Bon07

Bon07 & Ling02's Dream Home

had a problems with the joint issue during my reno. Was kinda irritated because when our ID show us the rendering, he didn't mention about the joints so we thought it would be nice white all the way. But when it was finished , we can see a brown line at the joint because of the material below. sigh.

did some research, you can go for postform laminate also, but similarly need to top up. Else is to change the color. I have a brown table did up, which blend well with joint line.

postform laminate means can bend one issit?

I think we cant do anything if is laminates, especially the joint line. The only thing which can help is using ABS finishing at the corners for the door to seal up the line and protect the laminated from peeling off.

As for the main structure, either you use chipped board which dun have joints or i think those very expensive furniture which has special blasting surface coating.

hehe..things have been moving slowly....no carpentry up yet....past 2 weeks have been all abt tiling...thats why nothing to update really.....but got one big ugly problem with the common bathroom's entrance...maybe i will go take pic and show all here...

past week have been abt spending money only...haha...went to buy most of the elctronics.....like Samsung Series 8 LED TV, a Denon home entertainment system, Hitachi Fridge etc....pocket burnt....*gasp*

I see, yes, do show us a photo of your problem. :unsure:

Yes, fully agree on the money spent "everywhere"...

At least your pocket got burnt (still there), mine - no more pocket already, haha... :P

I see, yes, do show us a photo of your problem. :unsure:

Yes, fully agree on the money spent "everywhere"...

At least your pocket got burnt (still there), mine - no more pocket already, haha... :P

haha..so funny..no more pocket ah....then must buy more clothes (with pockets) before GSS ends.

Aiyo, no pocket (means no $$$), how to buy more clothes, haha... :P

Anyway, you were saying you progress is slow, but is it according to schedule that was given to you?

For me, I was not in the hurry, so I told my ID to do it up nicely (9 weeks) and it was according to his schedule of HO date as planned.

If you are in a "hurry", maybe you could check with your ID to see what can be arranged out of it...

Cheers! :)

Aiyo, no pocket (means no $$$), how to buy more clothes, haha... :P

Anyway, you were saying you progress is slow, but is it according to schedule that was given to you?

For me, I was not in the hurry, so I told my ID to do it up nicely (9 weeks) and it was according to his schedule of HO date as planned.

If you are in a "hurry", maybe you could check with your ID to see what can be arranged out of it...

Cheers! :)

actually, my reno quite simple ..only tiling of 2 toilets and lotsa carpentry. Tilings almost done (90%). which took quite long cos we were quite particular abt the workmanship here and specifically want it to be done nicely and warned the ID that we will be super picky abt it. thats why the Shifu took quite a long time.

and there will several issues with our MBR toilet cos as can be seen from our 3D pic, it has got a (1)hollow block wall; (2) false ceiling and (3) the shower area's floor tile and yes i mean TILE, just one giant kick-*** single tile surrounded by white pebble stones. these 3 combo have caused many technical issues to arise especially the "running" of the water in the shower area to ensure no flooding when we bath.

and as for carpentry, we haven finalised the drawings and details yet. again, super picky here. haha

as for the schedule, i din really keep track of it but i just took a look, pretty much on schedule unless carpentry side mess up big time.

then all my furniture and electronics must delay and hopefully still can move in slowly before hungry ghost's month.

we wun be doing a 100% move in at one go though, cos my new hse is only like 3 min drive between my current place and my wife's current place, forming a triangle of 3 mins! so we will be moving stuff bit by bit, as and when we need anythings, just go home take. haha...

Reno Diary Update for week 29/06/2009 to 05/07/2009

Ok, let's see this week have been abt tiling and solving problems in the MBR toilet. and of cos more buying of stuffs, including big ticket items like tv, fridge and washing machine and the home entertainment system. the first 3 items, we have been aiming for months, so it was chop chop getting them. but we spend another 3-4 hours testing sound systems....but salesguy was my bro's fren, so he was super patient, bringing us back n forth between rooms after rooms......Initial budget for the home entertainment system was just 1k. not a big audiophile really, so just wanted the regular cheap Home-Theater-in-a-Box. but after comparing the sounds of several systems and the whimsical fancy of wifey and myself, the budget was increased by another $600 to 1.6k, to get a Denon 7.1 system. total damage at the electronic shop was a staggering 5 figure, biggest invoice so far. but its worth it.

took delivery of our hansgrohe set and art basin for the MBR toilet too.

then more shopping at robinsons expo and bought bath mats, towels, Lock n Lock stuffs and rice container (Bee Thung, haha). wanted to get a $98 Europace standing fan but was sold out, argh.

went to get our PLC lights for the MBR and MBR toilet with my cousin-in-law and he was shock that we have 13 PLC lights in just these 2 places! haha....not a lot lah...

2 in the toilet.

1 at the MBR entrance, which is also entrance to toilet.

2 shining down beside wifey's side of her bed.

2 beside mine.

3 on the L-box shining sideways

2 in walk-in-wardrobe.

1 halogen spot light in walk-in-wardrobe shining at the wall opp entrance to illuminate watever future art piece it will be there.

all warm white....control by an array of switches, so all wun be on at one go, of cos...:)...not bright right?...forget to mention that all double tube...haha

went Home fix and self fix hunting for spray bidet for the 2 toilets although i bought an bidet seat cover for the MBR toilet. should be getting the stainless steel ones in Self fix at vivo.

went Proof Living @Stamford House to hunt for coffee table and dining chairs. Was quoted an insane amount for a very very nice looking coffee table. was really disappointed actually, cos tot i finally found it when the salesguy said, "it cost Seven ...Nine....Six...".....but then came the "Zero"

alamak! why liddat!...then he said " i can give u 30% discount" and started punching his calculator. i was thinking "bro, u give me 50% discount also no use, still beyond my budget. unless u give my 90%"

sianz...

went XZQT and saw their new arrival, Funk Chair, very comfy and stylo for a dining chair but beyond budget again...$998 for 4....worth it anot?

I am thinking of at most $800 for 4 chairs....

and the week ended with the coffee table and dining chairs at large...elusive...sungei kadut next..................

huh??? the coffee table cos 4 figure?? make of what?? gold ah?!

1m by 1m glass top with scented wood legs....not gold, but not cheap.

not within my budget ..haha....

even if gold, also no money to pay.

Hi folks, some pictures to share today as the tiling work for the 2 toilets are done but before the acid wash. so its a bit dirty and the effect cannot be seen clearly :)

today went to lay the pebbles with the Shifu, got my hands and legs dirty...

mbrtoilet090709003.jpg

finished product...i laid that strip near by the shower kerb.

mbrtoilet090709007.jpg

shower shelving for the shampoos and shower foams...

mbrtoilet090709015.jpg

Boxed-up pipe clad in "rusty" tiles...

mbrtoilet090709016.jpg

Finished look before wash and plumbing stuffs up...which is not very nice cos of the layer of cement, plaster and watnot

mbrtoilet090709011.jpg

Edited by Bon07

Common toilet tiles....effect not captured at all...look nicer "live". basically the tiles give a wallpaper effect...

mbrtoilet090709018.jpg

mbrtoilet090709020.jpg

took a break to enjoy the "view"...

mbrtoilet090709021.jpg

mbrtoilet090709022.jpg

Not bad to add on your personal touch with the pebbles wor (so you've contributed in , haha...

Yeah, indeed still can't see a clearer view of the end "product" before the acid wash.

By the way, I suppose a shower screen would also be constructed there right?

Not bad to add on your personal touch with the pebbles wor (so you've contributed in , haha...

Yeah, indeed still can't see a clearer view of the end "product" before the acid wash.

By the way, I suppose a shower screen would also be constructed there right?

hehe...ya...i am glad i contributed, but not only this wor...still got many things i DIY..haha

ya, there will be a shower screen with door cos we are using overhead rain shower which is right in the middle of the shower area, so a screen alone cant prevcent the water from splashing out...

see tat tile...its 600mm by 1200mm...one single tile which my lady like a lot...so hopefully, it wun cos flooding due to water unable to "run" to the floor trap...the floor trap is also not the usual one...its 600mm by 100mm to "catch" more water to increase flow rate......cost me a mini-bomb .... :bangwall:

if you worry about joint lines, choose those solid core ones. they are more expensive then the usual ones but it will look better, esp if you are choosing white laminate.

I wanted to save on cost and choose the normal white glossy laminate, regret big time cos the joint line really stands out.

Ivy, i heeded ur advice and chose Formica's solid core laminate for my tv console and my dining feature wall.

had a problems with the joint issue during my reno. Was kinda irritated because when our ID show us the rendering, he didn't mention about the joints so we thought it would be nice white all the way. But when it was finished , we can see a brown line at the joint because of the material below. sigh.

did some research, you can go for postform laminate also, but similarly need to top up. Else is to change the color. I have a brown table did up, which blend well with joint line.

our ID warned us abt the ugly joint lines beforehand..which was good, or else i will be super irritated...

asked them abt the postform laminate...looks like not suitable for our tv console and dining feature...so chose solid core instead....