born_again

Our Happy Family

Born again, you really did saved a lot of money from the reno! and the grout lines, from dark colour become white colour, you very super huh. that means scrubbing like mad lor, i tink you can start a new thread liao, called how to have a budget reno/how to save money

Hi born_again,

Can I check with you something? I bought all new furniture for my gal, but till now, the new wood furniture smell still cant go off, do you know what I can do to get it away?

hmmmm.....have u tried wiping it with detol or putting a bar of soup or even moth balls in your daughter's wardrobe? Or u can try my method. I bought Ambi Pur Mini Fresh that looks like leaf to hang it inside my wardrobe to get rid of the furniture smell. Dont buy this light green (vanilla) cos the smell is disappointing.

http://www.fairprice.com.sg/ProductDetails...D=0000011008024

Born again, you really did saved a lot of money from the reno! and the grout lines, from dark colour become white colour, you very super huh. that means scrubbing like mad lor, i tink you can start a new thread liao, called how to have a budget reno/how to save money

Thanks. We're really pleased with the grout lines final results as really sweat like ****.

ya, this time round, I think we really planned our reno and we're also lucky that we only need min. reno which is the reason y we shortlisted this unit. We have gone thru actual reno once and we really dun wish to repeat our mistakes again. Our last reno was a major overhaul which not only exhausted our saving but we even took a reno loan. The past 3.5 yrs was living **** for us and the only way to slightly (yes slightly and not able to totally) overcome the situation was to sell our EM. We told ourselves that we would not take a reno loan for this new place and we would just get whatever is necessary first.

Wanted to custom made the rooms wardrobes but we cant afford it. So we bought from hdb furniture shops and took over 2 wardrobes left by sellers. If its 3.5yrs ago, we would definitely had thrown away the wardrobes and tv cabinets left by the sellers even if it was close to 10/10 condition. Now, we're smarter as we 'fell' before.

Life is really unpredictable and we had gone thru it and still in the process of getting out of it. We are trying our best to move on but its not easy as hubby yet to find a stable job. We're so thankful to have our parents helping us but we cant always burden them with our financial problems. We're still looking out for the light at the end of the tunnel and praying hard everyday.

"To be happy, it doesnt mean everything has to be perfect".

hmmmm.....have u tried wiping it with detol or putting a bar of soup or even moth balls in your daughter's wardrobe? Or u can try my method. I bought Ambi Pur Mini Fresh that looks like leaf to hang it inside my wardrobe to get rid of the furniture smell. Dont buy this light green (vanilla) cos the smell is disappointing.

http://www.fairprice.com.sg/ProductDetails...D=0000011008024

Thanks. We're really pleased with the grout lines final results as really sweat like ****.

ya, this time round, I think we really planned our reno and we're also lucky that we only need min. reno which is the reason y we shortlisted this unit. We have gone thru actual reno once and we really dun wish to repeat our mistakes again. Our last reno was a major overhaul which not only exhausted our saving but we even took a reno loan. The past 3.5 yrs was living **** for us and the only way to slightly (yes slightly and not able to totally) overcome the situation was to sell our EM. We told ourselves that we would not take a reno loan for this new place and we would just get whatever is necessary first.

Wanted to custom made the rooms wardrobes but we cant afford it. So we bought from hdb furniture shops and took over 2 wardrobes left by sellers. If its 3.5yrs ago, we would definitely had thrown away the wardrobes and tv cabinets left by the sellers even if it was close to 10/10 condition. Now, we're smarter as we 'fell' before.

Life is really unpredictable and we had gone thru it and still in the process of getting out of it. We are trying our best to move on but its not easy as hubby yet to find a stable job. We're so thankful to have our parents helping us but we cant always burden them with our financial problems. We're still looking out for the light at the end of the tunnel and praying hard everyday.

Hi born_again,

Yeah, you really learn it the hard way, and thru your previous bad experience. As for me also wanted a WIW or custom made wardrobes, but i cannot afford so i also went for the neighbour furniture shop to source for a ready made one. I also pray for you, that your hubby can get a stable job okie. As the chinese saying, when the boat reaches dock, everything will be straight. Althought you are poor, but you are still happy

Thanks alot. Talking about WIW, I still prefer WIW and this is the 1st time that we dont have a WIW. Sob sob.

I love 'camping' in this renotalk as really learned alot. It was from this forum that i came to know that we could buy 2nd hand stuff from ebay, yahoo auction (now no more) and other online sites. I'm addicted hahahaha. So now, if I need anything, i'll search on the Internet first. Expensive and branded stuff doesnt mean its good and lasting. Something that's cheap can actually last u very long.

my eldest son has plenty of these animals that came in the form of an egg shell and he'll fix it and admire the animals. Over the years, his collection grows and I always wanted to get a display cabinet for him as displaying it on open shelf means collecting dust. My 2nd boy also had some Ben 10 figurines that he wanted to display. Search everywhere including those selling 2nd hand display cabinets on the net but none was suitable and some were pretty overpriced. Luckily we got the perfect Ikea display cabinet and here's the pic

displaycabinet.jpg

displaycabinet1.jpg

now also saving up to get another 2 for myself in MBR to display some of my own stuff like Winnie The Pooh collection,snoopy,etc :D

Edited by born_again

MBRbathroom-1.jpg

Very nice Glass vanity !

Sleek and nice !

Edited by forkie

Welcome to Hougang! I just shifted here in Dec 08. Situation quite similar to yours. Sold my 5rm D&B Sengkang unit (110 sqm) and moved in to a 4A unit (105sqm). Downgrade in size but upgrade in price. Haha!

oh really? but ur 5-room direct from HDB so got $ from the sales ma then u can fork out the high COV to yr seller but came with all the free 'gifts'. Good la.

btw, y the trade off since u got 4 kids right?

oh really? but ur 5-room direct from HDB so got $ from the sales ma then u can fork out the high COV to yr seller but came with all the free 'gifts'. Good la.

btw, y the trade off since u got 4 kids right?

To be nearer to my children's schools and also my previous place don't have amenities like provision shop or coffee shops within walking distance. Anyway old unit is 110 sqm. New unit is 105 sqm. So at least by getting a 4A unit, they dun't feel so cramped if I have gotten a 4S or 4NG unit instead.

Edited by tower

now we go into the kitchen, the only place given a 100% overhaul.

Our kitchen looks abit different as seldom see people do darker colour for top and lighter colour for bottom.

The messy kitchen

messykitchen.jpg

Rinnai hob and Ellane hood as Rinnai hood couldnt fit in as obstructed by the beam. Also done up the kitchen top with Black Glaxary granite. Love it so much!!! Its like "Or Kim"

Rinnaihob.jpg

born_again..

ermmz... i am also using the same colour concept as urs in my kitchen but no handles at all... ;)