preciousjam 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2009 the whole layout of the house very neat and nice....Yeak was telling me your tiling should be done tomorrow....he say your kitchen tiles SWEE take some photos of the toilet tiles..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sixer 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 *very envious of the WIW* comes with a price one.. and that is a smaller and no open concept kitchen. the whole layout of the house very neat and nice....Yeak was telling me your tiling should be done tomorrow....he say your kitchen tiles SWEE take some photos of the toilet tiles..... tiling should be finishing seven seven eight eight by today, but ah hui says tuesday.. dont know why, the swee part i think he refers to the plain glossy white tiles at the other side of the kitchen. that one is really tile till very swee.. no grouts at all.. make us kinda regret not choosing the plain white tiles for the entire kitchen. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 comes with a price one.. and that is a smaller and no open concept kitchen. tiling should be finishing seven seven eight eight by today, but ah hui says tuesday.. dont know why, the swee part i think he refers to the plain glossy white tiles at the other side of the kitchen. that one is really tile till very swee.. no grouts at all.. make us kinda regret not choosing the plain white tiles for the entire kitchen. Hehe, closed kitchen also good lar. Lesser smells around the house during cooking. Maybe ah hui included the grouting time? Take pics of the plain tiles for us to see leh. Wana see the no grout lines tiles! Looks like they're getting better & better. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zerochristy 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 (edited) Oh.... your kitchen wall tiles is my MBR bathroom wall tiles.. NICE Edited June 5, 2009 by zerochristy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sixer 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 Hehe, closed kitchen also good lar. Lesser smells around the house during cooking. Maybe ah hui included the grouting time? Take pics of the plain tiles for us to see leh. Wana see the no grout lines tiles! Looks like they're getting better & better. grouting? no lei.. grouting almost done liao.. will try to take pics tomorrow morning cause the whole house now only left 2 fluorescent lights which made taking pics at night sux. your kitchen tiles selection is really nice,but i guess its suitable if u have a long kitchen wall... if i select it,i guess wont bring out the long horizontal line pattern nicely. the tiles need time getting use to. Oh.... your kitchen wall tiles is my MBR bathroom wall tiles.. NICE high 5. but we feel it's pretty hard to maintain as it's matt. gets scratched easily as compared to normal glossy white tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zerochristy 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 high 5. but we feel it's pretty hard to maintain as it's matt. gets scratched easily as compared to normal glossy white tiles. Scratch?? Will not la.. cause floor also matt we use plastic broom to scrab the floor always. I felt matt surface if got scratch will not be so obvious compare to glossy surface. You see the solid black surface on kitchen top always got scratch and its glossy le... that happen to my bro's top. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 grouting? no lei.. grouting almost done liao.. will try to take pics tomorrow morning cause the whole house now only left 2 fluorescent lights which made taking pics at night sux. Haha, maybe Monday they gota go elsewhere to do stuff bah. So that's why told u Tue fin. Hehe, I rem mine got like tat once. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gubby 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 Hi, I'm new here. How do I get Mr Yeak's Contact? I'm actually getting a resale unit at Bukit Batok also and the layout is quite similar to yours. Just that mine is along the corridor and its only 4rm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gubby 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 Thanks Sixer. Saw your PM. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 Hi, I'm new here. How do I get Mr Yeak's Contact? I'm actually getting a resale unit at Bukit Batok also and the layout is quite similar to yours. Just that mine is along the corridor and its only 4rm Hope u get a good quote from Yeak! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sixer 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 Thanks Sixer. Saw your PM. No prob. Btw, where is your unit? which block? kaypoh a bit cause i might have viewed the unit before. nowadays seems like a lot of bukit batoker... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gubby 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 No prob. Btw, where is your unit? which block? kaypoh a bit cause i might have viewed the unit before. nowadays seems like a lot of bukit batoker... Its opposite the Shop and Save. Most likely will be contacting Mr Yeak next week. Getting keys in Mid July. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jennchoi 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 A very big to all the renotalkers. Joined this forum a couple of months back and have been lurking around since. Got no time to really sit down and start a blog until today... or maybe it's because we're lazy.. lol.. Floor plan: Realized that this layout is pretty common (some of the renotalkers have the same layout) but we love it. Squarish, little floor space wastage, spacious bedrooms which are not in funny places and has high potential for walk in wardrobes in the master bedroom. We are already the official owners for the house but will only start the renovation probably end of this month. We should be engaging contractors as we know what we want to do. Approach and direction taken would be towards contemporary as we both like the clean sleek lines, smooth textures and polished metal feel. As this is our first house and first renovation, any advice and feedbacks are welcomed! The layout, after many rounds of changes and brainstorming, has already been finalized. Will upload it soon. The next step for us now is to confirm our contractor. Been to a few IDs and quite a number of contractors. The final 2 that we have shortlisted are superstar contractors from renotalk and i guess most of you know who they are Mr Yeak and Ah Soon. In our opinion: Mr Yeak - Reasonable pricing, looks honest and reliable. Very impressed by his workmanship, especially by his tiling. Feels quite connected with him when we tell him what we want to do. Can tell that he knows what we want by his response and inputs. Ah Soon - Very attractive pricing and looked very sincere and honest. Lots of room for improvement for his time management and workmanship. Close supervision and monitoring required during the renovation period. But for the price he offers, i think it's acceptable. Will provide us with more inputs on practicality then design. 1 vote for Mr Yeak from her and 1 vote for Ah Soon from me. After many many rounds of discussions, comparisons and compromises, we think that we most probably will go for Mr Yeak. Willing to pay more for better workmanship and lesser involvement (lesser headaches). Have not officially confirmed with him yet but think he's the one already. Just hope that his final qoute won't deviate too much from our budget, give us more discounts and we can start soon. Next up: Finalized layout and things to do hi, can you email me the contractor's number and email? which company is he from? jennchoi@gmail.com thnks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gubby 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2009 ID : Mr Yeak Basic image interior design Block 292,Yishun Street 22 #01-291,Singapore (760292) Tel : 9238-9340 Information taken from Rondy's Signature. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2009 ID : Mr Yeak Basic image interior design Block 292,Yishun Street 22 #01-291,Singapore (760292) Tel : 9238-9340 Information taken from Rondy's Signature. much easier...have you gotten your quote from Yeak? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites