mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 This one very ugly leh...your ID cannot do anything about it? oh man, really that bad ar? n i was trying hard to convince myself that it wont be too noticeable! forget to take a pix before the box up.. have try my best to use paint to add in the actual location of the pipes.. not very good at it.. e pipe came out from the toilet and e position is very near to the left hand side of the box up.. after which, it run under e main beam and across to e room.. hence, to box up the whole thing starting from the toilet, it will 'hit' my room door.. actually thought of removing the right hand box up as shown below.. its empty there.. but scare it will bring more attention to it! will it be better if i cut it out? or worse?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 If shelf is too high to reach, how about a suspended cabinet? Ikea has those suspended cabinets that you can fix just under the aircon trunking. Think should be quite cheap, and will be able to hide the trunking bah. Haha, how come don't paint some walls a different colour? Sort of like a feature wall? thanks! think need to pop by ikea to look for solutions liao.. really big headache ar.... oh.. we didnt choose other color partly because of fengshui.. lucky color is green, yellow n white.. did thought of painting the wall green but as our theme is white house, scare it will be too loud n it might crash with the overall theme.. wanted to paint grey also but color not suitable for both of us.. not very good with e color combi.. dunno how to play with e wall color.. still deciding should we add in other colors to e rooms a not.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 terok!no proper planning before running the aircon piping and cables ah?! wahhh .. did the air con people run thru with you how they going to run the pipe before they start work? have, run through once with ID before e aircon guys came to install n it seems to be a problem liao.. jus not confirm yet.. when aircon guy come to install, e suggestion given was similar to ID.. seems like its e only way to run it.. no choice.. .. now can only think of ways to beautify/hide it liao.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 hmm ya, after seeing urs like that, i must be careful le. but ur previous owner never install aircon? if they did should have lesser trunking ma? i only saw the old fashion aircon in ur mbr. i forgot to take pics of my new place's aircon trunking. must take next time. i intend to install one normal size in mbr and 2 big ones in the living n combined rooms. a friend of mine bought Mitsubishi but forgot which one must ask her. its a long n bulkier type but she on 27degrees only v cold le! previous owner everything also dun have la.. cause their intention is to sell e house after 5 years so didnt reno at all.. only fixture is e kitchen cabinet n a huge closet in 1 of e common room.. aircon is those window casement kind only in master bedroom.. toking abt e old aircon, i need suggestions too to beautify the seal up area for the aircon window.. sian.. my house like suddenly become very ugly liao.. oh.. then like that means u will be getting 2 fan coil? master bedroom one shouldnt b a problem.. but still must depend on your bed facing.. to see where to put e aircon unit to blow your direction.. for living room one mayb can use false ceiling to cover it up? e rooms is a problem~~~ hopefully your contractor can help u to think of better way! n i forget to add in an important factor.. GC guy say that MHI consume less energy than starmex! dunno true a not la.. hehe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 mine also not nice for 2 rooms, consolation is the other 2 room and pipe running in th living room well taken care of... u also got thicker insulator for your aircon? wat u doing to e ugly pipings? a little regret getting the thicker one.. but if didnt, scare later aircon got sweating problem.. hai... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 u also got thicker insulator for your aircon? wat u doing to e ugly pipings? a little regret getting the thicker one.. but if didnt, scare later aircon got sweating problem.. hai... yup yup!!! still don't know yet...tomorrow gonna discuss with my contractor see got any solution....like what i say...luckily most of them swee swee esp living area....i'm thinking of using cabinet or table to hide the MBR and study... sometimes no choice for me i also prefer less problem in future..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 (edited) Moving on to electric works.. Living False ceiling & L-Box Messy wires... i like my ceiling! though its a very normal L-box n false ceiling.. n actually e false ceiling doesnt shorten my living room height at all.. always thought by putting a false ceiling will shorten my living area.. think only older flat have a shorter ceiling height? Master Bedroom false ceiling.. Edited May 25, 2009 by mumulovenest Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mumulovenest 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 I got a few questions to ask n seek opinion from regarding lighting.. Firstly, for cove light.. assuming the length of the false ceiling to be 13ft, would u be getting.. 1) 3 x 4ft of T5 light - This will result in 2 small gap without light being able to shone through hence creating a shadow effect.. OR 2) 4 x 4ft of T5 light - Allow overlapping of light to eliminate the shadow effect.. Is this important? will we be able to notice the shadow if we use only 3 light? 2ndly, when u change the electric socket from 1 socket to 2 socket, do your contractor/ID charge u? If so do they charge u on the casing only, or the casing + additional point (need additional point? im not too sure..) 3rdly. i would like to move 1 of my SCV point in my common room.. how would e electrician move? by pulling the wire from e original point to the intended point and put all e wires inside the casing or create another new scv point? quite confuse on these electrical works.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 previous owner everything also dun have la.. cause their intention is to sell e house after 5 years so didnt reno at all.. only fixture is e kitchen cabinet n a huge closet in 1 of e common room.. aircon is those window casement kind only in master bedroom.. oh.. then like that means u will be getting 2 fan coil? master bedroom one shouldnt b a problem.. but still must depend on your bed facing.. to see where to put e aircon unit to blow your direction.. for living room one mayb can use false ceiling to cover it up? e rooms is a problem~~~ hopefully your contractor can help u to think of better way! n i forget to add in an important factor.. GC guy say that MHI consume less energy than starmex! dunno true a not la.. hehe.. wa u still up? not so sure abt the 2fan coil u talking abt cos we also havent really go searching for the one we like. hmmm seeing urs like that, i also worry le. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 thanks! think need to pop by ikea to look for solutions liao.. really big headache ar.... oh.. we didnt choose other color partly because of fengshui.. lucky color is green, yellow n white.. did thought of painting the wall green but as our theme is white house, scare it will be too loud n it might crash with the overall theme.. wanted to paint grey also but color not suitable for both of us.. not very good with e color combi.. dunno how to play with e wall color.. still deciding should we add in other colors to e rooms a not.. green goes very well with white. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 (edited) oh man, really that bad ar? n i was trying hard to convince myself that it wont be too noticeable! forget to take a pix before the box up.. have try my best to use paint to add in the actual location of the pipes.. not very good at it.. e pipe came out from the toilet and e position is very near to the left hand side of the box up.. after which, it run under e main beam and across to e room.. hence, to box up the whole thing starting from the toilet, it will 'hit' my room door.. A question: Can it run along the side of the main beam instead of under the main beam? Edited May 26, 2009 by ocheeeng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 previous owner everything also dun have la.. cause their intention is to sell e house after 5 years so didnt reno at all.. only fixture is e kitchen cabinet n a huge closet in 1 of e common room.. aircon is those window casement kind only in master bedroom.. toking abt e old aircon, i need suggestions too to beautify the seal up area for the aircon window.. sian.. my house like suddenly become very ugly liao.. I think HDB default comes with that kind of wooden panel. My old place also has it. Just paint it to the wall color. Not so obvious one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 (edited) I got a few questions to ask n seek opinion from regarding lighting.. Firstly, for cove light.. assuming the length of the false ceiling to be 13ft, would u be getting.. 1) 3 x 4ft of T5 light - This will result in 2 small gap without light being able to shone through hence creating a shadow effect.. OR 2) 4 x 4ft of T5 light - Allow overlapping of light to eliminate the shadow effect.. Is this important? will we be able to notice the shadow if we use only 3 light? 2ndly, when u change the electric socket from 1 socket to 2 socket, do your contractor/ID charge u? If so do they charge u on the casing only, or the casing + additional point (need additional point? im not too sure..) 3rdly. i would like to move 1 of my SCV point in my common room.. how would e electrician move? by pulling the wire from e original point to the intended point and put all e wires inside the casing or create another new scv point? quite confuse on these electrical works.. Depending on the effects you want Need to overlap if you don't want to see shadow. Or you can use 2 x 4FT, 2 x 3FT too For your 2nd question, depends if they pull extra wires from the mains. If yes, 1 additional point. If not, just the casing. Note your power requirement for these points lor. If using for oven, hob, hood, fridge, washing machine and dryer , best to pull seperate wires for each point as they draw high current. Edited May 25, 2009 by ocheeeng Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 previous owner everything also dun have la.. cause their intention is to sell e house after 5 years so didnt reno at all.. only fixture is e kitchen cabinet n a huge closet in 1 of e common room.. aircon is those window casement kind only in master bedroom.. toking abt e old aircon, i need suggestions too to beautify the seal up area for the aircon window.. sian.. my house like suddenly become very ugly liao.. Maybe u can add some decals to made it beautiful.. oh.. then like that means u will be getting 2 fan coil? master bedroom one shouldnt b a problem.. but still must depend on your bed facing.. to see where to put e aircon unit to blow your direction.. for living room one mayb can use false ceiling to cover it up? e rooms is a problem~~~ hopefully your contractor can help u to think of better way! n i forget to add in an important factor.. GC guy say that MHI consume less energy than starmex! dunno true a not la.. hehe.. I'm using MHI presently. The energy consumption didn't have much different, starmex more expensive ($1K plus different), but lesser noise (MHI condenser and unit itself was louder). As for maintenance, MHI got this auto self clean function. Both have inverter system. My view was for fequently used rooms, use inverter, for seldom used, use non-inverter. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 as to your question of whether to cut the corner of the box up, my personal opinion is i rather not. cos if you cut it, it'll have more contour and probably attract more attention to it. Actually in Fengshui, white and grey is interchangeable if I am not wrong. Yellow and brown also interchangeable as both represents earth colour. Maybe can check with your FSM on the alternative colours. Like my MBR, FSM says best colour is yellow but if I dun like yellow I can replace with brown. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites