gaku70

New Home In The East

gaku, uncle should be at your place by now. I asked uncle about your progress, he assured me the dateline although tight, it is possible. Call Jason n meet him up soon. There are bound

to have hiccups, jiayou! Anything u feel not right, tell uncle about it

familyof4: Thanks for the update. Yes you are right uncle called me from my place. He has arranged Jason to meet me tomorrow. Told him he also must come to sign the agreement and on the piping.

growler: Your tiling is much faster. Mine is very slow. Think uncle is still at my place when he called at 11pm.

rierie: It is difficult to ignore especially they are people around you that you interact everyday. I will try my best to be optimistic. I do have faith in Uncle and actually have alot of respect for him. The only problem is that he is extremely forgetful even after constant reminder.

A littel update on the progress.

Uncle called to ask me can I accept the drainage on the opposite side. I told him cannot accept. The rationale being if I wash something dirty and water flow backward to the drainage and I have to step on the dirty water when I go out of the toilet. He agreed and will change.

Called me another half an hour later to ask me can don't change can or not. If change he has to hack the half of the bathroom floor tile and he will be very jialat if need to hack. He mentioned that both of us at fault because didn't discuss where i want the drainage. I agreed that I only tell him where is the shower head and not the drainage. Soft hearted again and told him to leave it.

Confirmed with him if tiling can finish this week and today he told me cannot. Earliest can finish next wednesday.

Will meet him tomorrow to sign the contract and also on the piping location.

A littel update on the progress.

Uncle called to ask me can I accept the drainage on the opposite side. I told him cannot accept. The rationale being if I wash something dirty and water flow backward to the drainage and I have to step on the dirty water when I go out of the toilet. He agreed and will change.

Called me another half an hour later to ask me can don't change can or not. If change he has to hack the half of the bathroom floor tile and he will be very jialat if need to hack. He mentioned that both of us at fault because didn't discuss where i want the drainage. I agreed that I only tell him where is the shower head and not the drainage. Soft hearted again and told him to leave it.

Confirmed with him if tiling can finish this week and today he told me cannot. Earliest can finish next wednesday.

Will meet him tomorrow to sign the contract and also on the piping location.

Hi Gaku,

saw some of the bad exprience you have.but i am sure it will turn out fine.:)

My advice to all prospective Uncle Ah Soon's customers - you must be prepared to manage and be present to inspect the progress at least for the full time when all the masonry works have been completed. As for carpentry, you must be present on the day of installation. Likewise for painting.

No doubt Uncle is very Chin Chai, etc... if the cost to rectify and recover is too high (like in Gaku's case), I think he'll also 帕帕to 包到完.

Poor gaku. But I'm glad you still have faith in Uncle. That's good. I think those people who say "feng liang hua" like asking you to pay 1000 more to get an ID... should give you the 1000++ to do so. :P my opinion. I'm a rebellious kid.

I do hope everything will be more smooth-going from now!

Gaku, i spent some time reading your posts. I spoke to uncle about your unit. Uncle is really trying to work on the delivery for u. Abit tight,he admitted, but he assured that he will get it ready for u. see my place, i thought it is still very abre, then everyone came all together! I am happy to see so many people around. Tho they dun appear now, they appear in a group of at least 3. I am sure uncle has plannings for u. just bear with it ok?

Edited by familyof4

familyof4: Thanks for your help. He assured me as well. The reason I am abit sceptical is due to the slow progress and also missing the previous two schedules that he gave me. I do hope that he can finish on time based on the schedule. I have also mentioned to him that I need to move out end of month. If not I got no place to stay. Really hope to see him doing the magic.

pet: From talking to him, I know he is a honest guy and will not cheat. That's why I trust him to do the reno. Only thing worries me is that he is too busy and forgetful. The people that said the "feng liang hua" are the elders and people close to me. That include parents, siblings as well. THat's why sometime very stress when they want to go along with me to inspect the house. I know the intention is good because they do not want me to be at the disadvantage.

growler: I think if I insist to change, uncle will still change it but as I mentioned he told me he will incur alot and I also admit I didnt tell him about the drainage location and so I have accepted it. Did he turn up in the afternoon?

blue diamond: Thanks. I will ask him to help me expedite when I meet him tomorrow.

familyof4: Thanks for your help. He assured me as well. The reason I am abit sceptical is due to the slow progress and also missing the previous two schedules that he gave me. I do hope that he can finish on time based on the schedule. I have also mentioned to him that I need to move out end of month. If not I got no place to stay. Really hope to see him doing the magic.

pet: From talking to him, I know he is a honest guy and will not cheat. That's why I trust him to do the reno. Only thing worries me is that he is too busy and forgetful. The people that said the "feng liang hua" are the elders and people close to me. That include parents, siblings as well. THat's why sometime very stress when they want to go along with me to inspect the house. I know the intention is good because they do not want me to be at the disadvantage.

growler: I think if I insist to change, uncle will still change it but as I mentioned he told me he will incur alot and I also admit I didnt tell him about the drainage location and so I have accepted it. Did he turn up in the afternoon?

blue diamond: Thanks. I will ask him to help me expedite when I meet him tomorrow.

Nope. He didn't turn up as usual. Probably because the main milestone had been reached and my unit is a "small fry" ... the electrician did turn up at familyof4 unit though ... I thought mine's an easy job so he should try to schedule it first. Moreoever, I'm living in the unit and i'm down to use only 1 toilet (where there are no lights) and the door is spoilt by them ....

Gaku, i spent some time reading your posts. I spoke to uncle about your unit. Uncle is really trying to work on the delivery for u. Abit tight,he admitted, but he assured that he will get it ready for u. see my place, i thought it is still very abre, then everyone came all together! I am happy to see so many people around. Tho they dun appear now, they appear in a group of at least 3. I am sure uncle has plannings for u. just bear with it ok?

I think nowadays Uncle has 2 very different standard of service. My painting which was scheduled to be on either Monday/Tuesday till today still no progress yet. Basically for the past 2-3 weeks, they were having 3 working day per week, they either came on Monday till Wednesday or Thursday till Saturday only. Same as everyone, he is not picking up calls, and when he picks up, he simply answers a few questions and okok to smoke through... There's once, when there's issue, I called him, he told me he couldn't remember the item and my quotation wasn't with him.....

Through my 1 month renovation, Uncle came only twice, can you imagine that? Luckily, Jason is much better and responsive, so now most of the time we just called Jason. Really hope that our renovation can be completed by end of this month.

I think nowadays Uncle has 2 very different standard of service. My painting which was scheduled to be on either Monday/Tuesday till today still no progress yet. Basically for the past 2-3 weeks, they were having 3 working day per week, they either came on Monday till Wednesday or Thursday till Saturday only. Same as everyone, he is not picking up calls, and when he picks up, he simply answers a few questions and okok to smoke through... There's once, when there's issue, I called him, he told me he couldn't remember the item and my quotation wasn't with him.....

Through my 1 month renovation, Uncle came only twice, can you imagine that? Luckily, Jason is much better and responsive, so now most of the time we just called Jason. Really hope that our renovation can be completed by end of this month.

Asugama: I can't help but concur with your statement about having differing sets of service standards. I'm lucky that I have an understanding boss that allowed me to take leave during the time when hacking and tiling works commenced and was in progress. However, I cannot perpetually be taking leave to sit in an empty house waiting for someone who's flying me aeroplanes 9 out of 10 times.

To be very honest, as I have reiterated several times, the price to me matters because I have bad experience with contractors who promise the sky and the moon but only deliver plain earth to me. If not for the price, I would have chosen another guy whom I know has better project management.

If things still don't move together, I'll speak to Jason instead. Can any kind souls please PM me Jason's number? thank you so much !

gaku: i still think the drainage issue must solve la. if not u may regret in the future. even if u cough out some money, also must change lor. but decision still lies with u la

mm Uncle not answering calls is because there are too many calls wor. He occasionally doesn't answer mine too (though he does call back) But when I was doing my reno there were times he didn't pick my calls and I get kan cheong also.

After the final payment, Uncle made 4 trips to my house to do rectifications but they stretched over 2 months, and we didn't rush him cos it didn't really matter to us anyway...

Would it help more if you left instructions in the house? mmm Although I came to the house everyday during the reno (I was free then) but I rem the only times I was really required was 1) tiles delivery and checking of tiles 2)electrician wants to know points 3) carpentry day and the day after that.... The other days were mostly days when my stuff were delivered and I scheduled those myself. mm

I agree with guy77 on the drainage issue thing though. but if you don't want to stress about it.. then nvm. :)

Edited by pinkpetter

pet: I do agree that pasting drawings on the wall helps. My drawing was used to give instructions to the tiler as I can see chinese characters written on it . So I have prepared the pipings drawings, electrical drawings as well and will paste it on the wall. I have also prepared drawings for carpentry as well but no sure how Jason style of working yet.

guy, pet: If possible I would like to have the drainage change as well. But I have agreed not to change and also don't want to make things difficult. So will accept it and live with it. Thanks for the advise.

growler: May I suggest to call him an hour before appointment to remind him. Every appointment I told him I will remind him but he will tell me no need. After a few aeroplanes, I find that it is more effective to remind him an hour before the appointment. When I reached the destination, I will call him again to tell him that I have arrived.

Sorry to hear that you took leave to wait for him and he didn't turn up. I think he might have forgotten the appointment. Be thick skinned and try calling him until he pick up the call.

Many of us choose Uncle as his price is competitive and qc is good. That why the projects he is handling gets more and more each day, which is good. I believe he knows about the problem and that's why he has hired two more PM to help him manage.

Uncle handles the front part of projects like hacking, tiling, windows, piping while Jason on the carpentry, electrical, painting. So it is important to contact the correct person but overall Uncle is still in charge of the whole project and also the QC.

asugama: Painting should be Jason right, so you can contact Jason on when the painting arrangement.

I believe uncle will give instructions to the head tiler and delegate to him to take charge. Unless there is special issue, he might not go down as often.

pet: I do agree that pasting drawings on the wall helps. My drawing was used to give instructions to the tiler as I can see chinese characters written on it . So I have prepared the pipings drawings, electrical drawings as well and will paste it on the wall. I have also prepared drawings for carpentry as well but no sure how Jason style of working yet.

guy, pet: If possible I would like to have the drainage change as well. But I have agreed not to change and also don't want to make things difficult. So will accept it and live with it. Thanks for the advise.

growler: May I suggest to call him an hour before appointment to remind him. Every appointment I told him I will remind him but he will tell me no need. After a few aeroplanes, I find that it is more effective to remind him an hour before the appointment. When I reached the destination, I will call him again to tell him that I have arrived.

Sorry to hear that you took leave to wait for him and he didn't turn up. I think he might have forgotten the appointment. Be thick skinned and try calling him until he pick up the call.

Many of us choose Uncle as his price is competitive and qc is good. That why the projects he is handling gets more and more each day, which is good. I believe he knows about the problem and that's why he has hired two more PM to help him manage.

:) yup pasting drawings on walls help. For the electrical I not only pasted drawings, I drew on the wall where I wanted the points to be. I wrote S/S for single socket... D/S for double and SCV for TV points and P for phone.. hahaha :) When the electrician came he just asked me what they meant and he just did. :) Much easier, doing that during my own time instead of having to wait for the worker to come. :P

Seems like you've really learnt to manage with Uncle's habits. Kudos to you. :)

:) yup pasting drawings on walls help. For the electrical I not only pasted drawings, I drew on the wall where I wanted the points to be. I wrote S/S for single socket... D/S for double and SCV for TV points and P for phone.. hahaha :) When the electrician came he just asked me what they meant and he just did. :) Much easier, doing that during my own time instead of having to wait for the worker to come. :P

Seems like you've really learnt to manage with Uncle's habits. Kudos to you. :)

Good idea pet. I might want to draw on the wall as well.

Thanks. Ya, have to learn how to turn the tides and make thing work more effectively.