sohck

City Living

Ai seh !

Your place is progress well !

Cant wait to see your laminate floor !

The box up looking pretty good.

and ur living floor is like wow ! Really sparkling clean ! Marble ah ? Very nice leh

I can't wait to see the laminate floor too! Think I will drop by on Sunday to take some pictures to share with this forum.

Yes, actually wanted to lay homogeneous tiles but everyone is against it. So will keep the marble (by previous owner) and polish it when everything is done.

The thing about your reno approval by HDB - it makes a different when you (the house owner) call HDB. They don't care much about contractors calling them.

I can't wait to see the laminate floor too! Think I will drop by on Sunday to take some pictures to share with this forum.

Yes, actually wanted to lay homogeneous tiles but everyone is against it. So will keep the marble (by previous owner) and polish it when everything is done.

The thing about your reno approval by HDB - it makes a different when you (the house owner) call HDB. They don't care much about contractors calling them.

Yah keep the marble is good la. Got good value leh ! Then nice oso ma !

Hmmm I was supposed to call the HDB too but my ID say say say oso no give me the number to call sia.

The guy even brought a broom to clean up the place before he does the installation. Professional right? And a closer look - it is a new broom!

DSC_00150015-1.jpg

Ya . They brought 1 to my house during installation too . Rem to ask for the lifetime warranty card from them .

Thank for the reminder. I will ask them for it when I hand them the cheque.

Ok, the laminate flooring is up!

The Supreme guy did a good job in installing the laminate flooring. He took pain to stagger the laminate, so the patterns on the laminate looks a little more unpredictable.

Unfortunately the painter and electrician were in on Saturday and they dirtied the floor, leaving lots of footprints so it is hard to check if there are scratches.

Here's the master bedroom

DSC_00010001-2.jpg

DSC_00030003-2.jpg

DSC_00040004-2.jpg

Edited by sohck

the flooring looks good. makes me feel likt doing our rooms too... but no budget already... the reno cost is just mounting! can only repolish the flooring...

Hi sohck,

Glad to see your reno has been progressing well...looking forward to see more of your completed reno pics. :)

Some questions for a beginner like me,

1. Why do you choose to separately find your floor laminate contractor to do instead of getting them from your ID? Is it cheaper that way?

2. How much does your ID charge you for carpentry? (cos majority of my reno will be carpentry). Do recommend if you have any good carpenters in mind? Am also trying to read up on this forum and shortlisting some ID/contractors. Tks in advance.

Hi sohck,

Glad to see your reno has been progressing well...looking forward to see more of your completed reno pics. :)

Some questions for a beginner like me,

1. Why do you choose to separately find your floor laminate contractor to do instead of getting them from your ID? Is it cheaper that way?

2. How much does your ID charge you for carpentry? (cos majority of my reno will be carpentry). Do recommend if you have any good carpenters in mind? Am also trying to read up on this forum and shortlisting some ID/contractors. Tks in advance.

Hi joseeng,

1. We decided on Supreme laminate before we decided on the ID. The Supreme guy told us that he could work with our ID/contractors and that he is giving us a price that we can't get from contractor, if we agree not to share the price with other people. Also, [at that time when we signed up, things might be different now] you could not get lifetime warranty from Supreme unless you signed directly with them. You get only 15 years warranty if you purchase Supreme AC5 through an ID/contractor.

On hindsight, it is better to get the laminate through the ID/contractor. This way, you won't have to worry about the workers damaging the laminate (since the ID/contractor) has the responsiblity of ensuring everything is perfect during handover. Moreover, the part about better price than getting from ID/contractors is probably not true.

2. If you are mainly doing carpentry, it is worthwhile considering a contractor that has a carpentry factory. I have a contact that I can PM you later (don't have it with me yet).

the flooring looks good. makes me feel likt doing our rooms too... but no budget already... the reno cost is just mounting! can only repolish the flooring...

Actually got more pictures. This morning left home hurriedly for a meeting. Later when I reach home will post the laminate for the other two bedrooms (different design).

Hi joseeng,

1. We decided on Supreme laminate before we decided on the ID. The Supreme guy told us that he could work with our ID/contractors and that he is giving us a price that we can't get from contractor, if we agree not to share the price with other people. Also, [at that time when we signed up, things might be different now] you could not get lifetime warranty from Supreme unless you signed directly with them. You get only 15 years warranty if you purchase Supreme AC5 through an ID/contractor.

On hindsight, it is better to get the laminate through the ID/contractor. This way, you won't have to worry about the workers damaging the laminate (since the ID/contractor) has the responsiblity of ensuring everything is perfect during handover. Moreover, the part about better price than getting from ID/contractors is probably not true.

2. If you are mainly doing carpentry, it is worthwhile considering a contractor that has a carpentry factory. I have a contact that I can PM you later (don't have it with me yet).

Tks for your valuable information. Will be waiting for your PM then. :)

Bedroom 2. Colour of laminate is Peal Ash but using the same skirting as MBR.

DSC_00050005-2.jpg

Edited by sohck