MaCe 3 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 I met patrick yesterday, mine lagi even smaller job Dunno the cost yet, he will give me quote next week. But he say its a 2 week job and no problem to squeeze me in before year-end if I engage him. Nice friendly guy to talk to I oso need to go research hob & hood, but i got limitation of hob size coz I'm not hacking up the old wetworks. Just remove the old spoilt hob & plonk in new one. So other pple can consider brand, color, design...i first thing is look at the size (sigh). There is another old thread somewhere in this forum (under design/kitchen I think), 7 pages of comments on some hobs/hoods, u might wanna read read oso.BTW, Rinnai is having some hob+hood offers now, i picked up a brochure from an IMM shop which is also available on their website. Now i am looking thru. Then saw newspaper advert today that Techno having sale 2-4Nov. Then of coz i prob go Poh Joo too.hmm better to confirm early...he is realli realli packed....techno and techno gas same? then forget it.....me regretted getting it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Miu Miu 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 fifigal,which IMM shop u went to? Asia Excel or Hoe Kee? Thinking of going there during lunch time, my office nearby nia... I'm waiting for Patrick's final quotation too... But will his final quotation very detailed or just like the quotation when we initially asked him? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FifiGal 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 fifigal,which IMM shop u went to? Asia Excel or Hoe Kee? Thinking of going there during lunch time, my office nearby nia... I'm waiting for Patrick's final quotation too... But will his final quotation very detailed or just like the quotation when we initially asked him?Actually i forgot name of shop... went IMM for dinner with hubby then after dinner decide to walk walk see hood/hob. By that time, even SCC close liao. Think it was 2 shops away from SCC. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FifiGal 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 hmm better to confirm early...he is realli realli packed....techno and techno gas same? then forget it.....me regretted getting it.Most likely once the quotation come in & I make any clarifications needed...i'll try to chope him liao. Altho I normally prefer to get a few quotes first, I think this time i wun waste time - its small job plus enough good testimonies from various folks here.Ahhh..thanks for the alert, can save me an unnecessary trip, but can tell me more why not tecno/tecnogas ah? Advert on last page of one of the ST sections today.Actually Patrick advised me..hood in HDB oso not really help much coz the air is circulated back in instead of out, but i think got one is still better then none. I had quite a detailed discussion with him coz one of my problems is old greasy cabinet doors above the slim hood. ( then my MIL go scrub until paint come off ) Was wondering is it better to change to chimny type. Patrick suggest to use door with aluminium trimming & frosted glass for easy cleaning. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Miu Miu 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 Actually Patrick advised me..hood in HDB oso not really help much coz the air is circulated back in instead of out, but i think got one is still better then none. I had quite a detailed discussion with him coz one of my problems is old greasy cabinet doors above the slim hood. ( then my MIL go scrub until paint come off ) Was wondering is it better to change to chimny type. Patrick suggest to use door with aluminium trimming & frosted glass for easy cleaning.I, myself also think that hood doesnt help much but my kitchen cabinets is just abv my hob so no choice have to get one... Most likely, my hood will be built in my cabinets but duno if is good idea... means if i need to clean, i have to open the cabinet doors... like that will take up one space from my kitchen cabinets. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FifiGal 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 I, myself also think that hood doesnt help much but my kitchen cabinets is just abv my hob so no choice have to get one... Most likely, my hood will be built in my cabinets but duno if is good idea... means if i need to clean, i have to open the cabinet doors... like that will take up one space from my kitchen cabinets.If you mean getting slim hood, then there is still cabinet space above it, like mine now. And changing the filter sponge, no need to open cabinet. In any case, I'm sure u can ask patrick's advice Only problem is, in the long run, be prepared for greasy doors if u cook lot. that is why i ask his suggestion for another type of door which is easier to clean instead of the laminate/painted wood.if u like to discuss more on hood/hobs, maybe we can PM? Or else we hijack "ho bee website" to another topic..haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Miu Miu 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 Ok, pm u liao... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted November 3, 2007 Actually Patrick advised me..hood in HDB oso not really help much coz the air is circulated back in instead of out, but i think got one is still better then none. I had quite a detailed discussion with him coz one of my problems is old greasy cabinet doors above the slim hood. ( then my MIL go scrub until paint come off ) Was wondering is it better to change to chimny type. Patrick suggest to use door with aluminium trimming & frosted glass for easy cleaning.Slim Hood - during our search/shopping, what i was told (specs) all those SLIM hoods(non-chimney) type less suction power than chinmey types. some could be as much as 2 times. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Miu Miu 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2007 Haiz... Patrick did not note down the exact items after meet up & sent the final quotation. Then I also found out that Ah keong did not tell him the actual measurements of my kitchen cabinets & kitchen worktop. I thought Ah Keong will tell him then patiently wait for the quotation. Now have to change again & wait another 2 days... When asked Patrick if he can finished my reno by mid Jan, he said ok hope he is not simply juz said to make me feel eased. Hope that this not a bad start thou bound to have hiccups along the way... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted November 7, 2007 Haiz... Patrick did not note down the exact items after meet up & sent the final quotation. Then I also found out that Ah keong did not tell him the actual measurements of my kitchen cabinets & kitchen worktop. I thought Ah Keong will tell him then patiently wait for the quotation. Now have to change again & wait another 2 days... When asked Patrick if he can finished my reno by mid Jan, he said ok hope he is not simply juz said to make me feel eased. Hope that this not a bad start thou bound to have hiccups along the way...Sometimes he can miss out certain items - too busy lah.What we did is to add and wrote on the quotation what he miss out and he will retype everything again lor.nothing disastrous.dont worry too much lah...he said like dat to me also about the dead line.my reno job end up it's the tiles that causes the hiccup - manufacturer's fault , not his. But he still able to complete on time!!! for this part i realli !! !! !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihi 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 hi can some kind soul here pm me patrick contract. thanks a lot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hihi 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 hi can some kind soul here pm me patrick contract. thanks a lot.thanks MaCe. hear a lot of ho bee, hope they will match my need. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FifiGal 0 Report post Posted November 11, 2007 Haiz... Patrick did not note down the exact items after meet up & sent the final quotation. Then I also found out that Ah keong did not tell him the actual measurements of my kitchen cabinets & kitchen worktop. I thought Ah Keong will tell him then patiently wait for the quotation. Now have to change again & wait another 2 days... When asked Patrick if he can finished my reno by mid Jan, he said ok hope he is not simply juz said to make me feel eased. Hope that this not a bad start thou bound to have hiccups along the way...I juz came back from a short trip , checked my email and still no quote from patrick. More then 1 week liao. And no wonder... he is busy re-doing your quotation! LOL Come monday, I'll give him or Mrs Quek a call to check. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Miu Miu 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 I juz came back from a short trip , checked my email and still no quote from patrick. More then 1 week liao. And no wonder... he is busy re-doing your quotation! LOL Come monday, I'll give him or Mrs Quek a call to check.Patrick still hvn send me e quotation... I also will call tdy... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 Patrick still hvn send me e quotation... I also will call tdy...you guys/gals better confirm with him early....(if you have decided to use hobee).cos i heard his schedule is already packed all the way till CNY liao. bigger projects he might not be accepting. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites