blue_diamond

Blue & Pink Love Nest

Went check out TV @ Best Denki Vivo

hubby and I checking out the Plasma TV cos it seems like if we getting anyting bigger than 42", LCD doesn't have the same clarity as Plasma especially on the motion pictures.

We were also told that a rough gauge for viewing distance from TV

50" TV about 3 metres.

32" TV about 2 metres.

Anything nearer will result in TV to big for viewing =)

Is this true?

NEVER BUY PLASMA!!!!!

they are all clearing plasma stocks now at dirt cheap price after LCD getting popular!

Plasma consume more energy!u can feels the heat if u stand near the TV and

u will burn a hole in ur pocket monthly when your utility bills come! ;)

but when i watch tv on LCD for too long, my eyes very tired n pain. Anyone share the same after effect as me?

Cos it is like staring at a PC monitor

whereas Plasma really soothing for the eye. this is one of the pros Plasma have over LCD.

yeah i agree LCD more energy saving...but....... :unsure:

but when i watch tv on LCD for too long, my eyes very tired n pain. Anyone share the same after effect as me?

Cos it is like staring at a PC monitor

whereas Plasma really soothing for the eye. this is one of the pros Plasma have over LCD.

yeah i agree LCD more energy saving...but....... :unsure:

ME!!! My current LCD also giving my eyes a bad time. Plus the fact I do not watch TV long hours.

I got panasonic plasma as the color is good compared to my current LCD.

Actually my LCD also quite hot after a while leh...since we usually do not watch tv for super long hours, I guess plasma should be ok? I saw Kuro has very low power consumption units, but price not cheap leh...

blue, when u go look at TVs, pls ask them to turn on chan 5/8 for u to watch, not those sample disc nor blu ray disc. im sure u watch free to air more than blu ray dvd right? i can frankly tell u that for all big screens, chan 5/8 quality loses out to my current CRT tv, 29". why? aspect ratio of viewing. the picture from chan 5 is sent in a certain ratio. when u buy 42", u have to resample image to fit that screen. so if u stretch something out, of cos u lose a little quality.

LG? i bought the new LG model. model in my sig below. i pick that cos when viewing the sets at courts, even sony bravia with chan 5 looks like ****. in the end i pick one to my budget, and looks decent among all. and pls keep in mind there's a optimum viewing distance for watching TV. the same idea from movies apply here. would u want to watch from first row from screen or middle? so if u think 42" is nice cos its big, pls consider your viewing distance. too many ppl have been buying bigger tvs cos they think its more.. shiok. even i kinda regret getting 42" now, a 40" or 37" will be good enough too.

hope this helps.

Thanks aubrey...it sure it a big help...learn something new again..:)

So we going to have a mini gathering at yr place this sat?:)

ME!!! My current LCD also giving my eyes a bad time. Plus the fact I do not watch TV long hours.

I got panasonic plasma as the color is good compared to my current LCD.

Actually my LCD also quite hot after a while leh...since we usually do not watch tv for super long hours, I guess plasma should be ok? I saw Kuro has very low power consumption units, but price not cheap leh...

haha...i still tot i was the one with tat eye pain symptom....

u mean Kuro bought a LCD...but price not cheap, or a Plasma, price not cheap?

I was at best denki,

in fact a 50" plasma still about 4999 for a Panasonic. Of cos, compared to 52" LCD, which will cost more than 10k, plasma still cheaper. And those like Hitachi, fully Made in Japan, also not cheap.

Brands like SONY, also assembled in Malaysia le.....now very few Fully made in Korea and Japan le...

I also don't sit in front of the TV for long, the most is 7-10pm?

so i guess electric bill wont shoot high bah.

Kuro is the plasma range from pioeer. they had stopped tv prodcution if I am not wrong. but the colors really more superior .

My panasonic plasma is 42" cos I do not want y kiddos to wear specs like me :( so smaller better, but 32" too small! lol..

I also sit in front of the tv for 2 or 3 hrs, I think it's acceptable unless we have folks at home glued to TV lah.

rondy, cannot say dont buy plasma. to be honest, an advocated by makers all over, plasma is actually better than LCD for watching tv. lcd, if u notice, is more for computer screens. but of cos technology is advancing so lcd is better and can handle tv i.e fast moving images non stop. and of cos the same principle applies to plasma. technology has advanced and with the go green movement, plasma tvs now have the technology to be less energy consuming.

so there's a give and take here.

LCD

less power consumption = cheaper bills but image quality may lose out to plasma

Plasma

higher power consumption = better tv viewing experience but slightly more ex bills (pls be aware that plasma is prone to burn in, meaning a static image will get burned onto the screen if left on for too long. e.g: chan 5 logo on top right is a still image but dont worry, technology has improved, not much of such issues anymore! plus there's commercials all the time, no image is left still on the screen for too long)

if u touch both LCD and plasma panels, plasma is always hotter but to me its acceptable hotness. use this as a rough gauge to see if there's energy saving technology found in the tv. esp helpful in those places like audio house /courts etc since tvs are left running the whole time.

pinkie

yes there is a minumum viewing distance. just like my analogy of the movie screens earlier. can check this site for more on viewing distance. feel free to drop in any qns for me since i have already done TONS of research to be able to spew out all this to u now. plus it helps that i like gadgets and technology stuff.

fannie

i think the reason why LCD is giving your eyes strain like pinkie is due the screen brightness. i believe your LCD tv is bought some time ago before this new function is implemented. it can be found on the ipod touch, some mobile phones etc. there's a sensor that detects your environment and makes the necessary changes to screen brightness for you to prevent your eyes from too much glaring images. :)

if u are buying tv, just ask yourself what is your budget first, and work from there cos there's tons of tvs out there and when i was buying mine i was blue in the face from looking at so many tvs. try not to be swayed too much by sales pitch unless that guy is sincere. from budget, work out the size u are looking at too big. dont buy too big or too small. a good size taking into consideration your viewing distance is good. too near gives u headache, too far not shiok anymore.

blue

not really a gathering cos i doubt i can move back yet to be able to host a decent get together. its more for those who want to see to steal some ideas (not much to steal.. i am doing little carpentry) and perhaps for those in bugis or town and would like to drop by! the actual party with uncle will be at a later time.

Edited by aubrey

Kuro is the plasma range from pioeer. they had stopped tv prodcution if I am not wrong. but the colors really more superior .

My panasonic plasma is 42" cos I do not want y kiddos to wear specs like me :( so smaller better, but 32" too small! lol..

I also sit in front of the tv for 2 or 3 hrs, I think it's acceptable unless we have folks at home glued to TV lah.

Oops...so dui lian....thought Kuro is a person....

Blue diamond, maybe you can also consider Plasma if don't watch TV for long.

cos LCD though nicer, sleeker in design....but no good for eyes....

and yeah, 32" looks small. hubby wanted get one for his gaming...but he say small...not shiok to play.

so looking for someting below 1k, 37"-42"

Aubrey,

Good info on the tvs, thanks for sharing.

I think i will get my hubby to come and read your thread before we go buy LCD during the GSS or PCShow.

He is eyeing the sony one as he says samsung colors are too vibrant for his eyes. I know nuts but just watch .. hahaha

rondy, cannot say dont buy plasma. to be honest, an advocated by makers all over, plasma is actually better than LCD for watching tv. lcd, if u notice, is more for computer screens. but of cos technology is advancing so lcd is better and can handle tv i.e fast moving images non stop. and of cos the same principle applies to plasma. technology has advanced and with the go green movement, plasma tvs now have the technology to be less energy consuming.

so there's a give and take here.

LCD

less power consumption = cheaper bills but image quality may lose out to plasma

Plasma

higher power consumption = better tv viewing experience but slightly more ex bills (pls be aware that plasma is prone to burn in, meaning a static image will get burned onto the screen if left on for too long. e.g: chan 5 logo on top right is a still image but dont worry, technology has improved, not much of such issues anymore! plus there's commercials all the time, no image is left still on the screen for too long)

if u touch both LCD and plasma panels, plasma is always hotter but to me its acceptable hotness. use this as a rough gauge to see if there's energy saving technology found in the tv. esp helpful in those places like audio house /courts etc since tvs are left running the whole time.

pinkie

yes there is a minumum viewing distance. just like my analogy of the movie screens earlier. can check this site for more on viewing distance. feel free to drop in any qns for me since i have already done TONS of research to be able to spew out all this to u now. plus it helps that i like gadgets and technology stuff.

fannie

i think the reason why LCD is giving your eyes strain like pinkie is due the screen brightness. i believe your LCD tv is bought some time ago before this new function is implemented. it can be found on the ipod touch, some mobile phones etc. there's a sensor that detects your environment and makes the necessary changes to screen brightness for you to prevent your eyes from too much glaring images. :)

if u are buying tv, just ask yourself what is your budget first, and work from there cos there's tons of tvs out there and when i was buying mine i was blue in the face from looking at so many tvs. try not to be swayed too much by sales pitch unless that guy is sincere. from budget, work out the size u are looking at too big. dont buy too big or too small. a good size taking into consideration your viewing distance is good. too near gives u headache, too far not shiok anymore.

blue

not really a gathering cos i doubt i can move back yet to be able to host a decent get together. its more for those who want to see to steal some ideas (not much to steal.. i am doing little carpentry) and perhaps for those in bugis or town and would like to drop by! the actual party with uncle will be at a later time.

Aubrey...really very informative...think i really got to weight on which i shld get liao...

My wifey and i will be at the temple tomorrow morning...so just tot of dropping by before the reno start to see some carpentry as well....if it ok with u...:)

U can PM me yr address if u dun mind...also good to meet up with Familyof4..hehehehe:)

Aubrey...really very informative...think i really got to weight on which i shld get liao...

My wifey and i will be at the temple tomorrow morning...so just tot of dropping by before the reno start to see some carpentry as well....if it ok with u...:)

U can PM me yr address if u dun mind...also good to meet up with Familyof4..hehehehe:)

roughly what time will u guys be there? I went pray pray last week le...so this week go collect my gal's DS :) we are like orgainising outing leh :P

Pai sey ah...what is DS huh?:) i was thinking maybe ard 11-12pm..how abt u?i am flexi...:)

rondy, dont think so la, think both are hardier than that! and moreover, the figures vary from source to source.. i hope my tv can last me for at least 5 years min. :)

apples, blue: try to watch the actual before deciding. tell them to play chan 5/8 for u. no point watching those sample clips. if they refuse then just walk away. i just basically filtered the geek speak for u guys but if u need more info, let me know. :]

about my house, yes pls feel free to come! it may be a mess tmr since the granite and s/s backing is due to be up. i will PM rondy and blue address now, fannie, pls come anytime u want. i should be home the whole day.

Pai sey ah...what is DS huh?:) i was thinking maybe ard 11-12pm..how abt u?i am flexi...:)

Nintendo DS Lite :) My gal's weekend buddy lah! haha...

I will be going around 1pm. cos my boy needs to have his porridge first :P i PM u my contact? maybe we keep in touch via sms?