Bon07

Bon07 & Ling02's Dream Home

mine is contractor price leh, so it will not be a fair comparison. I do have some ID's quote before but all dunno throw where le :x let me go and see whether i can dig them out and give u a rough idea of what is a more reasonable quote.

before that u see, ur shoe cabinet and the box up cost u like more than $2k??? my god. my contractor price for a 4ft full height shoe cabinet is $700. which is about $175 per foot fun. Say if it is ID maybe they charge $200-$220, for 6.5ft is at most $1500. not sure how other forummers think. but in my view the calculation should be around there.

there's another forummer who use blum and i think the runner ID quoted $200+ per set but blum charges contractor at contractor rate so contractor charge her around $90+ for 1 runner can save $100.

Engaging contractor will be more cost effective in a way cos u need not pay for ID salary and ID firm's profit and they usually outsource to various sub contractors who will also need to make a profit. However the biggest problem with engaging contractor is u as home owner gotta play project manager and be your own ID.

yeah...agree agree...hmm...i think then i better not trouble u to dig out then....u got to monitor ur own reno too...but thanks anyway....:)

I'm upset. Yesterday copy and pasted your quote and commented one everything... item by item.. and then... I lost internet connection!

I agree with Ivy.

I think for all the feature walls they are really expensive. They must be very special to justify that kind of price. If it's just plain old laminate and wallpaper then I think they aren't worth it.

As for the carpentry cos you have some frills here and there, the coloured laminated insides and the BLUM. So it'll cost a little more than usual but it seems ok.

See if you can get FOC on some of the small items like installation on accessories and stuff.. it'll save you a lot for both toilets. :)

Your quote does not include electrical.. and that'll cost you another 1-2k.

Edited by pinkpetter

I'm upset. Yesterday copy and pasted your quote and commented one everything... item by item.. and then... I lost internet connection!

I agree with Ivy.

I think for all the feature walls they are really expensive. They must be very special to justify that kind of price. If it's just plain old laminate and wallpaper then I think they aren't worth it.

As for the carpentry cos you have some frills here and there, the coloured laminated insides and the BLUM. So it'll cost a little more than usual but it seems ok.

See if you can get FOC on some of the small items like installation on accessories and stuff.. it'll save you a lot for both toilets. :)

Your quote does not include electrical.. and that'll cost you another 1-2k.

ahhh...dun be upset....thanks for ur effort! its very appreciated...:)

I think the description of the items not very clear....maybe i will attempt to clarify here and you all see if its worth it....

first, the confirmed layout

getattachmenth.jpg

B Foyer and Shelter Area

1 To design and install (est L6.5ft) full ht shoe cabinet with backing using solid-ply laminate/veneer finishing 2,110

Its actually a 5 feet full ht shoe cabinet with a small display shelve opening and the shelve's back and side walls will becladed in tinted mirror with the shelve's top in glass. The remaining 1.5 feet is a settee and behind the settee is not see thru towards the living room but a full ht backing clad in tinted mirror. In addition, the entire back of the shoe cabinet (2m long) is also a feature wall in laminate and 1/3 of it in tinted mirror. The design of this feature wall will "continue" until the box-up feautre wall of the bomb shelter. hence the feature wall there also clad in laminate and 1/3 tinted mirror.

2 To design and instal (est L4.5ft) ful ht box-up using solid-ply laminate/veneer finishing c/w tic-tac door at shelter area 900

With this design, i dunno if its overpriced, cos the shoe cabinet's backing is not facing the wall but is another feature wall itself...

C Living Hall Area

1 To design and install (est L9ft) TV console w/ drawer unit using solid-ply laminate/veneer finishing 1,260

2 To design and install (est L9ft) full ht feature wall using solid-ply laminate/veneer finishing at console area 1,800

After comparing this with other quotes and the kind pple's comments here, i think i shall bargain with my ID on this item...:)

3 To supply grinding and varnish existing platform parquet flooring 100

Electical is not quoted here...but actually the ID quoted me electical amounting to $1270 based on my layout. But i am prepared to spend a bit more on electical after seeing Reiki Sanctuary with all her multiple power points; so kiasu, I like...haha

All in all, ID gives me an discount of $800...so total cost (including electrical (initial estimate) is $34880.

Edited by Bon07

I think after your explanation.. the shoe cabinet sounds worthwhile as tinted mirror is not cheap...

yeah, the shoe cabinet side only the display shelf is in tinted mirror and the settee's back is tinted. But the "backside" of the shoe cabinet is in laminate and tinted mirror.

But I guess i shall haggle for the price to come down some more...:)

im drooling....u really got a very nice house u noe..even before reno!!!!!!!!!!

kim tian is my dream location! u got a really gd deal..when i was house hunting last yr, tt area would have cost 50k-70k above valuatioN! i was so depressed that i cant live there!

im sure after reno, ur house be realli nice!!

im drooling....u really got a very nice house u noe..even before reno!!!!!!!!!!

kim tian is my dream location! u got a really gd deal..when i was house hunting last yr, tt area would have cost 50k-70k above valuatioN! i was so depressed that i cant live there!

im sure after reno, ur house be realli nice!!

thank you for the compliments!...

i put off hse hunting last year in that area cos of the high COV until I saw that there was a chance to get zero COV or below COV this year then i "swooped" in. And i stood firm on not paying any cash no matter what, but i was glad the owner was realistic in the current hdb mkt sentiments, so his initial offer was already 5 k below COV...:)

Hi all, some 3D drawings

Shoe cabinet...behind the settee supposed to be tea-tinted mirror which the ID did not put in, gonna ask her abt it tml...

shoecabinetv1.jpg

We find the top portion of the shoe cabinet a bit plain. Any comments? :)

Master Bathroom

toilet3v1.jpg

livingv1.jpg

Edited by Bon07

nice 3Ds. I like the TV feature wall. Agree that the shoe cabinet looks a bit plain, probably can ask ur ID to hype it up a little.

Hi all, some 3D drawings

Shoe cabinet...behind the settee supposed to be tea-tinted mirror which the ID did not put in, gonna ask her abt it tml...

shoecabinetv1.jpg

We find the top portion of the shoe cabinet a bit plain. Any comments? :)

Master Bathroom

toilet3v1.jpg

livingv1.jpg

Which ID you choose from? cant seem to locate on your thread and signature...

Edited by Kartell

nice 3Ds. I like the TV feature wall. Agree that the shoe cabinet looks a bit plain, probably can ask ur ID to hype it up a little.

yeah, my wife likes the tv feature wall too. but this is version one. There is another version which she likes even better; the 2 tinted mirrors are at the side instead of top and bottom. But ID haven send me the 3Ds.

yeah, we found the shoe cabinet to be really boring after a while...

yeah, my wife likes the tv feature wall too. but this is version one. There is another version which she likes even better; the 2 tinted mirrors are at the side instead of top and bottom. But ID haven send me the 3Ds.

yeah, we found the shoe cabinet to be really boring after a while...

Hey Bon

Do you like this drawings, we gave this ideas to our ID and here is the wall feature. We didnt go ahead due to budget constraints

4962_85672203066_543363066_2084715_82701

Hey Bon

Do you like this drawings, we gave this ideas to our ID and here is the wall feature. We didnt go ahead due to budget constraints

4962_85672203066_543363066_2084715_82701

i love the hanging light leh..u bot it ?

very chio!