SW80 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2009 So what actually went wrong with the tiling and capentry? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 from looks it really is nice... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 mm ya I think it looks nice... maybe close up then can see the problems ba. But design wise looks nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 Hope the problems aren't anything major. But seriously, from looking at the pictures, everything looks pretty nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2009 Design is nice and, indeed, it looks good in pictures. It looks [from all the masking tapes] a handful of rectifications. Hope they can be carried out without causing you too much inconveniences. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 ya looking at pics its fine. are u having same probems in terms of cut leg feeling, uneven bits sticking out everywhere? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 (edited) Aubrey: The cut leg feeling is obvious especially in the kitchen. There are also other areas with uneven tiles. I am quite frustrated on the workmanship and the hollow tiles. Have temporary stopped the mover on Sunday from moving my stuff and extended my rental for another week. All: Thanks for all the replys. There are too many rectifications that prevents me from moving in yesterday. When all resolve then I will share in the blog cos don't want any affect uncle's reputation. Edited June 8, 2009 by gaku70 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 (edited) i think uneven/leg cutting tiles are pretty common. I had too and Jason explained was becos the tiles originally came as uneven. But in any case he grind the side of the tiles and dig up the entire kitchen's grouting to redo, that helped a bit. Was bathing last night and realised my shower area got leg cutting tile. After staying in sooo long.... i think i'm blind. Edited June 8, 2009 by mrspiglet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 gaku: will wait for u to update on the rectifications. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 gaku: will wait for u to update on the rectifications. ok update for the day. I had a super busy weekend. Early in the morning went to check the tiles because uncle confirm the night before all the hollow tiles are reworked and I can move in. Was quite frustrated to find some tiles still hollow. After taking a few hours to move some of my stuff and clean the place, I found some time to check the tiles. Was quite shocking to find many tiles are hollow. The last round was checked by the workers and found only 14pcs. For me I didn't count but didn't expect so many. The hollow are usually at the corners. See pix below: Immediately called up the mover to stop the move but pay them some transportation money since they said they already arrived. Earlier I have anticipated delay and ask the landlord that I might rent the flat for another week so quite lucky to arrange the contingency. But need to waste $$ again. I wasn't too happy about the handover condition and just now given uncle 2 pages of rectification to be completed. As expected the water drainage is a problem and doesnt drain well. I did show him the stagnant water from yesterday is still there. Uncle today quite bad mood. He scolded the tiler for the shoddy work and told him if I cannot accept minor hollow, the whole house need to retile. After that the carpenter also kena #$!%^(. Pity the new carpenter as it's his first day of work. Uncle explained that it is quite subjective as some people might feel the tile sound hollow and some might not. Maybe I am abit careful and that's why found many. In the end, told him if minor I can accept but major one has to be reworked. He arranged the tiler to rework the next day because today is my entry day and the folks need to offer prayers and I need to stay there overnight. Uncle then #@)$&)@$) the aircon contractor because the aircon bracket cannot be fixed since the carpentry is done. In the end, need to ask the carpenter to dismantle the cabinet. Uncle also forgot the lay the aircon drainage pipe in the bathroom. Was quite angry about the workmanship of the tiling and carpentry but feel better because uncle say he will definitely rectified the problems. So kudos to him and hope he can rectify the outstanding. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 I saw and heard him F your carpenter and walked around showing him what sort of work other people are doing and ask him many questions. I only remember "你看,人家可以做到,你呢?你不可以!!!" the guy just kept quiet...then went back to 758 and met me again after that. sigh...he didn't smile again when I met him today and we got him a packet of rice, he also say he has no appetite due to some very sloppy work. Hope ur rectifications can be fast fast and soon soon this time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2009 I saw and heard him F your carpenter and walked around showing him what sort of work other people are doing and ask him many questions. I only remember "你看,人家可以做到,你呢?你不可以!!!" the guy just kept quiet...then went back to 758 and met me again after that. sigh...he didn't smile again when I met him today and we got him a packet of rice, he also say he has no appetite due to some very sloppy work. Hope ur rectifications can be fast fast and soon soon this time! I want to be fair to the carpenter as well. I am happy with the work on the wardrobe and built in cabinet in the MBR but not the built in cabinet in the living room, shoe rack and all the cabinets in the kitchen. The differences are quite obvious. So out of the 3 carpenter, only 1 is good. Quite pity him cos uncle told him no projects for him until he get good carpenter. I have too many rectification and don't know when can complete. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2009 Hope your rectifications goes swee swee.......... dont worry... it will be fine as long as Uncle gives his word. I also faced the same thing when handover. Tiles, some hollow. I only 're-do' 2 tiles cos they chipped. Some hollow ones... Uncle team came and just dig the grouting and pour some chemical along the sides. The hollow sound gone. So, this is 1 possible way. I opt for this cos I dont want the hacking and tiling (esp when I have moved in)...... after that, i knock on it, the hollow sound goes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2009 Ok update for the day. Wasted last two day's leave. Thought will be busy unpacking but in the end, didn't do much. Also cannot cancel leave because only Sunday then know so many problems. Yesterday went to check worker are still hacking the floor tiles. Really heartpain to see all my effort go to the drain. The whole place is full of powder, sand and waste again. Told the foreman about the drainage and he was only told to settle the hollow tile. Managed to ask Uncle to talk to him and reluctantly he said will do it tomorrow. Aircon humming issue is a system problem and so arrange panny technician to come on Wednesday. Uncle's battery was flat and called in the late evening to let me that HO will be this friday. He explained that the tiler workmanship is not good when they rush. They have also removed some worker who's workmanship are poor. I also told him that the carpentry work is very poor and I am unhappy with the built in cabinet, kitchen cabinet and shoe rack. He apologised and told me he stopped given work to him until he gets good carpenter. He mentioned Ah Wei and Ah Di's workmanship is the better one. I noticed the workers used my floor mats, bath towels and even my brand new vacuum cleaner. Think they use it to vacuum the sand. Unfortunately I cannot move back part of the stuff back unless I pay the mover for the service. Really sian when part of my things are there already. smallboy: For my case, chemical doesn't help because when I checked, the hollow sound is still the same. Uncle said that they didn't do a good job. Will check rectification work this evening. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites