smartie 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 wow!!seems like you've covered all the places at one go ....me juz go to one sungei kadut already tired.... WAH I agree with preciousjam... I get tired easily. You're good! Haha, booy was also very tired. But to me, it's very fun to go 环岛追追追 to different places Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smartie 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 keke. when u make purchases then take pics lor. Orh.. next time will try our best to remember to take pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Wow Smartie and Booy, It looks like you did some comprehensive recce for furniture already. I was also at S&C on Friday with my wife. Maybe we crossed each other's path there. Melvin and May from S&C are really nice people, who're sincere and offer very good advice. I'm glad to see the many customisable options they've got. And they've got the dining chairs and clear glass side and coffee tables I'm looking for, as well the pull-out bed for the kids. We're still deciding on what sort of sofas to get though and will pay them a visit again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smartie 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Saturday's findings: - Dozz Mattress @ Toa Payoh They had a pre-opening sale and we went there not expecting much. Probably because it's at StorHub so we were expecting some warehouse type of shop. To our surprise, the place was quite well done up and very spacious. Salesperson was also professional and friendly. We shortlisted Simmons Beautyrest Horizon and Slumberland Royal Princess. - PostureCare @ Macpherson Tried more mattresses. In fact, I could not remember exactly what mattresses we tried at what places Think we tried Sealy Ivory Award and Royal Princess again. booy seems to like Royal Princess a lot, but the price also exceeds by our budget a lot. Haha. - Silver River @ Paya Lebar They have 6 storeys of furniture, but I don't remember anything that caught our eye. - Lush lush @ Paya Lebar They have some sofas on offer but the sofas are mostly too long. Except those on offer & have red tags, the rest of the furniture are too costly for us. - Bed & Bedding Centre @ Paya Lebar More mattress trying! Tried a few Sweet Dreams mattresses here but somehow the feeling is not as good as the Slumberland, Simmons & Sealy mattresses we have tried. - Enterprise One @ Kaki Bukit (Navinzi, XZQT, Ackerman) Navinzi is having a sales on some of their sofa models. The Duncan model is quite nice and is selling for $1490. Here's the photo we took of the sofa: There's almost 30 colours that you can choose from. Only problem is that the length is only 2.2m which is slightly less than our ideal length of around 2.4 to 2.5m. XZQT prices are Enough said Went to Ackerman and tried to find the Beautyrest Horizon mattress again to try. But couldn't find it, so left the place and proceeded to Expo. - Homes 2009 Exhibition @ Expo We siam the IDs and went straight to those selling furniture and mattresses. First stop was the Sealy booth. We tried Knightsbridge. Quite nice and the price was also decent. Then we went to the Slumberland booth. Tried a few before hitting on our jackpot: the Royal Regency. Though not as nice as the Royal Princess, the feeling was close enough and more importantly, the price was significantly lower. We did not commit immediately. I'm the kind who wants to do more research before I commit. During dinner at Burger King, I whipped out my phone and surfed the net to try to find more info. But alas, cannot find any info on this model. The saleslady earlier mentioned that this is a launch price and so far only hotels have been using the model. In the end, I gave her the benefit of doubt and since the most important thing in a mattress is that we must feel good lying on it, we went back and bought it after dropping by the Metro Expo sale Anyway, a side story of our adventure in Expo. After we first viewed the Slumberland mattresses, booy went to toilet and I sat down on a sofa in a booth by Westpoint Design to wait for her. When booy came back, an uncle from Westpoint came and recommended some sofas to us. There was this 2-module rotatable sofa which looked a lot like the Calypso sofa by Cellini but with a higher back (according to booy). We were stuck there for quite a long while uncle demonstrated how nice the sofa is. We ended up quite tempted but we were afraid that it will look too big in our living room and of course, the price exceeded our budget (again ). We told uncle we will consider, but uncle was quite persistent. He finally let us go a while later when we said we were hungry and needed to go for dinner. We did went back after dinner and uncle resumed his sales pitch again. He reduced the price and absorbed GST and said if we come back the next day, he won't be able to absorb GST (as if I believe ). In the end, we decided not to buy on impulse. Phew... I admit I was quite tempted last night though. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
smartie 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Wow Smartie and Booy, It looks like you did some comprehensive recce for furniture already. I was also at S&C on Friday with my wife. Maybe we crossed each other's path there. Melvin and May from S&C are really nice people, who're sincere and offer very good advice. I'm glad to see the many customisable options they've got. And they've got the dining chairs and clear glass side and coffee tables I'm looking for, as well the pull-out bed for the kids. We're still deciding on what sort of sofas to get though and will pay them a visit again. We were there at around 12+ to 1+. Initially the shop was quite empty when we arrived. But as we flipped through the catalogs, more & more people arrived and Melvin and May were very busy attending to all of us. Not sure if you and your wife were part of the crowd Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adrian_john 1 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 We were there at around 12+ to 1+. Initially the shop was quite empty when we arrived. But as we flipped through the catalogs, more & more people arrived and Melvin and May were very busy attending to all of us. Not sure if you and your wife were part of the crowd Were you in a green-white striped polo/jeans combo and Booy in a black top/jeans combo? I was around there at about that timing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Smartie almost killed me by going to so many places for the past few two days.. Running around to so many places.. Due to Smartie's cautious buying pattern, I'm glad that at least we bought our first big item yesterday.. Which is our comfortable Royal Regency bed from Slumberland at Expo.. Didn't manage to get much freebies except for two Heavenly pillows, one bolster and 1 mattress protector.. However, so far, we are still unable to get much info on this Slumberland model.. If anyone is using this or know about this model, can let us know more information.. The most promising shops that we went so far is definitely S & C.. Think most probably we will be getting our coffee table if he is able to find it for us and dining table.. As our bed doesn't come with a free bed frame, might be getting from there as well.. S & C also offers pretty good selection of fabric bed frame as I saw this couple flipping the other day.. Today, our pace slows down.. We only went to Casa Italy at Eminent Plaza and The Furniture Mall... Somehow I find that the models at Katong Mall's CS suits us more.. But the staff at Eminent Plaza's CS are more friendly as they helped us to look for the white colour sofa that I previously failed to try at Katong Mall, but in vain.. Looks like we still need to go back to Katong Mall again.. As for The Furniture Mall, it's our second time there because we wanted to take a look at the Calypso sofa from Cellini.. And we wanted to compare with the model at Westpoint which we were pretty close to buying it.. The Cellini one looks almost exactly the same IMHO.. But for the feel, I would think the westpoint's one is better.. It should be due to the fact that it's pocketed spring for Westpoint against high density foam for Cellini.. The sales assistant said that it won't sink which is apparently unconvincing as the showroom piece already has signs of sinking.. BUT the price for Cellini is definitely because of the Flexi package 1,998 comprising of Sofa + Bedframe + Nightingale Mattress... They offered to change colour for us FOC and as we already has a mattress, we can change to some other items like TV console, coffee table, arm chair etc.. It's definitely a very sweet deal.. She mentioned that the promotion is ending today because it has been ON for some time.. Wonder if she's bluffing us.. Pretty tempting deal still.. We are still thinking if we want to go back to buy from the westpoint uncle because he's really sincere but long-winded and we like the sofa pretty much.. He's a bit like Uncle Soon's pattern and said that the warranty is lifetime as long as he's still around.. We purposely went to Slumberland at The Furniture Mall again to see if we can find our mattress model.. We didn't find it but we found another pretty good deal.. It's The SLUMBERLAND ROYAL EXCELSIOR bed at $1998 for queen size... Comes with free bed frame of 8 choices with many colours to choose from.. It's really a good deal as it also has the plush feel and 3000+ springs.. If we saw this first, probably we might have bought this instead.. And again the sales assistant told us today is last day... Really so qiao meh? Salesperson always like to say promotion is ending, very few pieces left because of promotion.. Can they learn new sales tactics or not? So boring Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Were you in a green-white striped polo/jeans combo and Booy in a black top/jeans combo? I was around there at about that timing. That's another couple, we saw them as well.. Weather is too hot.. So both of us wore bermudas.. I think Smartie wore a dark blue shirt and I wore a black t-shirt.. You were alone then? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Cellini's combi deal went on for quite some time already. When i was shopping ard mths ago they also said the same thing to me "promo ending soon", but i do agree its a very gd deal!! See if u can get similar ones from S&C? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Cellini's combi deal went on for quite some time already. When i was shopping ard mths ago they also said the same thing to me "promo ending soon", but i do agree its a very gd deal!! See if u can get similar ones from S&C? Yup.. We saw it a couple of weeks ago as well.. But the sales assistant said it ends TODAY.. So if I still see that it's going on next week, I can go to question them liao.. I dun feel secure getting from S&C because I cannot sit on it.. Feels weird to buy sofa based on catalogue.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Yup.. We saw it a couple of weeks ago as well.. But the sales assistant said it ends TODAY.. So if I still see that it's going on next week, I can go to question them liao.. I dun feel secure getting from S&C because I cannot sit on it.. Feels weird to buy sofa based on catalogue.. Agreed. Really need to sit on the real thing to feel the stiffness, depth and height. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 hahaha. sales tactics are always like that. but my gaincity salesperson is quite honest la. she tried to backdate the tv's home theatre set for me. but when we wanted to buy, she suddenly remembered that we need to install the tv set first before claiming the free home theatre set. In the end, she advised me not to buy first and she will call to inform me of better promos. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 Yup.. We saw it a couple of weeks ago as well.. But the sales assistant said it ends TODAY.. So if I still see that it's going on next week, I can go to question them liao.. I dun feel secure getting from S&C because I cannot sit on it.. Feels weird to buy sofa based on catalogue.. haha! i understood wat u mean. I also had the same worries, but no choice budget constraint and lazy to shop ard anymore, so decided to buy cheap at S&C.. if really not nice few yrs later then chge again. But May at S&C did make some recommendations to us and told us if we want can go down to those bigger shops to try on b4 buying. We didnt (too lazy) and just went with her recommendations and i must say i'm really satisfied w my sofa! Not too soft, depth also just nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 hahaha. sales tactics are always like that. but my gaincity salesperson is quite honest la. she tried to backdate the tv's home theatre set for me. but when we wanted to buy, she suddenly remembered that we need to install the tv set first before claiming the free home theatre set. In the end, she advised me not to buy first and she will call to inform me of better promos. But still it's time for sales person to learn new sales tactic.. Try to win customer's heart with sincerity not force selling.. You are lucky to meet one who is customer oriented... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2009 haha! i understood wat u mean. I also had the same worries, but no choice budget constraint and lazy to shop ard anymore, so decided to buy cheap at S&C.. if really not nice few yrs later then chge again. But May at S&C did make some recommendations to us and told us if we want can go down to those bigger shops to try on b4 buying. We didnt (too lazy) and just went with her recommendations and i must say i'm really satisfied w my sofa! Not too soft, depth also just nice. I'm also lazy.. hee.. Smartie is still pretty energetic with these searches... But today he seems to fall a bit sick liao.. At least you are satisfied with your sofa, that's good... For us, we already shortlisted a few, so it's not too bad... All we need is tons of $$$ now.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites