gaku70

New Home In The East

how is your reno, Gaku. I am popping by pasir ris to meet Jason, the plumber and electrician tmr...

i hope uncle remember to pass the floor laminate to jason... but i think chances quite low...

Ivy, suggest u call Jason instead...i trust him to remember.

late liao.. shy to call..

familyof4: Don't think they will go over my side. hacking progress is abit slow. Some windows and wall not hack yet. Don't know why stop work. Uncle brother did said floor hacking must complete first, the rest can do slowly. Don't know how long the hacking will take. Thought within 2 days. Mine today is already third day.

ivy, pet: Yes you are right, I think his clients are all the patient lot. My colleague who got the house earlier is less patient and dropped him after two aeroplanes.

Gaku: My hacking takes 2 days (including removal of debris, with my help) even though it was only 1 kitchen and 1 MBR toilet. So if you're doing a full unit and takes 3 days, sounds reasonable. There could be snags such as ceramic adhesive which could be hard to hack, especially if it's on the wall. The breaker / hacking equipment is also rather heavy and hot after long usage. I think a combination of these could contribute to the delay.

how is your reno, Gaku. I am popping by pasir ris to meet Jason, the plumber and electrician tmr...

Sorry for the late reply. Just came back from North. Didn't check on the house.

Suppose to meet Uncle today to verify tiles. Called him in the afternoon to confirm the meeting tonight. Told me he cannot make it and ask me to check the tiles myself.

I did check with him why hacking take so long and was told one of my wall not approved but HDB didn't say why. Guess got to live with it. Now got problem because my sink is too big if the wall cannot hack. Don't can change or not since I already paid fully for it.

growler: My hacking took slightly longer, four days. Got to check if everything hack cos the last check, still have outstanding.

Sorry for the late reply. Just came back from North. Didn't check on the house.

Suppose to meet Uncle today to verify tiles. Called him in the afternoon to confirm the meeting tonight. Told me he cannot make it and ask me to check the tiles myself.

I did check with him why hacking take so long and was told one of my wall not approved but HDB didn't say why. Guess got to live with it. Now got problem because my sink is too big if the wall cannot hack. Don't can change or not since I already paid fully for it.

growler: My hacking took slightly longer, four days. Got to check if everything hack cos the last check, still have outstanding.

Jason very concern when I mentioned that some not happy with Alan's quote...he says scared uncle over worked and has depression...cos he is super stressed by the workload these days. Anything can call Jason.

I guess many a times uncle gives us assurance and we felt better...but there are also times when we need to keep a close watch and keep uncle in the loop too.

MmMm Maybe this is the right time to say this... even since you all mentioned about Uncle and Jason being sick and overloaded I've toned down on the recommendations.. I started doing it less since 2-3 weeks ago.

I would talk to the person more before I recommend.. I shall talk more about this in my own blog ba :)

Checked on Sunday, lots of sand around and the tiles are delivery. Hurray!

Uncle told me on Saturday cementing started but cement bag haven't open yet leh.

Anyway back to the hacking. Still outstanding. Called up Uncle brother why haven't finished hacking, cannot be taking 5 days right. He mentioned already finished and so I asked why the wall still there. He told me Uncle never say. :bangwall:

Called up Uncle in the today morning and noon. He say haven't go check.

Looking at the progress not very optimistic I can move in end of the month.

are they waiting for any approval? If yes, that might be the delay?

Don't know what is happening as well. Only know kitchen wall half done as uncle told me HDB not approved. But toilet wall didn't mentioned. Uncle brother only mentioned Uncle didnt say must hack. Checked with Uncle adn he told me he will check around noon and called me.

So I called him again to ask and he told me havent check yet. I only worry the tiler start to tile the wall which has to be hacked.

Don't know what is happening as well. Only know kitchen wall half done as uncle told me HDB not approved. But toilet wall didn't mentioned. Uncle brother only mentioned Uncle didnt say must hack. Checked with Uncle adn he told me he will check around noon and called me.

So I called him again to ask and he told me havent check yet. I only worry the tiler start to tile the wall which has to be hacked.

sigh...think uncle has to pop by to check already...hopefully nothing goes wrong.