gaku70

New Home In The East

mine uncle wanted to meet the aircon guy before the flooring is done, cos he says he wants to conceal part of the pipe?! Usually the aircon trunking can run after flooring is done :) best to confirm with uncle so that you can make the arrangements :)

Concealing the pipes might not be a good idea. If there is a leak, the concealed wall has to be hacked to check the location of the leak.

Ok will check with uncle. In that case, cannot confirm the aircon today.

Concealing the pipes might not be a good idea. If there is a leak, the concealed wall has to be hacked to check the location of the leak.

Ok will check with uncle. In that case, cannot confirm the aircon today.

I agree with you and questioned uncle too...he says "没有问题的。。。" so i am meeting him together with the installer and hopefully I do not get a surprise after the trucking is done! Now i have a hacking issue with HDB...I hope the approval comes quickly...else hor the tiling for the hall will be held up!!! :bangwall:

Just to share with you that i have encountered pipe leak after one year of installation (installed by reputable Gxxx Cxxx). Even after refilling refrigerant, the aircon is not cold after a day or two. The aircon guy has to come back again to open all the trunking and cut the insulation to put soap so as to determine where is the leak.

What is the issue with HDB on hacking? Was it rejected?

thanks for sharing...I also have same concerns about future leaking etc, thus I will want to be present during their discussion, tho uncle assures me there is no need for me to be there lah...

the hacking was actually delayed. When Uncle and Ah Hai called, the officer simply ask them to wait, so ncle ask me to chase, it'll be faster as the officer scared owner will complain. So he says by this week lor..shall see how. But the kitchen, balcony and toilet will continue to be tiled...just the hall gotta wait.

thanks for sharing...I also have same concerns about future leaking etc, thus I will want to be present during their discussion, tho uncle assures me there is no need for me to be there lah...

the hacking was actually delayed. When Uncle and Ah Hai called, the officer simply ask them to wait, so ncle ask me to chase, it'll be faster as the officer scared owner will complain. So he says by this week lor..shall see how. But the kitchen, balcony and toilet will continue to be tiled...just the hall gotta wait.

I think it is good to be there so that you have a clearer picture. My previous aircon contractor also wanted to talk to Uncle but he was about 2 hours late. So contractor left after waiting for about an hour. Anyway there was some problem on who to dismantle the a/c (cos the scrap could be resold). To prevent any dispute, I dropped the recommended aircon contractor.

I do not know why the HDB office is delaying the appoval. If there is no valid reason, then process should be quite fast. Did you do something unusual for your hall?

Not really, according to the officer, the hacking of my wall is ok, just that they need the head office to aprrove it?! I also have no clue on why the delay...he says the architectural ppl has to see the floorplan and all which we already submitted late april..Sigh...the garmen work in their own pace...S.L.O.W.!

I also scared uncle late...i reminded him to be on time when i fix the appointment...the aircon was already dismantled as uncle need to do the hacking at some places. So now, he left the old aircon there...if the aircon installer doesn't want it, they will dispose for us.

It's only week 1 into the reno and I am feeling drained out already...

Not really, according to the officer, the hacking of my wall is ok, just that they need the head office to aprrove it?! I also have no clue on why the delay...he says the architectural ppl has to see the floorplan and all which we already submitted late april..Sigh...the garmen work in their own pace...S.L.O.W.!

I also scared uncle late...i reminded him to be on time when i fix the appointment...the aircon was already dismantled as uncle need to do the hacking at some places. So now, he left the old aircon there...if the aircon installer doesn't want it, they will dispose for us.

It's only week 1 into the reno and I am feeling drained out already...

Maybe your case is one-off. Contractor usually told me HDB approval is quite fast. Since you have submitted to April, maybe you can keep track of the events and speak to the HDB officers. I also checked with Ah Hai on HDB approval and he told me no problem since I don't have much hacking of walls.

Some aircon contractor will trade-in the existing aircon. Mine was still operational and that's why causes some problem. My aircon contractor will charge me $150 extra if he is not doing the dismantling.

I can understand that. Even before the reno, I was already quite drained out. I guess you must be busy going over everyday and that's why you feel very tired, right.

CONGRATSS!!! BTW, where is your location at the east? I am meeting uncle at noon, took half day leave to go meet him and the curtain guys want to take measurements also...so fast leh!

gaku are ur dates wrong? why 30th april then 4 and 5 april again?

You are absolutely right. I have changed the date already. Thanks for pointing out. Maybe too stressed up this few weeks.

familyof4: Thanks. I am in the same vicinity as you. Pasir Ris St 71. Do remember to remind him an hour before meeting him.

Heard that can ask curtain guy to make just the rails and get the curtain in JB cheaper. Can consider if on budget. The curtain guy needs to take measurement to give you a quotation or he has already given you based on floorplan?

Ashes: Sure will take some photos this evening and post.

wah! i also St 71 leh! later can go by ur hse n kpo liao, i going down to see mine after work! haha!

Sure no problem. I am going down to see as well but today cannot sneak out during lunch time. PM me for the unit number.