mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 We are enduring.. But the bed is really tempting us.. haha... And i think ur MIL will follow the tradition to get a boy to jump/roll/do watever on the day of An Chuang right? It pains my heart to see someone jumping on my bed. But my FIL already went ahead to 'book' my hub's nephew to come n 'jump bed' liao... w/o asking if i mind. Folks.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 Hope that you won't be in the same fate as us ah.. i think i will de lor...now can forsee... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 Thought u can have two an chuan dates? One for fixing up the bed One for the official an chuan...before wedding Your wedding next yr isnt it? Your sheets gonna be dusty! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 I'm so happy that for me both sets of parents not so superstitous. They probably don't even know what's "an chuang". Heng ah. =p booy, you sure it's *just* the bed that's tempting you guys? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2009 i think i will de lor...now can forsee... Good luck to you dude! Thought u can have two an chuan dates? One for fixing up the bed One for the official an chuan...before wedding Your wedding next yr isnt it? Your sheets gonna be dusty! Think only 1 an chuan bah.. Yup.. our wedding date is next year's mar.. Now the bed is covered up.. sob.. I'm so happy that for me both sets of parents not so superstitous. They probably don't even know what's "an chuang". Heng ah. =p booy, you sure it's *just* the bed that's tempting you guys? Good for you then.. Yes.. Only the bed.. Dun think too much.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 Does someone mind explaining to me what 'An Chuan' is? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zerochristy 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 We are enduring.. But the bed is really tempting us.. haha... Hahah can you at least give your mattress a big hug?? But dun sleep on it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xherion 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 hi smartie/booy, very nice house you got there. love the full mirror wardrobe and your bathroom, so cosy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 Does someone mind explaining to me what 'An Chuan' is? haha! u r so cute to ask this qn! I think the folks will buy some symbolic items and place on the bed with new bedsheets. Then once the ritual is completed, couples can only sleep on it after the customary wedding is over. I think its to symbolise loving life ahead? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 haha! u r so cute to ask this qn! I think the folks will buy some symbolic items and place on the bed with new bedsheets. Then once the ritual is completed, couples can only sleep on it after the customary wedding is over. I think its to symbolise loving life ahead? what's that part about getting some kid to jump on it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 old folks believe that getting a kid to roll and jump or whatever on a bed will aid in 添丁. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 haha! u r so cute to ask this qn! I think the folks will buy some symbolic items and place on the bed with new bedsheets. Then once the ritual is completed, couples can only sleep on it after the customary wedding is over. I think its to symbolise loving life ahead? old folks believe that getting a kid to roll and jump or whatever on a bed will aid in 添丁. Thanks Mrspiglet and F4 for sharing and enlightening me! Hmm ... altho' my in-laws quite traditional but I never recalled having the kids jumping on the bed. I renember the symbolic items like new bath sets, towel sets, bed sheets and clothing. Another thing, I remember is that they got some kids to burst the paper covering a potty bowl and that's about it. Is that part of the 'An Chuan' ritual too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 Hahah can you at least give your mattress a big hug?? But dun sleep on it I merely touch touch.. Didn't hug.. Scared that once I hug, I will sleep on it.. hee.. hi smartie/booy, very nice house you got there. love the full mirror wardrobe and your bathroom, so cosy. I'm glad that I added the full mirror wardrobe as it brightens up the place.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 Thanks Mrspiglet and F4 for sharing and enlightening me! Hmm ... altho' my in-laws quite traditional but I never recalled having the kids jumping on the bed. I renember the symbolic items like new bath sets, towel sets, bed sheets and clothing. Another thing, I remember is that they got some kids to burst the paper covering a potty bowl and that's about it. Is that part of the 'An Chuan' ritual too? What is this kids bursting the paper covering a potty bowl? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2009 What is this kids bursting the paper covering a potty bowl? kids rolling over bed = give more children. Kids bursting covering of potty bowl = .... i don't want to know... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites