p3nguins

P3nguins - Route Back Home (no, Not South Pole But Up North..cck To Be Specific)

having wedding and reno together sure scary man....the bank acct bleed like nobody biz...:(

Luckily i have a gd father-in -law, giving some flexi in loans and sponsorship which make it easier...

now main focus is on the reno...after which taking weeding pic and before we know...will be AD liao...$$ n time not enuff...hehehehe

It's the speech that's gonna give me butterflies in my tummy... thank goodness for mummy's love (& lower interest rate :P )

Actually I'm the hubby haha, and I'm living in Tamp. Gona shift to Cck 'cos that's where my in-laws are staying... suits our arrangement 'cos once my mom retires, moves in with us, we'll have both families within walking distance (3 blocks away only) of each other and will be able to look out for one and other, especially after the kids are born :D

wow, count your blessings that you have got mummy's love & money! haha but indeed 4 me, having gone thru, ROM, wedding dinner cum reno. all costs money. wedding really costs a bomb! lucky you. and including can go bk home to eat dinner nx time

It's the speech that's gonna give me butterflies in my tummy... thank goodness for mummy's love (& lower interest rate :P )

Actually I'm the hubby haha, and I'm living in Tamp. Gona shift to Cck 'cos that's where my in-laws are staying... suits our arrangement 'cos once my mom retires, moves in with us, we'll have both families within walking distance (3 blocks away only) of each other and will be able to look out for one and other, especially after the kids are born :D

ooppies! So paiseh. hahah! okok, point noted. u r the hubby.

But very nice hubby to give shift near ur in-laws! ur mum also very understanding and nice, not many parents r willing to chge to a totally new environment.

Speech! I'm gonna task that to my hubby. :rolleyes: U paying interest to ur mum too? Haha! a lot of pple gave me the :unsure: look when i said i'm paying interest to my mum. Not that she insisted, but i dun wanna shortchge her. Make it a win-win situation instead of letting the bank earn the interest!

having wedding and reno together sure scary man....the bank acct bleed like nobody biz...:(

Luckily i have a gd father-in -law, giving some flexi in loans and sponsorship which make it easier...

now main focus is on the reno...after which taking weeding pic and before we know...will be AD liao...$$ n time not enuff...hehehehe

blue_diamond, its sooo scary that when u count the final amt u've spent or going to spent for reno+wedding, u'll be surprise since when u had that kinda money in the bank! i think the moment $ comes in, it just flows out again.

Need to restrain a little during photo selection! :P

envy... got family loan. to think my dad actually rejected me when i asked for loan. i was sad not becos i cant loan the $$$ but why he would coldly reject his daughter without even considering... even a small sum like $2 or $5k makes me feel good. my AD is in Oct, still got some time to save a bit more though there r still plenty of stuffs needed for my hse. Never been this broke in my life!!

anyway, congrats! looking forward to ur reno pics!! :) and tats a huge 5rm u gt there!!

envy... got family loan. to think my dad actually rejected me when i asked for loan. i was sad not becos i cant loan the $$$ but why he would coldly reject his daughter without even considering... even a small sum like $2 or $5k makes me feel good. my AD is in Oct, still got some time to save a bit more though there r still plenty of stuffs needed for my hse. Never been this broke in my life!!

Don't worry. Shlt Happens in life. Alot of people around are in the same situation. =)

Like they say, you're not alone. :P

It's beyond scary, it's terrifying & stressful on the heart haha.. esp when we're doing the reno, ROM, AD, pre-wedding shoot, wedding VG all within the span of 1.5 years.. our bank account statements are pretty much stagnant at the current level :P

When's your reno finishing? Any pics to show for hee *poke my nose around a little*

wow, count your blessings that you have got mummy's love & money! haha but indeed 4 me, having gone thru, ROM, wedding dinner cum reno. all costs money. wedding really costs a bomb! lucky you. and including can go bk home to eat dinner nx time

Haha, have been, am still, and always be mama's little boy :P , and yesh that's actually part of our plan - to go back to parents' and 'leech' on them for meals *ssshhhh* haha kidding..

But yeah, we're really fortunate that our parents are willing to loan us the cash for reno so that we both may concentrate on saving up for the AD dinner

But very nice hubby to give shift near ur in-laws! ur mum also very understanding and nice, not many parents r willing to chge to a totally new environment.

Speech! I'm gonna task that to my hubby. :rolleyes: U paying interest to ur mum too? Haha! a lot of pple gave me the :unsure: look when i said i'm paying interest to my mum. Not that she insisted, but i dun wanna shortchge her. Make it a win-win situation instead of letting the bank earn the interest!

blue_diamond, its sooo scary that when u count the final amt u've spent or going to spent for reno+wedding, u'll be surprise since when u had that kinda money in the bank! i think the moment $ comes in, it just flows out again.

;) count my blessings we both have understanding mums, definitely made our long term planning a lot easier and a chance for both families to be closer to one another.

Haha, pls don't.. it's nerve wrecking having to come up with a speech, come to think of it, i'd better start taking notes for my own hee..

Just like yourself, we're both paying interest to our mums though they didn't ask for it either but we feel it's only right that we pay them interest, as they would have earned interest on the funds otherwise instead of loaning it to us...and totally agree with you! Why let the banks earn the interest... we'd gladly let our own family members earn that interest :P

Hmm waddya mean by "restraint during photo selection"? For your wedding pics, ya afraid you might pick a lot more pics and have to cough up more cash?

anyway, congrats! looking forward to ur reno pics!! :) and tats a huge 5rm u gt there!!

Thanks ashes :) hmmm maybe your dad has his own reasons for turning you down the first time round? We did encounter some difficulty (and hesitation) before we approached our families for a loan, and we took our time to work out & explain to them our reasons for doing things this way

Parents are...just being parents, doing things their way that they feel will benefit us, & teaching us a thing or two on the lessons of life.. which we may not always see it, but they mean well in their own unique way ;)

Just my 2cents worth.. let us all work hard, and save hard for what matters to us most... if all else fails, there's always Singapore Sweep and the next ToTo / 4D draw!!! Huat ah!

So where's the special venue for your AD? how's preparation coming along? After all the stress for the reno and flat is over, we're gonna have to deal with the stress for our pre-wedding shoot, and once that's over we have the ROM stress, followed by.... VG stress... and the ultimatum - AD stress....

and all of us here are actually paying strangers to give ourselves stress.... :D

Ya man...still got to buffer for the losses for AD(banquet)....it like the $$ every month just disappear in a flash....where u taking yr photography?:)

Don't worry. Shlt Happens in life. Alot of people around are in the same situation. =)

Like they say, you're not alone. :P

totally agree!!!! :P

Dont be sad...things will brighten up...:)

It's beyond scary, it's terrifying & stressful on the heart haha.. esp when we're doing the reno, ROM, AD, pre-wedding shoot, wedding VG all within the span of 1.5 years.. our bank account statements are pretty much stagnant at the current level :P

When's your reno finishing? Any pics to show for hee *poke my nose around a little*

Mine not yet started...will be in June....so it will probably be done by Aug lor...:)

U can go my blog to spam as well ah...heheheheh :P

Mine not yet started...will be in June....so it will probably be done by Aug lor...:)

U can go my blog to spam as well ah...heheheheh :P

Haha so cute.. blue and pink diamond.. :P in june.. that's like... 1 weeks time~!~! any recommendation for the kitchen appliances? we know nuts about it... hehe, esp the stove & oven.. other than the fridge & air con has to have 4 Ticks hee

Trust me...we are in same boat...i was totally blurz :huh: about all u have mention when jargon n terms start to flood in... :P

There is few recommended at Jalan Bersah and balestier area. Just realised Geylang seem to have some good deal as well. Will be taking leave to go and walk around these area.

In fact there is a promotion on my blog for a Franke deal which i find it quite tempting...so maybe getting that...hehehehe

Haha, have been, am still, and always be mama's little boy :P , and yesh that's actually part of our plan - to go back to parents' and 'leech' on them for meals *ssshhhh* haha kidding..

But yeah, we're really fortunate that our parents are willing to loan us the cash for reno so that we both may concentrate on saving up for the AD dinner

;) count my blessings we both have understanding mums, definitely made our long term planning a lot easier and a chance for both families to be closer to one another.

Haha, pls don't.. it's nerve wrecking having to come up with a speech, come to think of it, i'd better start taking notes for my own hee..

Just like yourself, we're both paying interest to our mums though they didn't ask for it either but we feel it's only right that we pay them interest, as they would have earned interest on the funds otherwise instead of loaning it to us...and totally agree with you! Why let the banks earn the interest... we'd gladly let our own family members earn that interest :P

Hmm waddya mean by "restraint during photo selection"? For your wedding pics, ya afraid you might pick a lot more pics and have to cough up more cash?

Yalor, I guess the family loan makes everything easier. Imagine skipping all the bank application/submission of income doc/approval hassles. U r not alone!! i LEECH too! full time leecher, told her not to give up my bedroom to my pets cos i wanna come back n sleep too! :P

Restraint = dun allow urself to jump onto the bandwagon of "once in a lifetime" thingy! Many bridal studio's hardsell tactics, just pick those u like n select within ur budget would be safest? B4 we went in, i told my hubby at most only allow him to top up 10 photos, which he really max that out. 8|

Trust me...we are in same boat...i was totally blurz :huh: about all u have mention when jargon n terms start to flood in... :P

There is few recommended at Jalan Bersah and balestier area. Just realised Geylang seem to have some good deal as well. Will be taking leave to go and walk around these area.

In fact there is a promotion on my blog for a Franke deal which i find it quite tempting...so maybe getting that...hehehehe

i almost bought the franke deal too! Was it the one with the Cuizino package? In the end i bought just the hob/hood because i already bought the sink n tap. :(

Yalor, I guess the family loan makes everything easier. Imagine skipping all the bank application/submission of income doc/approval hassles. U r not alone!! i LEECH too! full time leecher, told her not to give up my bedroom to my pets cos i wanna come back n sleep too! :P

Restraint = dun allow urself to jump onto the bandwagon of "once in a lifetime" thingy! Many bridal studio's hardsell tactics, just pick those u like n select within ur budget would be safest? B4 we went in, i told my hubby at most only allow him to top up 10 photos, which he really max that out. 8|

i almost bought the franke deal too! Was it the one with the Cuizino package? In the end i bought just the hob/hood because i already bought the sink n tap. :(

Ahhh... yes... I am guilty of that as well, not on the photos though, but on other stuffs hehe.. most men probably tend to get carried away :P we need wives like you to keep us 'in check' haha

Franke.. hmmm probably too early to start sourcing for my accessories right now though...

I keep seeing loads of recommendations on where to purchase lightnings and furnitures - Plush, Extreme Lightnings etc... Any pointers on the not-so-ethical sellers to note?

Anyone had experience purchasing furniture from Life Storey, and air-cons from Hong Tar in Jurong West? 'Cos been seeing a fair bit of comments on the Mitsubishi Heavy Industry....