to lay the waterproofing properly. This means you have to decide if you wish to use the floor tile to compensate for that wall tile (and it'll look like a skirting) or if you can find back the wall tile which was used to patch back. The current owners might have kept some tiles.

mm what about toilet bowls and sinks? will you be changing those?

Shower screens?

Partial wall is made of hollow block (more solid) or partition?

How long is your kitchen cabinet going to be? heh. and what kind of surface top?

hacking and hauling - $2000? (a guess)

Relaying of tiles + tiles - $600 - $800

Kitchen Cabinets - $90 - $120 per foot

Solid surface worktop - $70 - $100 per foot

Painting - $1200

We would need to the flooring as well as hacking & relaying the tiles on the wall for the toilets...

Will be replacing the toilet bowls and sink as well...don't think will have a shower screen.

For the partial wall, can just be a partition as long as it "hides" the kitchen from the view of the people who just enter the house...

Hope to get evthing done within 15k if possible...

wah... including wall then it's different... hehe

mm

retiling of toilet walls and floors + waterproofing - $3k to $4.5k (Some IDs charge $5k+)

tiles should be able to pick those $3/psf at least.

labour to replace toilet bowl and sinks $400 (not including the thing itself)

partial wall - $300 - $500... (depending on actual height and width)

To make it nice since it's at the foyer... ask the person to make some shelf-like groves to place some ornaments (but collect dust la ) lol

Kitchen cabinets... top and bottom are counted separately... so if your top is 15ft and bottom is 15ft, altogether 30ft, you'll have to pay $3k just for the cabinets.

You'll probably need to factor in Plumbing ($700-$800?) and some electricals.

Lights will cost you 1k-2k (if you're not going for very posh crystal ones...) sanitary fittings and kitchen fittings... will be the same... :)

15k if it's just the reno alone, should be enough.. but if you want to include furniture it'll be tough.

wah... including wall then it's different... hehe

mm

retiling of toilet walls and floors + waterproofing - $3k to $4.5k (Some IDs charge $5k+)

tiles should be able to pick those $3/psf at least.

labour to replace toilet bowl and sinks $400 (not including the thing itself)

partial wall - $300 - $500... (depending on actual height and width)

To make it nice since it's at the foyer... ask the person to make some shelf-like groves to place some ornaments (but collect dust la ) lol

Kitchen cabinets... top and bottom are counted separately... so if your top is 15ft and bottom is 15ft, altogether 30ft, you'll have to pay $3k just for the cabinets.

You'll probably need to factor in Plumbing ($700-$800?) and some electricals.

Lights will cost you 1k-2k (if you're not going for very posh crystal ones...) sanitary fittings and kitchen fittings... will be the same... :)

15k if it's just the reno alone, should be enough.. but if you want to include furniture it'll be tough.

Oh furniture and appliances we have set aside another 15k...so we didn't include that as part of reno cost...

sigh need to spend around 40 to 45k cash for this house...but really like the surrounding and location...

so now praying that no buyer will go jack up the COV...

And we are also not getting ID firms, more interested in getting a contractor and have heard many good reviews about Ah Soon, so might be considering him :)

Edited by worldangel

15K should be enough ba . base on the item you want to do.

I do a lot more then yrs

Item Same as yr : Hacking the floor in the toilets (2 of them) and re-laying the tiles (both floor and wall)

Hacking the kitchen cabinet and re-doing them (i do a 30feet one with solid surface of cos)

Repainting - whole house

Additional item including: Flooring for living (hack and relay homo tile upgrade living tile to $4 psf )/ 3 bedroom (supreme AC5)/ 2x shower screen/ 1 X 5 feet vanity top and cabinet / window for kitchen/ 2x toilet door / electric point and piping for kitchen and toilets/upgrade some toilet tile to $5 psf/hack kitchen floor and relay tile (floor and wall) and many small small item like labor for w.c etc etc

Item i don't have: Hacking down the built in wardrobe in the rooms (2 of them) (should be cheap) - Building up a partial wall

All for not more then 21k (of cos not ID firm lah)

If you wan i can pm you my contractor contact. My house will be ready somewhere mid June just finish tiling yesterday - will be inspecting the workman ship (so far so good after 2 visit over the weekend) . Can visit my place if you want to see :)

Btw.... Will be staring my T-blog soon .... so stay tune .... hahahhahaa

15K should be enough ba . base on the item you want to do.

I do a lot more then yrs

Item Same as yr : Hacking the floor in the toilets (2 of them) and re-laying the tiles (both floor and wall)

Hacking the kitchen cabinet and re-doing them (i do a 30feet one with solid surface of cos)

Repainting - whole house

Additional item including: Flooring for living (hack and relay homo tile upgrade living tile to $4 psf )/ 3 bedroom (supreme AC5)/ 2x shower screen/ 1 X 5 feet vanity top and cabinet / window for kitchen/ 2x toilet door / electric point and piping for kitchen and toilets/upgrade some toilet tile to $5 psf/hack kitchen floor and relay tile (floor and wall) and many small small item like labor for w.c etc etc

Item i don't have: Hacking down the built in wardrobe in the rooms (2 of them) (should be cheap) - Building up a partial wall

All for not more then 21k (of cos not ID firm lah)

If you wan i can pm you my contractor contact. My house will be ready somewhere mid June just finish tiling yesterday - will be inspecting the workman ship (so far so good after 2 visit over the weekend) . Can visit my place if you want to see :)

Btw.... Will be staring my T-blog soon .... so stay tune .... hahahhahaa

Wow sounds like you got yourself a good deal! :good:

Yea, would be interested in seeing your pictures...if the contractor can provide good service at a good price, don't mind getting his contacts from you :dribble:

No problem . Will go over this weekend and take some photo. Then will start a T-blog :) - hopefully (cos really busy with all the stuff sia)

btw, I stay at woodlands. If you are near can pop up to take a look too . cheer :)

yay.. i'm happy for you la worldangel...

I was going to say... that Uncle Soon is uber busy...all the way until the end of the year... so cannot just base on our reviews and you decide to get him. Must source for a few quotes (like supersimon's) and then decide.

OH supersimon! Yours is Henry ah? Henry is pretty good from what I see so far too :)

No problem . Will go over this weekend and take some photo. Then will start a T-blog :) - hopefully (cos really busy with all the stuff sia)

btw, I stay at woodlands. If you are near can pop up to take a look too . cheer :)

ahaha wat coincidence, I am getting a flat in Woodlands too...the one I am talking about is close to Admiralty MRT, somewhere near 888 Plaza. Where is your place? :P

Is yours a 4 room or 5 room? If you dun mind me asking, how much did you pay altogether for your hse (valuation & COV)?

yay.. i'm happy for you la worldangel...

I was going to say... that Uncle Soon is uber busy...all the way until the end of the year... so cannot just base on our reviews and you decide to get him. Must source for a few quotes (like supersimon's) and then decide.

OH supersimon! Yours is Henry ah? Henry is pretty good from what I see so far too :)

Haha cannot be too happy first, tonight bringing parents in law to view the unit...they are picky people so might not like the flat and will end up influencing us to not feel like getting the flat :unsure: Plus they keep thinking that the price is too steep although I check the HDB resale flat transaction and all the flats around there are selling for ard the same price...

Yea I understand Uncle Soon is very busy cos so many people here engaging his service after all the good reviews haha...but definitely will take into consideration other contractors as well. The main thing we will take into account is the price and the service provided. My husband is quite particular when it comes to the way the house looks, so we will need a contractor who understands what we want and is able to deliver that...

Izzit .....

So qiao wor .....

Mine place at at 628 . between 888 plaza / admiraty mrt and vista point.

I got it for 294k - val 293k , cov 1k :)

gov help me with 55k of grant for 1st timer. Ha... :P

Izzit .....

So qiao wor .....

Mine place at at 628 . between 888 plaza / admiraty mrt and vista point.

I got it for 294k - val 293k , cov 1k :)

gov help me with 55k of grant for 1st timer. Ha... :P

I hoping to get 45k for first timer...my house after add evthing will also be around the same price as yours, just that my house valuation is lower than yours but they asking for a lot of COV :unsure:

can't wait to see your pics! once you set up the t-blog, do post a link here ;) And if can share the quotation by your contractor, even better :P

sigh dun think we will be getting this flat after all, the seller is now reluctant to sell even when we offer up to 10k, he still insists on getting 2-3k more. plus my parents in law don't really like the house and we even went to the temple to get a divination lot, but it was a really bad lot which advised us not to get the house and wait for a better one :(

So that means the search goes on.