familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 gaku, uncle decided to continue tiling at my place so that no delay...they shld finish soon...think they will go over to yours soon :)unless uncle decided to change the plan... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 It's a skill we all learn when we deal with Uncle. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 (edited) i think using uncle hor also train our patience leh. I can imagine how angry i will be if it is some other ID who fly all these aeroplanes, but somehow when it is uncle who do that ahhh i tend to be very forgiving. maybe bcos uncle always smiley when meeting us and it is genuine friendly smile.. and not those 皮笑肉不笑 kinda smile Edited May 7, 2009 by ivy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 ya. it's uncle's sincerity that made me signed with him. friendly and easy going. like someone who u can trust. haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 familyof4: Don't think they will go over my side. hacking progress is abit slow. Some windows and wall not hack yet. Don't know why stop work. Uncle brother did said floor hacking must complete first, the rest can do slowly. Don't know how long the hacking will take. Thought within 2 days. Mine today is already third day. ivy, pet: Yes you are right, I think his clients are all the patient lot. My colleague who got the house earlier is less patient and dropped him after two aeroplanes. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 Gaku, hacking generally takes 3 days. Mine did... Somehow I will not get upset with Uncle when he fly me aeroplanes or late for his appointments. Hubby trusted Uncle in the kinda works he delivers for the price we pay. I agree that IDs may not even have 80% of uncle's standard and their prices might not be cheaper (can see from lawry's experience). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 Gaku, hacking generally takes 3 days. Mine did... Somehow I will not get upset with Uncle when he fly me aeroplanes or late for his appointments. Hubby trusted Uncle in the kinda works he delivers for the price we pay. I agree that IDs may not even have 80% of uncle's standard and their prices might not be cheaper (can see from lawry's experience). For me, I don't mind lateness. There were occasions when I had travelled from west to east just to meet him and waited for hours at the void deck. (house too hot without fan) But I was happy when he still made it. Actually If I am at home when he fly aeroplane, I am still alright. But when I have to apply leave just to meet him and called before the appointment and he still fly aeroplane. I will feel that I have wasted time and resource. There were also a few occasions when I have to cancel other appointments to rush back and waited in vain. The worst thing I face so far is that he doesn't answer call and you don't know whether to wait for him or go home. Now I am more thick skinned. Even when he told me no need to remind or confirm with him, I will still call him to check "Uncle, confirm or not" before each appointment. I still believe that Uncle is a reliable and honest contractor. The only problem is that he is too busy and very forgetful nowadays. As many says these aeroplanes come with the package. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 Gaku i think for your case, whereby you have to travel all the way to east hor, dun be shy, call and call and remind him and emphasize to him that you travelled all the way or u took leave. On days that I really can't afford him to fly aeroplanes i will call him 1-2 hours before appt and remind him and emphasize to him not to be late and he did make it! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 ever once i waited at pasir ris for him upon his request as we need to go thru the tiles...he was 1hr late. Hubby kept nagging and it really irritates me lor. but heng uncle turned up after i chased him thrice...flewto pasir ris after work and if he fly me aeroplane, i'll really be upset. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 Gaku i think for your case, whereby you have to travel all the way to east hor, dun be shy, call and call and remind him and emphasize to him that you travelled all the way or u took leave. On days that I really can't afford him to fly aeroplanes i will call him 1-2 hours before appt and remind him and emphasize to him not to be late and he did make it! Talking about that, there is one time I even called 1hr before and then 15 min before to remind him. Guess what he went back to sleep after talking to me, haha... But he still made it after 2 1/2 hrs late and told me he overslept. I was glad he can made it and was honest. Unfortunately my aircon contractor could not wait, make some comment about uncle and left after an hour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 ever once i waited at pasir ris for him upon his request as we need to go thru the tiles...he was 1hr late. Hubby kept nagging and it really irritates me lor. but heng uncle turned up after i chased him thrice...flewto pasir ris after work and if he fly me aeroplane, i'll really be upset. I got that experience as well. For me, he really fly aeroplane but i try my best not to blew my top. That time he asked me if can come earlier. Can you imagine rushing from tuas to PR during the evening peak hour. In the end, waited like a Sotong and realised later that he could not make it. My worst experience is during the tong tu day when he forgotten and told me he cannot come. My folks, FSM etc were shocked when I told them and that day i kena jialat jialat. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 I got that experience as well. For me, he really fly aeroplane but i try my best not to blew my top. That time he asked me if can come earlier. Can you imagine rushing from tuas to PR during the evening peak hour. In the end, waited like a Sotong and realised later that he could not make it. My worst experience is during the tong tu day when he forgotten and told me he cannot come. My folks, FSM etc were shocked when I told them and that day i kena jialat jialat. aiyoh poor thing... seems like yours is one of the worst experience... *sigh* must go and nudged nudged uncle to tell him not to make people upset. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 7, 2009 aiyoh poor thing... seems like yours is one of the worst experience... *sigh* must go and nudged nudged uncle to tell him not to make people upset. Please do not feel that mine is the worst experience. Everytime when he make it to the appointment I felt very happy. Thanks for offering to "nudge" him but it is not necessary. I have already accepted his way of doing things and take it positively. Why I am writing is just to share my experience for other who feel upset about the aeroplanes which I guess I have many experiences. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 That's good! Then you'll feel less stressed and not make yourself upset over something you can't help. Have to learn this from you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 good good. thought u sounded exasperated. hahahha on top of giving us good price uncle give us good lesson. He trained us to stretch our patience. haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites