ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 My negative opinions on full ht shoe cabinets 1) Some areas may be too high to reach 2) May not be able to spot shoe colour/design at high ground 3) Supertitious MIL may tell u, shoe rack cannot be higher than your height else u kena "stepped". My FSM told me about point (3) too. In fact, he told me that shoes on the top level should not be higher than my jaw level or above my neck. That's if you believe in feng-shui. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 i read about no. 3 in some fengshui article.. but I guess due to practicality, many of us will need higher shoe cabinets, esp ladies. I will also be doing a full height cabinets. The top rows will assign to the man of the house since he is tall enough to reach, the lower shelves will be for me of course :x hmm maybe the top few beside shoes can use as storage for others stuff? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 Fellow RTians I need some advice / feedback 1) Can share Ah Soon's quote for laminate flooring? Dekor / Supreme ; Low/Med/High density aka grade? 2) L-box with spotlights + covelights - is this overdo? How practical are covelights? 3) 10 ft Closet: Closet Design vs Closet Robe vs Ah Soon - which one is gd enough? i cant decide!!! Closet Design offers 6 drawers, flexible pole system @ 2500 Closet Robe offers any no of drawers @ waist level, US cabinet system, free accessory eg mirror @ 2500 Ah soon? - Typically a partition to separate wall and shelving unlike the above Ah soon quoted me $1800 for 3 bedrooms laminate but did not mention which brand and what density. This is one of the details that I missed out asking him Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 Fellow RTians I need some advice / feedback 1) Can share Ah Soon's quote for laminate flooring? Dekor / Supreme ; Low/Med/High density aka grade? 2) L-box with spotlights + covelights - is this overdo? How practical are covelights? 3) 10 ft Closet: Closet Design vs Closet Robe vs Ah Soon - which one is gd enough? i cant decide!!! Closet Design offers 6 drawers, flexible pole system @ 2500 Closet Robe offers any no of drawers @ waist level, US cabinet system, free accessory eg mirror @ 2500 Ah soon? - Typically a partition to separate wall and shelving unlike the above I think fondue's wardrobe is very well done up. u wanna check with uncle how much he charges for a similar one at 10ft? I took CD way b4 i found uncle, so didnt ask him to quote on wardrobe at all. As for CR, who did u liaise with? I spoke w Eugene at their showroom and found him very pushy. The initial price quoted was cheaper than CD, but no soft close no this no that, add up all in all will be higher priced than CD. Plus, he didnt even allowed us to go back n think abt it, wanted us to commit there n then in order for us to be entitled to his FOCs accessories (x01). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 XiaoBB, Fondue, PreciousJam and Pet, Its been really informative reading your views and suggestions about the shoe cabinet and keeping them in order. Thanks to your female-perspective inputs, I can probably score some brownie points with wifey by sharing your suggestions. I think we're gonna need a full height shoe cabinet to house all her shoes because I think the number of shoes she has can probably put her in the running to match those of Imelda Marcos. And she complains when I leave 3 shoes and 1 pair of sandals on the open shoe rack .... *Sighz* XBB and Adrian, I just went to Smallboy's blog and saw his very good idea of the train track! I think that's great for managing shoes. If you have the train track just ask the ID/Contractor to leave some extra shelves behind so that you can adjust it yourself as and when you need. XBB My house also has this problem. I have a full height shoe cabinet and a mid-height one but the top portion of the full height one is used to hang umbrellas. Cos the shoes cannot be stored at a greater height than the altar we have in the house. Fellow RTians I need some advice / feedback 1) Can share Ah Soon's quote for laminate flooring? Dekor / Supreme ; Low/Med/High density aka grade? 2) L-box with spotlights + covelights - is this overdo? How practical are covelights? 3) 10 ft Closet: Closet Design vs Closet Robe vs Ah Soon - which one is gd enough? i cant decide!!! Closet Design offers 6 drawers, flexible pole system @ 2500 Closet Robe offers any no of drawers @ waist level, US cabinet system, free accessory eg mirror @ 2500 Ah soon? - Typically a partition to separate wall and shelving unlike the above L-Box with spotlights and covelights... they cast a different effect in your room. If you think you will need all the different lighting effects then you have a combination of both ba. I doubt you need it to be so bright by having all of them on at the same time. mm? Ah Soon's wardrobe can be customised to your liking... In fact if you provide him with a picture from CD or CR he can replicate it for you but at a higher cost than his normal one... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 Ohhhh thank you all for the inputs! @pinkpetter Yup Yup train track is useful. Didn't know about it until my HTB told me. He didnt like those drilled mini holes. @mrspiglet CR was Jacqueline I think but somehow HTB and I think CR's quality seems lower than CD but we cant really pinpoint. However after seeing fondue's wardrobe again and again from picture....I think Uncle shld be able to pull it off. I'm only worried about the bottom tracks. Smooth or not; Anti jump? About flooring...Supreme quoted us $4.5 psf for tropical african (malaysia) high density grade. Silencer at $1 psf. They say contractor may take the china grade for client house and probably quote $4+psf. Direct sales with supreme = lifetime warranty...So im a lil tempted to deal w supreme directly...whats everyone's opinions? Or does anyone know ah soon provide which grade? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 2, 2009 XBB: i think CD and CR's material is the same. CR's boss was the original brothers-pair owner from CD who split becos of conflicts. i dun like their way of doing biz (my case + my fren's encounter with them), but material wise i think its on par? Maybe will have to depend on the workmanship of assembling the wardrobe as well. I belong to anti-bottom track group, so i cannot comment on the anti-jump thingy, haha! Maybe fondue can help u with it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 Pre-2nd Appt Inspection 02 May 09: The unit is almost empty. - Lots of drilled holes for entertainment system - Badly hacked scv points - Ugly toilet floor tiles (those with speckles, forever looking dirty) - Hob/Hood/Kitchen Sink is really old - luckily they can be easily removed - WM area has in-built open pipe leading under tiles to drain. Found out that this is suitable for front-load WM not top-load WM...OMG I read that front load is more expensive BUT saves water yet wash longer and cannot handle blankets or comforter? Is this true? - Empty space behind MBR door: Solution (A) Hanging knobs behind door or on wall - Cheapest (increase storage space with drawers opposite toilet or opt for under bed storage) Solution (B) Next to wardrobe space add drawer of door width and under door knob level. Downside: Door open max 90 degrees. Always have to close door to get things despite not freq used. Solution © Change to sliding mbr door and build full width wardrobe abt 10ft. Downside: Noisy and heavy sliding door - Most expensive! Oh man....it seems we have more things to do than expected! FSM will be visiting this Friday. Going to be a very busy busy weekend! Supreme will be calling to see if we wanna take up their offer. Ahhh I need to find Ah Soon to see my unit on Fri night or Sat Morning! 2nd Appointment Today @ 3pm! Will be visited a door specialist after that to check out bedroom doors and main door. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 shd be making ur way to HDB soon! Congrats!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
trashley 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) - WM area has in-built open pipe leading under tiles to drain. Found out that this is suitable for front-load WM not top-load WM...OMG I read that front load is more expensive BUT saves water yet wash longer and cannot handle blankets or comforter? Is this true? i've been using my LG front load to wash my curtains, blankets without any problems. this is how i find front load after using it for the past year. PROs - save water - gentler on clothes - use lesser detergent - can keep things on top of w/m - quieter CONs - longer washing time - cannot add more clothes once cycle starts - cost Edited May 4, 2009 by trashley Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2009 but it feels weird to EXPOSE all my shoes...haa which some I seldom wear lol both of us has more than 30 pairs of shoes combined...not many but a headache too not to mention Clothes @_@ I dunno how to plan my wardrobe! No leh, i think you are okay leh, only 30 pairs of shoes somemore COMbined! for me, 1 person alone, is about 35 pairs of shoes! i occupy 95% of the shoe cabinet! haha, my hubby always complaint that i am taking up too much of the space, and eating into his Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2009 YOu seem to be breaking down your reno works to different contractors. eg....wardrobe, flooring and doors. If you take Ah Soon, he cannot work more discounts for you. Usually for those who let him do everything, he can move around more with freebies and discounts. This is 1 point for your consideration. Ah Soon's laminate brands are Elephant or something (check with Fondue, Jespb) If you are looking for specific brands or density, make it known to him. He may be able to source it cheaper for you. Take for example, my BLUM...... a case to learn..... I realised contractors prices are very different from retail prices. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2009 smallboy's right. Even other contractors or ID works the same way...maybe u want to consider getting a nice wardrobe done like fondue's? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2009 According to Uncle Soon, Elephant's boss is his good friend, so prices will be better if you ask uncle to quote.. If you want a better grade of the laminate, just let Uncle know.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2009 We confirm outsourcing door because HTB trusts his own uncle's workmanship and supplies of doors =) Nice doors @ Yi Seng @ AMK Ind Park 2 ^_^ About flooring...we will have to see which party can give a gd price for a better grade flooring. FYI direct sales w supplier = longer warranty CD / CR wardrobes are definitely overprice compared to Ah Soon's....my HTB is more concerned of workmanship and the sliding door tracks etc. /waiting to visit fondue's place!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites