spoiltbabe

A Place Where We Truly Belong

(the search is over. Nevertheless.... wish to share our house searching experiences and the excitement with all of you :thumbs up: )

Staying with in laws for over 6 months and having no luck in all HDB ballotings, we decided to fully focus our house searching in the resale market.

Me, the more particular one between us, searched through net portals of property market and managed to spot one with great location (mins away to toa payoh central) and lovely deco, the theme which both of us loved. We quickly kept in touch with the agent and arranged for a viewing.

We were the first group to arrive, and gosh.... we simply loved it! It was love at first sight, you could say. Mid level with unblock view, flooring was dark parquet, kitchen with solid top and brown/white cabinet doors, central heating system, Daikin system4 (or was it 3?), toilet in master bedrm with vanity top, storage well hidden behind the mirror, built-in wardrobe beautifully done. There was an area for fish tank which suited my Brat to a T. He always wanted to rear fish and now had a good reason to do so.

The drawbacks. Floor area was only 75sqm. 2rooms knocked down to form one 'big' master bedrm.

While discussed with the agent over the $$$, he mentioned that they wish to have $15k COV which we could not afford (sigh).

There went our 'dream'....

Weeks past and we viewed more units in amk area, though one had captured my heart with its squarish living room and splendid kitchen, Brat wasnt too keen as it was a distance from the central, and also bcoz it was on level 2. Back to square one.

One afternoon, Brat called and said the agent for the first house contacted him and Owner was willing to let it go $15k below valuation! GOSH! I tried so hard to contain my excitment (i was in the office) and kept bugging him to make arrangement for 2nd viewing. Over the Good Friday, we went for 2nd viewing and this time we hesitated no more. We expressed our keen interest deal was closed within 2 hours. Phew!

Now anxiously waiting for our first appointment, which we yet to know a date.... And busy sourcing for furniture to add into our nest. It is soooo nice to have an own home :sport-smiley-004:

wow congrats! u guys actually saved $30k!!! but y is a 4A only 75sqm leh? i suaku, never hear b4 wor.

but ur descriptions make me wanna visit the flat lor!!! Pics pls!!

wow congrats! u guys actually saved $30k!!! but y is a 4A only 75sqm leh? i suaku, never hear b4 wor.

but ur descriptions make me wanna visit the flat lor!!! Pics pls!!

yeah am also curious how come a 4rm is only 75sqm. Usually they are about 90sqm or more. Do post your pictures! It sounded really nice.

pinkpetter: thanks! we thought it was a very good deal too :)

ashes02 & ivy: yea, we were surprised over the unusual floor area but seems the flats there are all built up this way. Forgot to take pictures on our 2nd viewing, shall snap some when we got the keys!

zhang wu ji: yes, it's 100% move in. The hood and hod are there, aircon running perfectly (the agent switched on all aircons to 'test run'), even the bed frame is still there! but we would be using our own frame, the one in the house would prolly sell away.

Edited by spoiltbabe

Hey hi, welcome to the reno forum. Jln Tenteram!!! That area was our love at FIRST Sight but we did not manage to get it. It was a 5 room flat at 105 sqm, block 19 and 25th floor some more! The view was awesome! The squarish floor plan rocks. When someone beat us to getting that place, I was almost in tears of disappointment. hahaha :( Haiz...now we are in the midst of moving into our love at SECOND Sight. :paint:

Thanks! Need many of you to advise on procedures and great furniture bargains :D

Guess what, i was praying hard NO ONE wants to get the unit.... haha! The flats there have excellent view indeed, the greenery!! Though smaller than usual 4rm, we have no regrets. Well, at least you have your second love now which is something to be glad about ;)

OH MY!! 15k below valuation and in move-in condition?? Really excited for you!

aww... wished i had take some pics to post here :P We may drop by again to take some measurements and i shall remember to upload here

Most of the 4A units should be 100 sqm or more. Ur unit in Jln Tenteram seems to be 3A based on 75 sqm instead judging from the description of 2 rooms knocked into one big bedroom. 3NG is about 67 to 69 sqm. Pls post pics of your newly acquired flat. Nevertheless, congrats.

ashes02: there is no COV, hence no cash to owner :) Only the agent fee of 1% plus other HDB thingy (was it call Option To Purchase?), the valuation report, etc.

tower: Thanks! Before viewing i still confirmed with the agent if it was a 3rm or 4rm. It was not before we saw the unit we could relate the size to it. Everything is 'compact', rooms, kitchen, toilets.... Glad it has a long living room though :)

fondue: indeed, thanks!

Edited by spoiltbabe