smartie 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 I wanted to say that too... "Sony is using Samsung's panel" sony you are just buying the name. My choice is also between samsung & sony. LED is the in thing now but price is high... LCD will drop price soon to make way to LED... if not hurry than wait a bit lor LOL. Yes, they are using the same panels. But it's not just about the panel. The image processing (e.g. the Sony Bravia Engine) and other features do make a difference in the picture quality, though it's still debatable whether that's worth the additional premium. Samsung LCDs also have an infamous issue of input lag, which is a concern if you play fast-paced console games. And I don't really like glossy screens, which are used by Samsung Series 6 and above. But Series 5 and below don't have 100Hz Motion Plus Actually, Samsung LCDs also command a premium over other brands such as Panasonic, LG and Sharp (though maybe not as much as Sony). If you compare like for like, e.g. Samsung Series 6 vs Sony W4500, the difference in price is not really that great. But these 2 models still above our budget Beggars can't be choosers. So in the end settle for Samsung Series 5... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smartie 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 I dun really fancy all the 'bom bom' sound i get from the subwoofers, gives me the headache. But its hubby's dream, so let him be since he's paying for it. I would prefer ur set thou, i like small small sets! Eh... our set also has subwoofer leh. But don't think it's as powerful as your set. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 about the Samsung LCD TV...if you buy it @ a really cheap price, most likely it is A series. I may be getting LA40B530 comes with free 5.0 home entertainment system or smaller LCD TV. Sometimes shops they "swallow" the freebie...beware wor! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 about the Samsung LCD TV...if you buy it @ a really cheap price, most likely it is A series. I may be getting LA40B530 comes with free 5.0 home entertainment system or smaller LCD TV. Sometimes shops they "swallow" the freebie...beware wor! Smartie is looking at LA40B550.. He said it's better than 530 one.. Waiting for June to see if they have a new and better offer... Not too interested in the ent system and the 26" TV.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Not uncle clearing the VO with u meh? When i did mine, Jason also not sure of everything. When i asked if need to top up, he say dunno.. ask me to ask uncle. In the end uncle didnt charge me anything extra. I added a lot of little things here n there along the reno... n i got away with it! Try to go to uncle for VO, i think he may be too forgetful abt the little items to charge u! I will go to uncle for VO.. Now when I add things, I will ask Jason roughly how much.. Or else later get a big shock of my life ah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Eh... our set also has subwoofer leh. But don't think it's as powerful as your set. i like ur set leh. The blue LED makes it so chio. But hubby wants a full HT dunno what 5.1 lah. He says its a 'guy thing'. Smartie is looking at LA40B550.. He said it's better than 530 one.. Waiting for June to see if they have a new and better offer... Not too interested in the ent system and the 26" TV.. If u dun wan the freebies can go to those neighbourhood shops to buy. My series 5 40" came with 26" which i didnt want, deducted $500 off the bill! I will go to uncle for VO.. Now when I add things, I will ask Jason roughly how much.. Or else later get a big shock of my life ah.. Seems like Jason getting more stingy. That time during my reno when i ask, he say leave it to Ah soon. I think Uncle wun charge if its minimal sum. Uncle said my tiling work must add $100 workmanship, in the end also nvr charge! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 booy, go to uncle. all the charges are managed by Uncle, Jason will have no idea about it. I wanted to meet uncle this week also to finalise the VO and the final sum of my whole reno. been adding this and that happily when uncle says, 你加啦,加啦, 我不算你 for small items, then I happily add and add then add big items. Then he says 我算你本钱,要加就加. See lah....now jelly legs when Hubby ask me how much is the outstanding Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
choi-lim(*^o^*)♪ 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Finally have some time to breathe apart from reno.. Went to a lot of fairs and sales these two days.. From Phillips Carnival Sale on Sat.. To Mustafa Sale, The Wedding Extravaganza and License to Play on Sun... I love shopping! hee.. Bought a Motorola D2 cordless phone from Mustafa.. cheap cheap.. The Wedding Extravaganza is a disappointment.. No Photographers that we expect it to have... And the TV at License to Play does not have the kind of promo and bargains like those IT fairs.. Looking forward to the IT fair to come in June.. Then we can buy our fav Samsung 40" LCD and probably another 32 inch for the room.. Found a clock that we really like at Molecule... But now I realised it's almost doubled the original budget that we set.. But I really love it.. Simple and clean cut.. So Smartie just have to swipe the card.. Hi Booy, Are you looking for AD photographer or for studio shoot? My photographer is a freelancer, young but I loved the pics he took. And his price is very reasonable. Maybe you can check him out. This is his webby. www.matthiaschng.com Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 MrsPiglet, Familyof4: Think Jason and Uncle Soon are too occupied now.. Hopefully, they will forget abt my VO.. But Uncle Soon is definitely more generous.. choi-lim: I'm looking for AD Photographer now.. Will take note of it.. Thanks.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2009 Finally got hold of two more laminates catalogue from Jason today... I have three catalogues to choose from, a lot of headaches now.. Hoping that I can see Seng Lee's catalogue though.. Tomorrow is the day for the installation of toilet fittings.. but according to Smartie, the toilet is still not fully completed yet.. Still a bit bit left.. Grouting is also not done for the common toilet.. Wonder if it's ready for the installation tomorrow.. haiz.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Finally got hold of two more laminates catalogue from Jason today... I have three catalogues to choose from, a lot of headaches now.. Hoping that I can see Seng Lee's catalogue though.. Tomorrow is the day for the installation of toilet fittings.. but according to Smartie, the toilet is still not fully completed yet.. Still a bit bit left.. Grouting is also not done for the common toilet.. Wonder if it's ready for the installation tomorrow.. haiz.. So gd!! i only had 1 book lor! And when i ask Jason for more, he say the books not with him n we have to decide the laminates already! Haiz.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 So gd!! i only had 1 book lor! And when i ask Jason for more, he say the books not with him n we have to decide the laminates already! Haiz.... I'm very persistent.. I asked the Uncle Soon and Jason easily 10+ times before I got these books... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 By right today is the day to install the toilet fittings and stuff... In the end, both of us took leave and the toilets are not ready for the installation.. Really got us pretty disappointed... The consolation is that we get to meet Jason and a guy called Joseph to discuss how we can hide the things ugly air-con piping away.. and also a false wall for our living room feature wall.. Jason suggested a way to do up our MBR feature wall which turned out to be not so practical.. So now we must try to think ourselves... Tomorrow will be the day to install the toilet fittings and also the day to seal up my MBR toilet bowl.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ling3bzr 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 1 got a qn about clocks here... anyone know where we can buy a clock with juz the hour, min and sec hands? i dun need the numbers..or the backing Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ling3bzr 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2009 Only hour hand and minute hand! I bot one in Hong Kong!!! Then went i come back to Singapore,i saw they are also selling in Marina square! At Level 2!! wahhh lvl 2????? is the shop smth like molecule???? still have? wah lao.. been looking for it for the longest time!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites