gaku70

New Home In The East

Pinkiedreamy, dont worry about Ah Soon fans.This forum is free for us to speak our mind. I hope this posting here can be a good reminder and notice to everyone on what makes a good contractor. Sticking to HO date agreed earlier is certainly one of them.

mmm I know everyone's trying to help..

but finding another contractor won't help. Most contractors wun pick up things done halfway. Cos ... if the thing spoils then whose responsibility is it? Those are the exact words said to me before when I suggested to someone that I wanted to segregate the carpentry jobs between people..

Moreover, at this point, what gaku has are all the rectifications around the house. honestly... how do you expect another person to charge for changing 20-30 tiles or 3-4 cabinet doors? I dunno how extensive his rectifications are though I know it's not little. But it'll be hard to find someone. I do agree with Ivy that if we help to remind Uncle for him, then there's more possibility for anything to happen.

... just IMHO. sigh. *keeping fingers crossed for gaku*

ya.. and pinkie... so need to apologise ba. Think everyone can see the situation. Any advice is some kind of help.

Edited by pinkpetter

Pinkiedreamy, dont worry about Ah Soon fans.This forum is free for us to speak our mind. I hope this posting here can be a good reminder and notice to everyone on what makes a good contractor. Sticking to HO date agreed earlier is certainly one of them.

I agree. renovation house and shifting around is already very tiring.

Now even have to oversee, check, and not say few hundreds dollars leh.

Mr Yeak is one good contractor. knows how to manage his time, workers and say "NO" when he cant handle.

Really hope those who are going to engage Uncle, think twice.

He is good. but we on our end, must also be very tolerant. and write the HO date in BLACK and WHITE, else compensate.

We must learn to protect ourselves =)

Chasing my contractor for flying me aeroplane, or not sticking to my HO is definately not acceptable in my dictionary. I really take my hats off to those who can tolerate it. I certainly dont have the patience for people like this.

Hi Gaku,

So far aany update yet?manage to move in yet?Really hope everything is fine by now.

Dont have t delete off yr thread.I think it give a clear and transapernt view of Uncle a wee. If anyone is to expect a smooth ride when engaging him...think twice.No human is error free and so does Uncle. Same like everyone of us have our own standard for things.Let other decide forr themself. Cos no matter what, i still dpny believe any contractor is error free. Most importantly, is to resolve yr problem now.

I think maybe what we can do to help is to ask Uncle to focus on yr end for those who can wait(like my case). I am sure some will be more than willing to do so.

Just hang in there. It all going to end soon and hopefully it a win win situation for both party.Jia You!!

Thanks everyone for the encouraging words.

This afternoon after checking the rectification with my friends and relative, I left my place and on my way back I saw uncle van on the road. So U-turn back to meet him.

Both of us didn't mentioned anything about the events that happen in the morning and so I don't want to be petty as well. Frankly I am too tired talking about $$ stuff and if he "forget" about my rental and shifting, I will just take it as money lost and move on.

The HO condition was also not what I expected but I don't want to complain since it is not serious and I can do the rectification myself. Uncle was on the phone when I reached and was #^%#^ people again. After he is done, he walked through the rectification stuff that he has done. A few rectifications are still not done (think he forgotten) but I do not want to do it anymore for the fear of more delay.

In the end, I accepted the HO. Lastly he asked me if I can forget about the vacuum cleaner issue since he has already scolded the workers. If I insist he will pay me. Told him I am not the petty type but just want his worker to ask before using the owners things as this is a gift from my brother for shifting to this new flat. The vacuum now looks old and dirty. I am also partially at fault for not moving everything back to my rented flat from the last week shifting.

I am relieved that my renovation has come to an end. Thanks everyone for the advise and concern. My experience has not been a bed of roses. I will sum up my honest experience and assessment with this contractor.

First the pros:

1. From the quotation that I have received, no one else beats his price.

His pricing is about 3k cheaper than the closest contractor. The closest contractor is also a popular contractor in this forum. For ID that I have requested quotation, the quotation is 10k more expensive. So for people with low budget like myself, he is the number 1 choice.

I have actually found another contractor who is cheaper than him but this contractor does only tiling. I will need to arrange for hacking and also clearing of stuff. So found it too troublesome and engage uncle instead.

2. Uncle is very "chin chai" with FOC items and also the VO. I insisted adding stopcocks for all my toilet accessories. He complained that nobody do it this way but still do it for my at no additional cost. My FOC items are stainless steel backing, mirrors and the storeroom shelves.

3. If you want your flat to be made with quality, need to find out the right tiler, carpenter, electrician etc. Must do your research. Not all his team's workmanship is good. So need to do your homework. Eg. Ah Wei is recommended for carpentry.

Cons are:

1. Problem with english. After completing my reno, the quotation is still not ready and I have given up asking for one. So no black and white.

2. Difficult to contact. But I have to admit he seems to be improving alot and return missed calls. However he is OFF on Sunday.

3. Problems with "Aeroplanes" and he does not keep to his timing. Even when he said he is on his way, he might be on his way to someone else place instead of yours.

4. Very very forgetful. I remember given him at least 5 copies of floorplans. And the whole file was lost together with the layout. This might be due to overloading. If he reduces the number of project, his memory should improve.

5. Have to manage third parties instead of just one person. Eg, the electrician, carpenter, window contractor. But sometimes they don't really care and you still need to ask uncle to tell them to do work.

6. Have to keep chasing him for every steps of the reno. If not progress will be slow to a stop. Sometimes workers will be in for two days and disappear for next three days. It is not uncommon.

7. HO delayed. So if you have already sold your flat and need to move out at a stipulated date, please be prepared for delay or make some contingency plan. I didn't, that's why panicky when HO didn't happen.

Lastly I will not delete my thread but if there is anything you feel is not appropriate, do let me know which post # so that I could edit or remove.

Hi gaku,

i know how you felt. My journey was also not very smooth and up till now, uncle still have not come over to do the rectifications.

It's not easy to work with a contractor like uncle if you have a tight deadline because he's sure to miss it

Glad you finally had your HO done. Yours was one the the threads I've followed when considering him and thanks for sharing your honest feedback, helped us alot when we've finally decided on who to go with.

Anyway, finally can move in and move on from this, renovation is just a small part of a brand new beginning:)

glad u managed to shift in.I do not think there is also a need to even delete the posts as they ar real experiences by u with Uncle soon.

Hopefully everything can start to settle.

Hi gaku

congrats! Finally your bitter sweet experience ended liao. Agree, life still goes on....

from what i read from the forums, he has many sub-contractors, and kept changing. (correct me if i'm wrong)

all these results in work held back, and when workers were rushed to complete their work, and get h*ll from uncle if they don't do well or in time,

human nature, the workers don't feel good. And in the end, they give sh*t to the owners.

Hi, i do agreed with u. With the rate ah soon going without proper time and ppl management, he will eventually lose all his customers and workers too. Hope he can change his style in doing business.

blackcar: You are right that to say that he has many sub-contractors and they keep changing. I know that whenever he found that the sub-contractors have quality issue, he will stopped using them.

However, even if the sub-contractor is good, he mentioned to me that it is "heng suay" which workers this subcontractor assigned for your work.

I noticed he is outsourcing most of the work out these days.