MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 u know ah... from the start I just had this feeling that we will end up taking Ho Bee... after going to 8 contractors, we still end up choosing Ho Bee. Hope that things turn out well and we are not wrong in judging him at face value that he is a good contractor. Very frank about the costs involved as well. We have a good feeling about this reno... you wont regret getting hobee, especially when you read up all those HORROR stories in this forum.they wont happen to us(hobee customers).for carpentary, try to buy off the shelve tv console,cabinets....customising EVERYTHING is going to cost you a lot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2007 hi maceyeah thanks for the advice...i also think that i have to buy off the shelf. or do without it until i get my next bonus, then engage a carpenter to custom make all my shelves and cupboards.by the way did u guys box up ur sewerage pipes? i want to... and it's costing me freaking $1k to do it!! ahhhhhhh! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 hi maceyeah thanks for the advice...i also think that i have to buy off the shelf. or do without it until i get my next bonus, then engage a carpenter to custom make all my shelves and cupboards.by the way did u guys box up ur sewerage pipes? i want to... and it's costing me freaking $1k to do it!! ahhhhhhh!no box up for me. have had a friend whose sewage pipe dunno burst or leak...end up must tear up the box and part of his kitchen cabinet in order for the towncouncil to replace the pipe.. Not advisable for old houses imho. New houses ok lor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 no box up for me. have had a friend whose sewage pipe dunno burst or leak...end up must tear up the box and part of his kitchen cabinet in order for the towncouncil to replace the pipe.. Not advisable for old houses imho. New houses ok lor..actually it's very rare that those big sewage pipes need repairing, stayed in HDB for decades and never needed to touch those big pipes. similarly never had any neighbours or hdb relatives needed to repair theirs.personally, i rather bear the extra cost of tearing up the box and rebuilding it for an event that may never happen during my period of occupancy, than to face the fat ugly pipes everyday staring right back at me and reminding me of my big waist as well hahajust my personal view Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 actually it's very rare that those big sewage pipes need repairing, stayed in HDB for decades and never needed to touch those big pipes. similarly never had any neighbours or hdb relatives needed to repair theirs.personally, i rather bear the extra cost of tearing up the box and rebuilding it for an event that may never happen during my period of occupancy, than to face the fat ugly pipes everyday staring right back at me and reminding me of my big waist as well hahajust my personal view ya, up to individual. want pretty then must have money. even my rubbish chute is OPEN (not hidden within cabinets) - hygenie purpose. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 wah Mace... then i quite Pei Fu you... can live with open piping and all that... I very "ngiau" wan... in fact the bulk of my reno planning is WHERE oh WHERE can i hide my pipes / trunking / wiring. I think Patrick was quite amused about that. Anyway, personal experience living in landed for 15 years, where all the pipes and trunking were concealed.. so far no problems that were serious enough for my pipes / wirings to be hacked out to repair. But then again, one of my frenz kena air con pipe leak shortly after he moved in!I guess we gotta take our chance! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 wah Mace... then i quite Pei Fu you... can live with open piping and all that... I very "ngiau" wan... in fact the bulk of my reno planning is WHERE oh WHERE can i hide my pipes / trunking / wiring. I think Patrick was quite amused about that. Anyway, personal experience living in landed for 15 years, where all the pipes and trunking were concealed.. so far no problems that were serious enough for my pipes / wirings to be hacked out to repair. But then again, one of my frenz kena air con pipe leak shortly after he moved in!I guess we gotta take our chance!poor pple like me got to be practical and be prepared for unforseen disasters(change electricwire/waterpipe/aircon). everything all OPEN...hehe those that got $ to spend of cos don mind spending 2 times more should there be any leaking. box up = $dismantle = $box up again = $ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 of course I mind!! But maybe it's a matter of priorities... hubby and I have decided to forgo the carpentry and spend the money on changing the windows and boxing up the pipes etc... we got limited $$ to spend... so it's either or... haiz... at first we wanted carpentry to hide the pipes so that we can "open" up if got problem but now we just use gypsum to box up... cheaper... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 8, 2007 at first we wanted carpentry to hide the pipes so that we can "open" up if got problem but now we just use gypsum to box up... cheaper... cheaper better lor, cos anyway should the sewage pipe leakes....they will still remove your "open door cabinet" to replace the pipe....same thing happen to my fren(curse and swear). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2007 wah liao... okie.. anyway we will just keep fingers crossed that no leakage occurs. so many things to worry about.can i just ask... anyone who used Ho Bee need to engage P.E.? I called HBD and they say it is OP (Qualified Person) to do some safety thing. And they said it's up to contractor to provide. I wonder if the pricing is standard or I can source for cheaper outside or what. I was quoted SG500 for windows and SG800 for hacking wall. That's just the PE Fee alone! not the actual windows / hacking itself... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 9, 2007 wah liao... okie.. anyway we will just keep fingers crossed that no leakage occurs. so many things to worry about.can i just ask... anyone who used Ho Bee need to engage P.E.? I called HBD and they say it is OP (Qualified Person) to do some safety thing. And they said it's up to contractor to provide. I wonder if the pricing is standard or I can source for cheaper outside or what. I was quoted SG500 for windows and SG800 for hacking wall. That's just the PE Fee alone! not the actual windows / hacking itself...me also kena same PE thingy....$500.00 to hack wall - i gave up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2007 Hi Mace! ahhaha... mine also $500 to hack wall. but to replace windows also need QP of $800. So altogether is $1300. so sad.but my cousin in law who is an ID says usually QP charge $500 for checking entire house. So i need to call Patrick and check. Anyone else got any experience with this QP thing?anyway... i wanted to start the reno liao... but no response from Patrick leh. then hubby called Mrs Quek.. she say that she got no time to respond yet... haiz, looks like patrick is really busy... i really hope i can start soon, but dunno how lah. like that.anyway she also mentioned that we can go Clementi to see partick's works. does it belong to anyone here in the forum?by the way is there any kind soul who wanna show off their beautiful home by done patrick to me and my hubby? I would love to be invited and take a look... and will return the favour next time too... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chicky 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2007 Anyone did know how much Ho Bee charges for flooring? I have my own lobang for marble & ceramic tiles but was wondering how much he charges for the tiling only. Thinking of asking Ho Bee to do my carpentry only but is it costly? Ya, if anyone is willing to show off their homes done by Ho Bee, it will be great!Btw, what is a PE and a QP? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted May 14, 2007 Anyone did know how much Ho Bee charges for flooring? I have my own lobang for marble & ceramic tiles but was wondering how much he charges for the tiling only. Thinking of asking Ho Bee to do my carpentry only but is it costly? Ya, if anyone is willing to show off their homes done by Ho Bee, it will be great!Btw, what is a PE and a QP?do give hobee a call to get a exact quote based on your area.hobee's price is on the average never expensive.PE and QP - all I know about such professional pple is that they come to your house sign and stamp on a piece of paper and charges you a few hundreds for it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lukecas 0 Report post Posted May 22, 2007 True to what the good people here described. They have good after sales service. I guessed thats where they hold their reputation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites