ya. when you give and take. patrick will also give and take when the time comes. he is a gentleman, no worries.

but when one tries to be NGEOW here and there, the old saying goes - the door swing both ways lor.

He quoted me abt $1400 for the overlay for the 4 walls of the toilet and $450 for the floor. How would i know what kind of price range for the tiles can i choose? I asking this becos im not trying to shortchange patrick but i would not want to over stretch my budget if i happen to select a **** expensive tile. Base on this quote? what price range can i choose?

that means already $2k liao - might as well hack+redo.

he should have told what range to look for - usually $2.50 psf but you need to ask him.

patrick quote me $3 range... so quite anumber of tiles to chose for.

jus give patrick a call... to ask.

Edited by bernice

that means already $2k liao - might as well hack+redo.

he should have told what range to look for - usually $2.50 psf but you need to ask him.

If i hack and redo, i will need to apply for HDB permit and also extra money for the water-proofing..furthermore i might have a risk of complaint from neighbours if the the proofing is not done properly..Due to also budget constraint, i will just overlay unless patrick check and verify not advisable to overlay on exiting tiles..

aiya who not budget constraint?

hdb permit doesnt cost a cent. waterproofing is included and warranty for 5 yrs.

overlaying is machiam half the job done yet it still cost thousands.

if you really wanna save, go for epoxy spraying, roughly 1k for 1 toilet, it's also acts as a additonal layer of waterproofing.

general consensus for toilets - either hack+redo or dont touch it all.

I did nothing for my common toilet.

aiya who not budget constraint?

hdb permit doesnt cost a cent. waterproofing is included and warranty for 5 yrs.

overlaying is machiam half the job done yet it still cost thousands.

if you really wanna save, go for epoxy spraying, roughly 1k for 1 toilet, it's also acts as a additonal layer of waterproofing.

general consensus for toilets - either hack+redo or dont touch it all.

I did nothing for my common toilet.

Then do you know whats the reason some ppl chose to overlay?

only reason I can think of - is mis-informed.

I was intro by friends to do overlaying too.

many contractors/id I spoke to(while shortlisting for reno) DOES not recommend overlaying.

some even told me might as well dont touch it all - if really want to save cos no point spending thousands yet having the risk of tiles cracking and popping up 5 yrs down the road.

another cost saving method - cement screeding - you might want to go find out.

I drop the idea after my hdb officer told me what happenned to some houses.

ho bee is a contractor

they dun provide ID services

but then again, what is your definition of ID services?

the only difference to me between ID and contractor is the provision of design

many confuse contractors with sub-contractors :notti: :notti:

ho bee is a contractor

they dun provide ID services

but then again, what is your definition of ID services?

the only difference to me between ID and contractor is the provision of design

many confuse contractors with sub-contractors :notti: :notti:

ya, if you already know WHAT you want your house to look like - there is no need for a ID.

Some people overlay is because they have a new flat from HDB and doesn't like the tiles that come in the toilet.

They are NOT allowed to hack, so can overlay.

But if able to live with it for 3 years, then save the $$ and then 3 yrs to redo toilet.

Like most of the forummers here, am looking for a renovation contractor.

I'll be getting the hse end Oct/early Nov, so now should be the right time looking for Patrick right (since he's so busy)?

Hope someone can help to my queries:

Does anyone been to his AMK office? Is that the carpentry workshop/factory? Why they don't have sample tiles in their office and we have to go hunting them ourself? Does that save alot of $ (for us)? Does those companies have nice and fanciful ceramics tiles? Or just some simple 'patterned' ones?

Does Patrick have alot of regular workers (sub-contractors)? Since he has so many projects going on at the same time, will he uses 'ad-hoc' workers? If yes, then quality will be compromise, right?

Those who have finished job, was it delayed? By how long? Weeks/months? Coz I'm renting a place to stay and wait for the reno work to finish, can't really afford months of delay..

Thanks in advance for any reply.. :notti:

I'll be getting the hse end Oct/early Nov, so now should be the right time looking for Patrick right (since he's so busy)?

ya, at least he should have enough time to schedule his works for you.

Does anyone been to his AMK office? Is that the carpentry workshop/factory? Why they don't have sample tiles in their office and we have to go hunting them ourself? Does that save alot of $ (for us)? Does those companies have nice and fanciful ceramics tiles? Or just some simple 'patterned' ones?

his office mainly for paperworks nia, not showroom. factory is in sugneikadut i think.

he is a old bird in the industy and he knows NO MATTER how much samples he stocks, the customer die die sure want something else, thats why he let the customer to have the liberty of choosing any tiles any where!

Does Patrick have alot of regular workers (sub-contractors)? Since he has so many projects going on at the same time, will he uses 'ad-hoc' workers? If yes, then quality will be compromise, right?

havent seen any adhoc workers. quality is assure, rectification will be DONE until you happy, thats why his IRONCLAD reputation.

Those who have finished job, was it delayed? By how long? Weeks/months? Coz I'm renting a place to stay and wait for the reno work to finish, can't really afford months of delay..

you need to give him a time frame or a deadline, so far have yet to hear anyone's reno being delayed.

good luck!

patrick is a good and very responsible contractor. He and his workers is very good. but they are working day to night so can't expect much when taking care of ur new stuffs.

now i m in dilemna now as my fridge base too big and afraid my fridge door open will knock onto the island top... haiz...

but trust me although he is busy, he will drop by a few times to check out the progress.

ya, if you already know WHAT you want your house to look like - there is no need for a ID.

Hi Applefreak & Mace, thank you for the feedback.

Ya I will need design services.

I not very good in this area so rather leave it to the professional. :thumbs up: