carrot4

Mattress Needed!

Dear All

May I just gv some comments?

When I got married 5yrs ago, we were very tight on budget, hence bought from a shop at IMM, a Magic Koil Orthopaedic mattress. Back then the price was close to 1k.

We tot it was rather comfy until 3yrs later, we started hearing some springs squeaking. We tried to tahan sleeping on it cos afterall 1k for 3yrs when it's said warranty for 10yrs.

Till tis yr, hb couldn't take it anymore. His backache was getting worse. No choice, we've decided to do some mattress shopping. I also found the Top 10 mattress link & went ahead & target at the few big brands.

We tried Simmons, Slumberland, Serta & we didn't quite like it. Then we tried on Sealy & given clear explanation on how the coil system works, we were certain this would suit us best in terms of value for $$. The lady actually asked if we were side or back sleeper & frm there she recm the appropriate firmness for us. Besides Sealy holds a 10yr guarantee (not warranty) on their coil system. They also assured, a gd mattress will not keep u tossing whole night thru.

Guarantee -> if there is any defect on the coil, no qns ask & they will do a 1 to 1 exchange or something similar if the model is obselete. No extra costs involved.

Warranty -> they can b at ur service bt w/ charges applicable

Since the day we started sleeping on it 2mths back, hb & I + my boy hv been sleeping on the mattress. & it's true, my boy hardly tossed & I hv nt heard hb complaining backache like he used to do.

Gd mattress is worth investing, if you can afford. We try to convince ourselves, 3k+ over 10yrs over 365 days, how much is the mattress worth only? & the lady commented, a gd mattress can even last as long as up to 15yrs.

Some of my gfs bought Simmons & they also liked it v much - Beautyrest I think. My gf's cousin paid a 12k mattress at Robinsons somemore.. I would hv bought the Unicased range if we hv much $$ to afford; hb was so tempted to pay via instalments for a 7k mattress!

After all these shopping, then we understand y would some ppl pay so much for a mattress cos the comfort is there. Ur back is impt, dun let a too cheap mattress ruin it or u will regret for the rest of the live.

In terms of firmness, it's v individual, some ppl like the super plush feel of the mattress, while some like to slp on super firm mattress. For me, I rather take a medium range. Anyway as days go by we your mattress seasons, it will also get softer. Do note - latex is def more durable & airier interms of memory foam.

If u r comparing Courts, Taka, vs the boutiques, I was told, those range at dept stores are custom-made for them. It's still their brands, just tat it's nt the same. You can say the range in boutiques are the Premium range. If u want a difference, go for Premium at the boutiques; if not pay a visit at the dept stores. Few mths back Robinsons actually did a trade-in offer of $600, on top of their promo price. Do check out wats on offer at the dept stores b4 u sign on the dotted line.

We bought our bedframe at Courts Bt Timah, King size for abt $800. Those at boutiques were nt exactly manufactured by them; they all also prob took frm the same supplier & put them under their brand. Hence the lady told us, if we can find a cheaper one outside by all means.

Happy shopping :)

Sorry to inform you that you are being over charge. Magic Koil Orthopedic was quoted to me by Dreamzzzllp @ SGD458 with 2 FOC latex pillows...

Regards

Sorry to inform you that you are being over charge. Magic Koil Orthopedic was quoted to me by Dreamzzzllp @ SGD458 with 2 FOC latex pillows...

Regards

Hi Sammi

Do you mean you bought it lately or when? The Magic Koil I had was 6yrs ago already & I bought it at IMM. Anyway tats history, & no point being angry if we were indeed being over-charged.

MissyV

I fully agree w/ u tat nt everybody can afford to go for expensive ones. Tats y las time when I first got my new hse, & we were budgeted, we had to do alot of homework, which was why we settled w/ a cheaper mattress first.

Hmm, somebody had bad experience w/ Sealy? Or something else? I am fine w/ it, anyway it's free expression in forum, & I also nv tgt anybody in specific. :)

I am sure every business will have gd & bad feedback, because everybody's expectations are not the same. The feedback I gotten was nt just frm the salesppl bt also frm my gfs who shared wat they heard when shopping for a mattress.

Regards

Don't worry different mattress because the Orthopedic Care model is only about 4 years old.

Also, if you really want to know, this is not a real pocket coil mattress, it is just a normal spring mattress with material covering the springs.

In fact, there isn't a single individually pocketed coil mattress in the Singapore market that retails for less than 1K.

Look out for things that say clipped pocket coil. Means not the real thing.

Hi Big Head,

Many thanks for sharing.

Of cos everyone would love to be able to afford and to have brands like Simmons and Sealy. =)

But we really cant afford... haha.. btw, i read thru a blog while doing my shopping and found that wat was written in it have in some ways counter what you had shared...

Anyway, it was not really happy shopping after all.. haha... Head also giddy liao. =P

http://www.slate.com/id/93956/

Go to Courts Megastore, they have an extensive range of Sealy and Simmons, prices start from less than 1K.

SamTheMan

I dun remember seeing Sealy & Simmons for less than 1k at Courts though. Even cheapest range also starts from 1k+.

Anyway - whoever is shopping tis wkend - enjoy!

Have a great weekend. :)

I just bought a queen-sized Sealy Mayfair from IMM, to be delivered in Nov :)

Anyone who bought this model? What do you think of this one?