poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted April 14, 2009 This happen in my mother's place. The wall in one of that bedroom between us and the neighbouring unit is damp.. this only happen recently..and only at night.. My mother suspect that our neighbour is blasting their A/C which causes the damp wall.. Can this happen??? We just got a new neighbour..haa maybe the old neighbour dont have A/C so no such problem at all.. =p I only know wall that happen to be an external wall can be damp if there is water leakage due to "holes" between bricks but due to A/C from neigbouring unit??? Any idea??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alan26 2 Report post Posted April 15, 2009 dampness in the wall ah > could cause alot of future problem leh. - paint starts to bloat - paint starts to peel off - flaky wall might need hdb ppl to resolve this liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2009 call HDB har..hmmm okie.. will let my mother know about this.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yoongf 11 Report post Posted April 15, 2009 Blast AC means wall 1 side cold, 1 side warm, result in condensation forming inside the wall, like cold coke bottle sweating on the table. The droplets are forming inside the wall cavity. Eventually, your side will have mildew stains. sometimes when look at older buildings.. u see 1 wall.. got like brownish stains..but is only that floor and not entire building. This is the aircon effect. So far.. I am not aware of how to resolve this.. unless rebuild wall with solid bricks, to reduce the amt of air trapped inside the wall that allow for condensation. Maybe if neighbour have a curtain on that wall.. or use some wallpaper to add insulation to that side.. maybe can prevent sweating inside the wall. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alan26 2 Report post Posted April 15, 2009 HDB ppl might have to dry the wall, then paint sealant layer over it. Probably use ICI dulux supreme 3 in 1 (wait long long ah) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 thank you all for ur suggestions.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites