XiaoBinBin

B&b's Love Nest @ Bishan

Preliminary Renovation Plan

[Living / Dining Hall] *Living Hall is near to kitchen / Dining Hall is near to MD

- Hack existing tiles & lay homogenous tiles

- Build parition full height half width under center ceiling beam

- Split living hall lighting point into two and resposition (TV area is off centre of wall)

- TV Feature Wall

- Reposition & Resequence dining hall false celining downlights

- Install new lights above dining table

[study Room] ~Air conditioned room

- Seal up wall recess (wall against seating area)

- Reposition electrical / scv point

- Laminated flooring

[Common Bedroom]

- Laminated flooring

- Remove window flim (not replacing)

[Master Bedroom] ~Air conditioned room

- Seal up wall recess (wall against bed)

- 7 ft wardrobe w sliding door

- New light point

- Remove window flim (not replacing)

- Laminated flooring

[Master Bedroom Toilet]

- Remove all sanitary wares

- Install new sanitary wares

- New vanity top

[Kitchen] !Major revamp - Gallery style

- Seal up opening bar top

- Sliding glass door

- Reposition hob/hood to opposite wall

- Reposition gas pipe

- Reposition sink to opposite wall (may remain unchange)

- Reposition water pipe (may remain unchange)

- New base for cooking zone

- Extended base for fridge located left lower corner

- New top n bottom cabinets with one tall unit

- All hinges/runners from Blum

[Common Toilet]

- Overlay with new floor tiles

- Remove all sanitary wares

- Install new sanitary wares

[special Notes]

- Shoe rack in storeroom

- All rooms will be painted white @_@!

- Sealing wall recess with board; No wetworks involved

Looks like you have many more works after your FSM's visit.. I dun dare to see FSM, scared later they will ask me to do something drastic that i don't like my home to be in that manner.. hee..

Sigh...bo bian ;)

Question for all:

Washing machine base - Y or N?

My unit has only one fixed place for WM...does it even make a diff to have a base - despite know if helps to prevent water flooding into motor.

Question for all:

Washing machine base - Y or N?

My unit has only one fixed place for WM...does it even make a diff to have a base - despite know if helps to prevent water flooding into motor.

xbb, ur thread is moving so fast.... can't catch up.

mortar base for wm and fridge/cabinets are erected for folks who like to splash lotsa water when cleaning their kitchen.

if u belong to this school, then it's better to have a mortar base.

i did mine without.

xbb, ur thread is moving so fast.... can't catch up.

mortar base for wm and fridge/cabinets are erected for folks who like to splash lotsa water when cleaning their kitchen.

if u belong to this school, then it's better to have a mortar base.

i did mine without.

thread slow you mean...haha almost gone missing ;)

Don't understand why they wanna splash so much water anyway...haha

The next question: My fridge will be protruding more than standard 60cm depth ...ugly to make a extended base along a straight/dry kitchen?

Or shld i forgo the base?

Note: Fridge is at one corner. Next to it will be a tall unit.

Edited by XiaoBinBin

thread slow you mean...haha almost gone missing ;)

Don't understand why they wanna splash so much water anyway...haha

The next question: My fridge will be protruding more than standard 60cm depth ...ugly to make a extended base along a straight/dry kitchen?

Or shld i forgo the base?

i guess it's up to own preference. i think without would make look uniform

I didn't want to do bases at first. But my MIL has a habit of washing the kitchen at the previous place. I didn't know if she'll do that again at my place, so just did loh.

In the end, I quite like the base. The base will allow my toes to move in and b closer to the counter top, easier to cook and lean against the counter top. If there's no concrete base, I believe the contractors will do a wooden base to elevate ur kitchen cabinet doors to avoid them scraping against the floor. And wooden bases are not as hardy as concrete bases, as the space btw the floor to the cabinet bottom is empty. At least I know my concrete base won't crack and my heavy pots/pans fall through.

Hope u understand what I'm trying to explain. hehehehehe :D

I didn't want to do bases at first. But my MIL has a habit of washing the kitchen at the previous place. I didn't know if she'll do that again at my place, so just did loh.

In the end, I quite like the base. The base will allow my toes to move in and b closer to the counter top, easier to cook and lean against the counter top. If there's no concrete base, I believe the contractors will do a wooden base to elevate ur kitchen cabinet doors to avoid them scraping against the floor. And wooden bases are not as hardy as concrete bases, as the space btw the floor to the cabinet bottom is empty. At least I know my concrete base won't crack and my heavy pots/pans fall through.

Hope u understand what I'm trying to explain. hehehehehe :D

Hi Angel!

Thank you for your inputs!

Kitchen cabinet base is definitely a MUST.

Fridge and WM base not a necessity anymore because we dun wash floor like canteen (quote from my HTB) haha

The base nearest to drain will have a opening to allow any flooding to flow out...so the floor is also lay with a certain gradient towards it. =)

Tomorrow evening will be recapping requirements and finalising items with contractor!

Yeah!!!!! Shopping time $ $ $ =(

Hi Angel!

Thank you for your inputs!

Kitchen cabinet base is definitely a MUST.

Fridge and WM base not a necessity anymore because we dun wash floor like canteen (quote from my HTB) haha

The base nearest to drain will have a opening to allow any flooding to flow out...so the floor is also lay with a certain gradient towards it. =)

Tomorrow evening will be recapping requirements and finalising items with contractor!

Yeah!!!!! Shopping time $ $ $ =(

Alamak, oh. So ur talking abt fridge and WM base ah? Hee.. Paiseh, tink I read too fast then. Hehehehee... :P Yah, tink nowadays lots of pple don't do fridge and WM base liao. :)

The Hunt

Since 9th May, HTB and I have been inviting a handful of contractors and a ID to visit our place.

In chronological order,

Contractor A

- Read from RT Forum

- Very cool (almost expressionless) and patient

- Everything ok to do yet will remind us what is more expensive to do

- Quotation: Well itemised and reasonable

Contractor B

- Read from RT Forum

- Doesn't seem to give any valuable inputs

- Anything that is not height, told us to buy from shops

- Has projects in Malaysia

- Quotation: Not much details; More expensive than A on the same items (no company name somemore! first to strike out!)

Contractor C

- Recommended by colleague

- ID cum Branch Manager with a different view of finishing

- Quotation: Most expensive

Contractor D

- Read from RT Forum

- Cheaper alternatives available for kitchen

- Easy to communicate

- Quotation: Close to of A

Contractor E

- Through friend

- By this time, I was really really "sick" of repeating my requirements :P

- Quotation: A few missing items

Only Contractor A and C have their quotes revised twice. A still beat everyone hands down in terms of attitude and positive feedback from others.

Most importantly, the price is reasonable too.

Now waiting for Contractor A to revise version 3 and we are almost ready to proceed! Wooohooo exciting!

Estimated Renovation Duration: 1.5 to 2 months (From June onwards)

Edited by XiaoBinBin

The Hunt

Since 9th May, HTB and I have been inviting a handful of contractors and a ID to visit our place.

In chronological order,

Contractor A

- Read from RT Forum

- Very cool (almost expressionless) and patient

- Everything ok to do yet will remind us what is more expensive to do

- Quotation: Well itemised and reasonable

Contractor B

- Read from RT Forum

- Doesn't seem to give any valuable inputs

- Anything that is not height, told us to buy from shops

- Has projects in Malaysia

- Quotation: Not much details; More expensive than A on the same items (no company name somemore! first to strike out!)

Contractor C

- Recommended by colleague

- ID cum Branch Manager with a different view of finishing

- Quotation: Most expensive

Contractor D

- Read from RT Forum

- Cheaper alternatives available for kitchen

- Easy to communicate

- Quotation: Close to of A

Contractor E

- Through friend

- By this time, I was really really "sick" of repeating my requirements :P

- Quotation: A few missing items

Only Contractor A and C have their quotes revised twice. A still beat everyone hands down in terms of attitude and positive feedback from others.

Most importantly, the price is reasonable too.

Now waiting for Contractor A to revise version 3 and we are almost ready to proceed! Wooohooo exciting!

Estimated Renovation Duration: 1.5 to 2 months (From June onwards)

so excited for you....now in the midst of confirming your contractor liao...your reno starts beginning of june?

Starts in June yup yup..so that HTB can monitor closely during sch holidays :P

hubby in the education industry? good that he can monitor....looking forward to the start of your reno...