kthc

New Home In Sembawang

hi kthc, we are doing a suspended tv console too and the height of the top of the console is 49 cm from floor, the bottom is 20 cm from the floor...:)

Hey Bon07,

Thanks. Wife initially wanted the top to be 24" (approx 60cm) and I managed to bargain down to 22" (approx 55cm), although I wanted 20". Will use your post to tell my wife that I'm normal :D :D She thinks its already too low liao.

Saw your sig that you are are looking for coffee table and chairs. Have you tried to check out S&C Furniture? Only thing is you'll have use catalogs to choose your furniture but when I was there, May (lady boss), was very helpful to recommend and give suggestions on which design/item is better. Price wise is a huge difference from the 'branded' stores, yet you can find similar looking stuff in the catalogs.

Edited by kthc

Angel, managed to drop by Northpt, the Lychee wine is $24, got grape and I think apple flavor too.

Yoz, just saw this post. Thanks for helping mi check out the price! :D Think will try to make a trip there some day to take a look at it. :)

Hey Bon07,

Thanks. Wife initially wanted the top to be 24" (approx 60cm) and I managed to bargain down to 22" (approx 55cm), although I wanted 20". Will use your post to tell my wife that I'm normal :D :D She thinks its already too low liao.

Saw your sig that you are are looking for coffee table and chairs. Have you tried to check out S&C Furniture? Only thing is you'll have use catalogs to choose your furniture but when I was there, May (lady boss), was very helpful to recommend and give suggestions on which design/item is better. Price wise is a huge difference from the 'branded' stores, yet you can find similar looking stuff in the catalogs.

hihi...initially when i received the detailed drawings, i tot my console design is very low too and felt uncomfortable....and so when i went home, i went to my bro's room which has an Ikea low tv console and its console top is around 45 cm high....so i think should be ok... maybe this is the so-called contemporary bah...but i more into practicality...

and so to clear my doubt, i went to Massimmo's website just now and their consoles are 50cm high....so i guess its really contemporary factor...so i think 55 cm, shld be fine :)

as for coffee table, i shld be getting one from Courts which we saw on sat at 50% off for the Mega Raya sale...chairs wise, hehe, gonna get the FUNK chairs from XZQT...but thanks for the recommendations though. we went to sugei kadut a few weeks back and IMM today, but none caught our eyes..

oh ya, one thing u can discuss with ur wife...if console is high, then ur tv will be higher...and if ur sofa is low...u will be straining ur neck to look upwards and it will be worse if its the large LCD tv, and somewhere in CNETasia says tat it might cause giddiness...its quite similar to watching a movie in a big cinema hall at the front row or 3rd row..

Hi kthc & all..I'm a newbie in RT...Was browsing thru & chance upon ur thread. I've juz signed & excercised OTP for a 5-rm unit in Sembawang too & ur floor plan seemed soooo..soooo...familiar...rounded balcony & MBR...4 rooms & a pathetic squeezy kitchen :bangwall: ...Neway, I've got a long way to go la...1st appt oso dunno yet :( So I shall be following ur thread rather closely ok.. :P For ideas.. And hope I can get useful recommendations on ID/reno firms; good workmanship/quality/price aspects.

I was glancing thru others thread too & was wowed with how you owners are so involved in the reno of ur respective units :o . Noticed you guys have been running around to find not only ur furnishing, ovens & hoods but also stuffs like tiles, downlight bulbs, taps, varnishing services etc...Hmm..I'm a bit blurr with all these actually. I thought, we just need to go to an ID/reno firm which will help us wif the design of the unit and once we have finalised the layout & design everything, we juz need to make our choices for tiles, paint color, cornices etc frm there and dat's it??..ID/reno firm will handle everything rite?? :unsure: And we only need to go ard searching for items like fridge, dining table, oven?? :unsure:

Neway, I still have a long way to go...but I do njoy reading ur postings & love looking at pictures hoping to learn sumting here & there though I know nuts abt renoworks (the term 'trunking' & all seemed so alienated to me; die la like dis how to reno house in future? :dunno: ) Btw, you guys seem like a bunch of caring, helpful, resourceful & soooo..soooo...united kinda of people yeah...Good luck in ur renoworks & keep ur fantastic ideas flowing in selflessly... :yamseng:

hihi...initially when i received the detailed drawings, i tot my console design is very low too and felt uncomfortable....and so when i went home, i went to my bro's room which has an Ikea low tv console and its console top is around 45 cm high....so i think should be ok... maybe this is the so-called contemporary bah...but i more into practicality...

and so to clear my doubt, i went to Massimmo's website just now and their consoles are 50cm high....so i guess its really contemporary factor...so i think 55 cm, shld be fine :)

as for coffee table, i shld be getting one from Courts which we saw on sat at 50% off for the Mega Raya sale...chairs wise, hehe, gonna get the FUNK chairs from XZQT...but thanks for the recommendations though. we went to sugei kadut a few weeks back and IMM today, but none caught our eyes..

oh ya, one thing u can discuss with ur wife...if console is high, then ur tv will be higher...and if ur sofa is low...u will be straining ur neck to look upwards and it will be worse if its the large LCD tv, and somewhere in CNETasia says tat it might cause giddiness...its quite similar to watching a movie in a big cinema hall at the front row or 3rd row..

Hehe, showed my wife your post, trying to convince her that lower better :D :D For me, if its lower, visually won't be able to see the stuff we'll put on the console so clearly when we are seated. But because we don't have a wall feature, we'll see more of the cables if the console is too low and we mount the TV on the wall.... Thanks, will mull over this the next few days and let Yeak know the final height, they'll install the carpentry on Thursday.

Hi kthc & all..I'm a newbie in RT...Was browsing thru & chance upon ur thread. I've juz signed & excercised OTP for a 5-rm unit in Sembawang too & ur floor plan seemed soooo..soooo...familiar...rounded balcony & MBR...4 rooms & a pathetic squeezy kitchen :bangwall: ...Neway, I've got a long way to go la...1st appt oso dunno yet :( So I shall be following ur thread rather closely ok.. :P For ideas.. And hope I can get useful recommendations on ID/reno firms; good workmanship/quality/price aspects.

I was glancing thru others thread too & was wowed with how you owners are so involved in the reno of ur respective units :o . Noticed you guys have been running around to find not only ur furnishing, ovens & hoods but also stuffs like tiles, downlight bulbs, taps, varnishing services etc...Hmm..I'm a bit blurr with all these actually. I thought, we just need to go to an ID/reno firm which will help us wif the design of the unit and once we have finalised the layout & design everything, we juz need to make our choices for tiles, paint color, cornices etc frm there and dat's it??..ID/reno firm will handle everything rite?? :unsure: And we only need to go ard searching for items like fridge, dining table, oven?? :unsure:

Neway, I still have a long way to go...but I do njoy reading ur postings & love looking at pictures hoping to learn sumting here & there though I know nuts abt renoworks (the term 'trunking' & all seemed so alienated to me; die la like dis how to reno house in future? :dunno: ) Btw, you guys seem like a bunch of caring, helpful, resourceful & soooo..soooo...united kinda of people yeah...Good luck in ur renoworks & keep ur fantastic ideas flowing in selflessly... :yamseng:

Hi Sue,

Welcome to Sembawang:) Which block are you in if you don't mind telling. FYI, there's a beach nearby, the flatted factories across the river are open on the weekends and lots of food brands can be found there, Fragrance, Bengawan Solo, etc. Sembawang Shopping Centre nearby has a free shuttle bus and further up, Chong Pang got lots of good food there. A cult favorite, Taste of Thailand can be found in Chong Pang, cheap and good Thai food but long queue sometimes... (Haven't had dinner yet, food is on my mind...) This is my second home, first one also in Sembawang, Wellington Circle area.

Anyway, welcome to RT too, I've found lots of resources here, lobang for curtains, solar films, furniture, many many more. Just to to read a little and take your time. Since 1st appt still far away, use this time to gather information. Even if you decide to go with an ID, good to know abit so the person won't be able to smoke you.

Why are we running all over Singapore??? For my case, save $$$. I choose a contractor rather than an 'branded' ID. IDs will probably be able to propose a design, color scheme, provide nice drawings and also bring you around to suggest lights and other applicances but you'll be paying for this service. Also a lighting shop I went, told me the listed price is for people brought by their IDs and the prices they gave us is the direct price... big difference..

By using a contractor (this is my 2nd one,1st home also used a contractor), prices are much lower. I asked 2 IDs and 2 contractors to provide a quote based on the same items, contractors' quote were easily 2/3 or lower than the ID. But you'll have to be more involved and we provided our designs (taken from magazines), did our own color matching and also sourced for items like lights, curtains, taps and such on our own.

Perversely... its quite fun but can be tiring and almost every weekend we are roaming the streets of Singapore to look for suitable stuff, even things like toilet bowl, towel bar, soap holder designs, etc....

Hope this helps, drop us any questions and we'll try to help. Small friendly community here :D :D

If you decide the contractor route, Yeak is quite good and you can read the t-blogs by his customers. I'm always using PreciousJam's or Angel81's signatures to search for the rest of his customers. There are others too or you can get recommendation from your friend/family, compare quotations, talk to the ID/contractors and I'll suggest that you choose the one you feel comfortable with, price is just one factor of the renovation.

Cheers. Now to find food....

Hi Sue,

Welcome to Sembawang:) Which block are you in if you don't mind telling. FYI, there's a beach nearby, the flatted factories across the river are open on the weekends and lots of food brands can be found there, Fragrance, Bengawan Solo, etc. Sembawang Shopping Centre nearby has a free shuttle bus and further up, Chong Pang got lots of good food there. A cult favorite, Taste of Thailand can be found in Chong Pang, cheap and good Thai food but long queue sometimes... (Haven't had dinner yet, food is on my mind...) This is my second home, first one also in Sembawang, Wellington Circle area.

Anyway, welcome to RT too, I've found lots of resources here, lobang for curtains, solar films, furniture, many many more. Just to to read a little and take your time. Since 1st appt still far away, use this time to gather information. Even if you decide to go with an ID, good to know abit so the person won't be able to smoke you.

Why are we running all over Singapore??? For my case, save $$$. I choose a contractor rather than an 'branded' ID. IDs will probably be able to propose a design, color scheme, provide nice drawings and also bring you around to suggest lights and other applicances but you'll be paying for this service. Also a lighting shop I went, told me the listed price is for people brought by their IDs and the prices they gave us is the direct price... big difference..

By using a contractor (this is my 2nd one,1st home also used a contractor), prices are much lower. I asked 2 IDs and 2 contractors to provide a quote based on the same items, contractors' quote were easily 2/3 or lower than the ID. But you'll have to be more involved and we provided our designs (taken from magazines), did our own color matching and also sourced for items like lights, curtains, taps and such on our own.

Perversely... its quite fun but can be tiring and almost every weekend we are roaming the streets of Singapore to look for suitable stuff, even things like toilet bowl, towel bar, soap holder designs, etc....

Hope this helps, drop us any questions and we'll try to help. Small friendly community here :D :D

If you decide the contractor route, Yeak is quite good and you can read the t-blogs by his customers. I'm always using PreciousJam's or Angel81's signatures to search for the rest of his customers. There are others too or you can get recommendation from your friend/family, compare quotations, talk to the ID/contractors and I'll suggest that you choose the one you feel comfortable with, price is just one factor of the renovation.

Cheers. Now to find food....

Thanks kthc...you really make me feel at home!!.. :) I went for Blk 359X the pinky cluster..It's opposite yours (juz read the map, to locate yours :P )..Yours would be nearer to the MRT rite? Neway, thanks for the great intro of Sembawang as I am super new to dis estate..Its the West coming to the North you see.. :D . I do have an Aunt staying in Sembawang though, Blk 404 if I'm not wrong. But still am not so familiar with this area until recently when I went for house hunting & got myself familiarise abit abt dis estate.

Yeah lor, 1st appt. still long way...till then everything is not confirmed yet rite. But if everything goes smoothly with no hiccups, I think I would be able to move in late Dec or maybe new year (after reno all; est.) I think HDB is facing with huge volume of resale application and its taking longer to get even a 1st appt. Jialat!! Anyway, now that I have found RT, I feel this is a great source for me to seek assistance or clear any doubts pertaining to housing & reno etc. besides the official HDB website & the HDB hotline which have been my 'true friend' before I met my agent.. :lol: I think I sumhow memorised the names of the customer service officers liao.. :lol:

Ok back to reno matters, I was actually discussing wif hubz & was telling him, since we both are not artistic nor creative and we know nuts abt home reno, the procedures and all and worst with no contacts, we would definitely be 'smoked' by some unscrupulous IDs/contractors should luck decide not to be wif us during our search for our home reno later.. :( But hey! Now that I found RT, its like...Phewwwwwwwww!! At least there's some hope that we wun be burnt of our $$ ok!! After reading your entry, yeah, it do make sense that sourcing for your own items & getting the contractor to do the job is really cost-saving compared if you were to leave everything to the ID firm. But yeah har...it takes quite alot of time & energy since you are really involved in the whole reno process.

So for your case kthc, you actually engaged Mr Yeak from Basic Image. He is a contractor & not an ID? Meaning you design your own house & source for your own items and let Mr Yeak & his team of workers do the job as per your instructions & design? And you were mentioning in one particular lighting shop, it was noted that the prices of lightings there are different as in more exp. if you were accompanied by an ID compared to you walking-in urself for the purchase where you get the cheaper direct price? :o Whoahhh..this is something real worth knowing...Thanks alot!! :yeah: But one concern here, do the contractors advise us on the specifications of the required items coz one item may have many² types right? What if we happily buy liao..skali reach home, contractor say this one cannot fix and should require another type...whoahh...like dat more jialat rite running to n fro exchanging items...Pardon me..but I think I'm abit exaggerating liao in here abt the need to run about due to purchase of wrong item type.. but frankly, I do haf such thoughts ok which I think is pretty ridiculous to most of u in here... Paiseh!! Dun :fire: me hor...I told you I'm new right :P ...Sorry...Sorry...

Ok...so long composition frm me above..I think I'll be using RT as a platform to guide me around when the time comes later. And I'll definitely be one of those who will be taking up recommendations by you guys in here. Coz I dun really haf any contacts/recommendations from any of my friends or relatives as I think they happily engage ID to settle everything for them from designing to sourcing of items & ultimately the reno works. I dun see anyone running around searching for items like taps, toilet bowl etc. on their own mah. This is the reason why I perceived that everything should be done by the ID/Reno firm we engaged and I didn't know that there is a cheaper alternative of engaging a contractor till I found RT!!!...So ignorant of me ok!! Thanx to RT and all the great pple in here... Think when the time comes, I'd have done my homework & set to go..hopefully!! Anyone who njoys being an ID for free (read: for pure enjoyment/interest) or or wants to be my mentor can also volunteer to assist me ok... :notti: For now...I shall start with a clear mind, try to grasp as much as I can and 1st & foremost...must get the hang of RT...still quite blurr abt the features in here... :bangwall: Oh...not forgetting, to feast my eyes on the beautiful & so heavenly home creations you guys in here... :seeya:

* Sorry kthc to ride on ur thread wif my long-windedness...but can't help it lah...I got so all excited when I realised we had the same house layout causing the 'newbie character' in me to crawl out...but hey...I did learn some impt. things too frm ur reply ok..THNKS!!

Hehe, showed my wife your post, trying to convince her that lower better :D :D For me, if its lower, visually won't be able to see the stuff we'll put on the console so clearly when we are seated. But because we don't have a wall feature, we'll see more of the cables if the console is too low and we mount the TV on the wall.... Thanks, will mull over this the next few days and let Yeak know the final height, they'll install the carpentry on Thursday.

no worries :)

i asked my ID abt the console height today and told her of my online conversation with you regarding this topic. She said that 60cm for console height was the norm for yesteryears (with no evil tones in her voice of cos). She said nowadays tv consoles are kept low for the contemporary factor (which we kinda guessed yesterday). And i received a flyer from Harvey Norman advertising thier Italian sofas, dining tables and tv consoles and the max height is 45 cm! ...so even my console with a height of 49cm is pretty non-italian... :P

anyway, hope all goes well with your carpentry...:)

Thanks kthc...you really make me feel at home!!.. :) I went for Blk 359X the pinky cluster..It's opposite yours (juz read the map, to locate yours :P )..Yours would be nearer to the MRT rite? Neway, thanks for the great intro of Sembawang as I am super new to dis estate..Its the West coming to the North you see.. :D . I do have an Aunt staying in Sembawang though, Blk 404 if I'm not wrong. But still am not so familiar with this area until recently when I went for house hunting & got myself familiarise abit abt dis estate.

Also came from the west side (as if S'pore is that big...). My colleague who's waiting for his house to complete in 2011, spends some of his weekends exploring his new estate, can do that too:)

Yeah lor, 1st appt. still long way...till then everything is not confirmed yet rite. But if everything goes smoothly with no hiccups, I think I would be able to move in late Dec or maybe new year (after reno all; est.) I think HDB is facing with huge volume of resale application and its taking longer to get even a 1st appt. Jialat!! Anyway, now that I have found RT, I feel this is a great source for me to seek assistance or clear any doubts pertaining to housing & reno etc. besides the official HDB website & the HDB hotline which have been my 'true friend' before I met my agent.. :lol: I think I sumhow memorised the names of the customer service officers liao.. :lol:

HDB has a login page which you can use to check for your appointment dates. You can also ask them to arrange for the minimum 6 weeks waiting period for your 1st and subsquently, 2nd appt, total about 12 weeks in all... I've tore quite abit of my hair waiting for HDB... https://services2.hdb.gov.sg/webapp/BF02SPI...app/FI10PPORTAL

Ok back to reno matters, I was actually discussing wif hubz & was telling him, since we both are not artistic nor creative and we know nuts abt home reno, the procedures and all and worst with no contacts, we would definitely be 'smoked' by some unscrupulous IDs/contractors should luck decide not to be wif us during our search for our home reno later.. :( But hey! Now that I found RT, its like...Phewwwwwwwww!! At least there's some hope that we wun be burnt of our $$ ok!! After reading your entry, yeah, it do make sense that sourcing for your own items & getting the contractor to do the job is really cost-saving compared if you were to leave everything to the ID firm. But yeah har...it takes quite alot of time & energy since you are really involved in the whole reno process.

So for your case kthc, you actually engaged Mr Yeak from Basic Image. He is a contractor & not an ID? Meaning you design your own house & source for your own items and let Mr Yeak & his team of workers do the job as per your instructions & design? And you were mentioning in one particular lighting shop, it was noted that the prices of lightings there are different as in more exp. if you were accompanied by an ID compared to you walking-in urself for the purchase where you get the cheaper direct price? :o Whoahhh..this is something real worth knowing...Thanks alot!! :yeah: But one concern here, do the contractors advise us on the specifications of the required items coz one item may have many² types right? What if we happily buy liao..skali reach home, contractor say this one cannot fix and should require another type...whoahh...like dat more jialat rite running to n fro exchanging items...Pardon me..but I think I'm abit exaggerating liao in here abt the need to run about due to purchase of wrong item type.. but frankly, I do haf such thoughts ok which I think is pretty ridiculous to most of u in here... Paiseh!! Dun :fire: me hor...I told you I'm new right :P ...Sorry...Sorry...

Yeak is not the ID ID type but he'll advise and give suggestions based on your inputs. For example, our miserable little kitchen, we wanted a U shape cabinet layout to maximise the space, he gave his inputs on the size/dimensions, space for washer, fridge etc. So basically, he'll give ideas based on his experience but you'll have to start the ball rolling a little. We've cut out pictures to show him the concept that we want and then work from there.

Don't worry too much abt the dimensions and how many lights you'll need. Once your designs are up, he can tell you how many lights you'll need (designs you got to choose yourself), max & min dimensions of things like sink, hob, toilet bowl, etc and you can source on your own.

Ok...so long composition frm me above..I think I'll be using RT as a platform to guide me around when the time comes later. And I'll definitely be one of those who will be taking up recommendations by you guys in here. Coz I dun really haf any contacts/recommendations from any of my friends or relatives as I think they happily engage ID to settle everything for them from designing to sourcing of items & ultimately the reno works. I dun see anyone running around searching for items like taps, toilet bowl etc. on their own mah. This is the reason why I perceived that everything should be done by the ID/Reno firm we engaged and I didn't know that there is a cheaper alternative of engaging a contractor till I found RT!!!...So ignorant of me ok!! Thanx to RT and all the great pple in here... Think when the time comes, I'd have done my homework & set to go..hopefully!! Anyone who njoys being an ID for free (read: for pure enjoyment/interest) or or wants to be my mentor can also volunteer to assist me ok... :notti: For now...I shall start with a clear mind, try to grasp as much as I can and 1st & foremost...must get the hang of RT...still quite blurr abt the features in here... :bangwall: Oh...not forgetting, to feast my eyes on the beautiful & so heavenly home creations you guys in here... :seeya:

* Sorry kthc to ride on ur thread wif my long-windedness...but can't help it lah...I got so all excited when I realised we had the same house layout causing the 'newbie character' in me to crawl out...but hey...I did learn some impt. things too frm ur reply ok..THNKS!!

No worries, use this time by borrowing Home & decor magazines or buy one or two (NLB won't like it if you cut their magazine;)) to get ideas. Can also visit some ID firms to get ideas and quotes for comparison too.

Haha, long post, can feel your excitement :D :D Tried to answer your questions above, feel free to ask questions here:)

no worries :)

i asked my ID abt the console height today and told her of my online conversation with you regarding this topic. She said that 60cm for console height was the norm for yesteryears (with no evil tones in her voice of cos). She said nowadays tv consoles are kept low for the contemporary factor (which we kinda guessed yesterday). And i received a flyer from Harvey Norman advertising thier Italian sofas, dining tables and tv consoles and the max height is 45 cm! ...so even my console with a height of 49cm is pretty non-italian... :P

anyway, hope all goes well with your carpentry...:)

:D :D :D Definitely going to show my wife this post tomorrow! Thanks!

THANKS kthc...!!...Yah har..maybe I should start exploring Sembawang soon...Hope to discover another Jurong Point (my pride hor as a Jurong West resident)... over @ Sembawang... ;) But I know got Sembawang Shopping Ctr oso rite... Ok lah...sumtimes when think back, have these shopping ctrs too near oso no good. It tends to lighten the wallet too often... :D

On a serious note, oopss...I didn't know we can sumhow 'push' our appt. dates...Have alwys thought we had to stick to the dates given. Now, it takes abt 11 weeks from the date of application/submission to get the 1st appt. I checked today...if application is submitted today, the earliest avail. date for 1st appt. will be on 9 Oct...Aiyo!!..Dats 11wks & 2 days from today. You mean can request dis to be earlier meh? I doubt so right...coz EARLIEST APPT.DATE AVAILABLE mah..hmm.. :unsure:

Btw, since our unit layout is identical, any idea if its expensive to hack the kitchen wall adjoining the living room in an attempt to lengthen/stretch the kitchen? Coz I tink, I can't really bear to haf a kitchen dat small leh. I know by doing an open concept kitchen with the bar counter and all like you have done will make the kitchen look bigger right? But I cannot only make it 'LOOK' bigger ar..I really need a bigger kitchen as in bigger floor/space area leh. And also, I think if kitchen is stretched till the living, then may also need to hack 1 room behind the living area to make way for dining. Hmm..like dat many work rite..n oso wud mean more $$ for hacking all?..

Ok...for now shan't :disturb: you further...I'll start to get ideas & do some reasearch/hmwork real soon. In the meantime, you keep ur posts coming in & I am so eager to see ur completed unit..with the rounded balcony and all yeah!! Good luck!!!! :thumbs up:

11 weeks…. That’s really too long…. Good luck…

I share your sentiments about the design…. Sometimes I think some HDB designers should be lined against a wall and be shot… nice designs, not practical… Such a small kitchen and the ‘study’ room is so small, might as well combine them… btw, you’ll realise that there’s not much space left for fridge and a washer. There are some huge pipes at a corner in the kitchen too, so even lesser space for things like rice cooker, kettle and such… Have ‘fun’ planning;)

Let me go back and check me quotation to give you an idea for the hacking of half the wall. Abit hard to compare but it’ll give you a general idea. By the way, hacking of walls will need approval from HDB, some walls can be hacked (those in black in your floorplan definitely cannot). If I remember, hacking is relatively reasonable but then building up another wall… that’s a different story

Can take a look at Byr’s thread, he also hacked the kitchen and a combined the living room with a bedroom: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...c=16919&hl= You can find his comments on page 2 of this blog.

11 weeks…. That’s really too long…. Good luck…

I share your sentiments about the design…. Sometimes I think some HDB designers should be lined against a wall and be shot… nice designs, not practical… Such a small kitchen and the ‘study’ room is so small, might as well combine them… btw, you’ll realise that there’s not much space left for fridge and a washer. There are some huge pipes at a corner in the kitchen too, so even lesser space for things like rice cooker, kettle and such… Have ‘fun’ planning;)

Let me go back and check me quotation to give you an idea for the hacking of half the wall. Abit hard to compare but it’ll give you a general idea. By the way, hacking of walls will need approval from HDB, some walls can be hacked (those in black in your floorplan definitely cannot). If I remember, hacking is relatively reasonable but then building up another wall… that’s a different story

Can take a look at Byr’s thread, he also hacked the kitchen and a combined the living room with a bedroom: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...c=16919&hl= You can find his comments on page 2 of this blog.

Yeah lor..they thought their so-called creative designs are so unique and special but I feel it fails in practicality aspect leh esp. for kitchen, study & the round balcony and MBR :bangwall: !! Abit tough..Huge pipes??...Oh my!! Dat will certainly takes up some precious spaces rite...whoahh..like dat how to put rice cooker, water boiler & all??..I still have a mini freezer to be brought over there...hmm..Yeah sure...hope it'll be real 'fun' but definitely brain wrecking for 'nuts abt reno' for me & hubz.. :(

Yeap..understood we cannot hack the beams or foundations or wat wall..Heard frm my dad though. Guess he's referring to the black bold black lines on the flr plan. Yeah hor quite true. After hack sure need to build up wall again rite?? Can't be living & kitchen sitting together mah..so cartoon.. :wacko:

Ok, I'm zooming into Byr's thread now...ideass...ideass...Need creative juice supplement for my brain badly!!.. :blink: Thks kthc!

I know. Least we could do was to keep supplying them with packet drinks :)

Another hiccup today and I'll bet the tilers and Yeak won't be exactly happy. Discussed with Mark (from Wellmax) that we'll like to have top-hung bi-fold doors, because bottom tracks can trap dirt easily, but I forgot to tell Yeak about it.

Yeak's tilers swee swee left a space for bottom tracks (which I gather, the usual way) and we are asking them re-tile it again, asking nicely though... I think Mark also not very happy cos he did his measurements from based on the bottom track and Yeak has to send his guys to redo the tiles... I think I'm public enemy number 1 for today...

Hi kthc,

Read that your bi-fold door is without bottom tracks. We also getting the same tophung bi-fold door, but when we went to the site today, we noticed that the kerb was done up in a way 'stepped'.

I thought its weird to do it like that if there is no bottom tracks. May I know how do you do the kerb? And for the door panels, are they on the kerb or near to the floor at the side of the toilet?

I will appreciate it greatly if you can share a picture of your bi-fold door.

Thanks alot.