Mimi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 Mimi.. what about the other items? Hi Pink Petter and Mrs Piglet Thanks for the reply Other items not known yet so not sure My kitchen cabinet is 20 feet, think normal type (old hdb flat type) Anyone has worked with Ah Fatt before? Thanks a lots Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 Hi Mimi, welcome!! I think maybe u share with us what u were quoted by Ah Fatt la... If what he quoted is more expensive den what most of us got from Uncle Soon, den we'd know mah.. Offhand u say these prices without saying the dimensions we can't help much also... But I still think the best is really just meet up Ah Soon la, but he's real real bz at the moment.. Anyways good luck in ur search.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 To be fair, uncle is terribly busy yesterday. He was at my unit only at around 7pm when I called him at least 4 times to ask him on reno matters. I believed he flew many aeroplanes yesterday as he's really terribly busy (from the various background noises I heard over the phone). If Ah Fatt's quote is not competitive, it's always better to go back to uncle. Alternatively, you can send the quote to one of us who's currently having the reno done by Uncle. We can always pass him your quotation and ask him to look at it when we meet him. Hope that helps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 He will be busy this morning too. He wanted to bring the HDB officer to my place today, explain in detail what he wanted to do to the wall and how he is going to go about with it. How will the shifting of the meters etc...hoping to help expedite the approval as the wall is really delaying the whole process... Give uncle more time...he is overstretched. Like mentioned, get the quote from Ah Fatt, give uncle a call and check with him. Hope he can give you something better. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Metalsubzero 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 Uncle really very very busy sia.. Wondering if he can cope with all the works he's taking up.. I remember he told me May quite ok, but turned out he seemed to got more business after our 1st 2 meetings for the month of May.. I think give him some more time to respond to u, if you can't wait den maybe can try looking for others lor.. I heard Mr Yeak is not bad too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 Hi Pink Petter and Mrs Piglet Thanks for the reply Other items not known yet so not sure My kitchen cabinet is 20 feet, think normal type (old hdb flat type) Anyone has worked with Ah Fatt before? Thanks a lots If its 20ft total for top n bottom, then it comes up to $170pfr for the carpentry. I think its a little high. Why not do it like what others suggest, go straight to Uncle and ask him to re-quote? I think he shd be able to give a much better rate. R u in a hurry to get the reno done? Judging from how much biz he has, i think it may take u quite a while b4 u'll be able to meet up with him. My coll's MIL house also undergoing reno with him now wor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 June is a very good month for Uncle cuz he got more than 20 residential projects on hand ... not to mention that he's also incharge of doing rectification works for HDB and he also go commercial projects on hand .... You need to check with him whether his schedule permits .... Initially i also wanted to do it in June but given his then schedule, we decided to bring forward to May instead Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mimi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 Hi all This is what i was quoted Platform in living hall. 120 X 360 cm. $750.00 2 Plastering both toilet ceiling & kitchen only). $500.00 3 Kitchen cabinet 17 ft. $3,400 4 Solid surface. $1,530 5 Dismantle & clear kitchen cabinet. $400.00 6 Solid surface plus change all hanger & alter kitchen cabinet for hood. $2,500 7 Over lay kitchen wall tiles. $1,944.00 8 Kitchen wall tiles along master bedroom & bath room 1 & 2. $1,512.00 9 Debris chute suspended kitchen cabinet. $450.00 10 Re-install kitchen & one toilet wiring. $500.00 11 Living hall add one lighting point. $50.00 12 Living hall & master bedroom toilet floor tiles. $3,028.00 13 Dismantle living & master bedroom laminate floor. $800.00 14 Construct five pillar plus four feet bench in living hall. $1,250.00 15 Master bedroom toilet wall tiles. $1,300.00 16 Master bedroom toilet floor tiles. $400.00 17 Hack & plaster back hollow part in master bedroom toilet & kitchen wall. $400.00 18 Install one wash basin. $60.00 19 Install one toilet bowl. $120.00 20 Install sink. $120.00 21 Cabinet for seal master bedroom toilet pipe. $910.00 22 Two lighting point. $100.00 23 Mirror above wash basin. $150.00 24 Ventilation fan. $300.00 25 Stainless steel pipe in master bedroom toilet. $300.00 26 Shower screen. $600.00 27 Over lay kitchen floor tiles. $1,100.00 28 Plastering kitchen, master bedroom & two toilet ceiling only. $500.00 29 Paint kitchen, master bedroom & two toilet ceiling only. $400.00 30 Install L box in master bedroom. $650.00 31 Supply & install eight lighting point. $400.00 32 Sun shade plaster roll to lay over master bedroom wardrobe mirror. $300.00 TOTAL $21,394.00 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 at a quick glance the plastering price seems reasonable but some items like the installation of sanitary fittings are inflated. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 at a quick glance the plastering price seems reasonable but some items like the installation of sanitary fittings are inflated. Agree. Why don't you call Uncle tomorrow to sort it out. Some of the items are the same as mine (you can refer to the floor area and chinese quotation on my blog). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 I think the elect points are also on a high side. Call uncle and inform him. Even ID's elect points they don't usually charge so high. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mimi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 Anyone can give me Ah Soon New no? Cos i tried calling his no, but ...is no longer in use Kanna Shock guess i am quite dao mei search high and low for a good price contractor was so happy to find Ah Soon but felt so disappointed, price is like ID price.... if i alreadypay him then, hp not in use, then die somemore i taking a reno loan sobsob Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 PM u le mimi. also shared with u what's wrong with uncle's hp. Others who are reading this dun worry, uncle didnt' run away. He is still very much contactable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 agreed with Ivy, sanitary fittings are inflated. I think plastering is on the high side too, since u only doing ceiling plastering (btw, r u double quoted on item 2 and 28?). Painting also too high, my entire 4A was only $900. Uncle throws in some lighting points FOC when i did false ceiling, maybe can negotiate on the electrical portion? Ur kitchen cabinet is top+down = 17ft or top+down=34ft? i think familyof4 mentioned that Uncle's hp is having some problem. PM her for the temp num to reach uncle ok? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mimi 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2009 agreed with Ivy, sanitary fittings are inflated. I think plastering is on the high side too, since u only doing ceiling plastering (btw, r u double quoted on item 2 and 28?). Painting also too high, my entire 4A was only $900. Uncle throws in some lighting points FOC when i did false ceiling, maybe can negotiate on the electrical portion? Ur kitchen cabinet is top+down = 17ft or top+down=34ft? i think familyof4 mentioned that Uncle's hp is having some problem. PM her for the temp num to reach uncle ok? Thanks all for e concern .I manage to talk to ah soon. He say will call me when he a free. I think ah huatt or alan really quote too high. A mirror cost 150? For workmanship.we told him we have a budget yet he still quote me like those I'd.my kitchen cabinet is only 17 feet, cannot be 34feet cos it hdb. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites