freddyprince 0 Report post Posted April 11, 2009 guys, i had just got a 4rm resale unit, planing to redo floor tiles for the whole unit and oso do wall tiles for kitchen and both toilet does anyone know roughly how much will it cost for jobs like these?because still need to remove existing titles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 11, 2009 I'm guessing... hacking and hauling alone... 2k+ floor tiles for whole unit + waterproofing - 6k Wall tiles for kitchen and toilets - 3k. (tiling for kitchen is for exposed areas only.) If you want to save some money you can consider cementing and plastering over the kitchen tiles. Can save 1k. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
freddyprince 0 Report post Posted April 11, 2009 faintz.. like that 11k liao.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 11, 2009 Would you consider laminates for the bedrooms? That would cut cost a little.. mm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
freddyprince 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 Would you consider laminates for the bedrooms? That would cut cost a little.. mm but dun really like laminates. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 but dun really like laminates. What bout spray paint on toilet and kitchen, will cut cost a lot. Don't need to hack and re-tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 mm ok. then see if you can save the tiles.. check the condition of the tiles. If you needn't retile the kitchen and the toilet walls then leave them be. Good luck! Maybe you can cement and plaster over the kitchen tiles to save some. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
swift 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 mm ok. then see if you can save the tiles.. check the condition of the tiles. If you needn't retile the kitchen and the toilet walls then leave them be. Good luck! Maybe you can cement and plaster over the kitchen tiles to save some. Kinda agree with pinkpetter's approach. If the condition of kitchen and toilet tiling is alright, then you may consider leaving them alone. i.e. avoid hacking. Apart from incurring cost in hacking, From what i understand, the moment you decide to hack it, you may have to consider tiling it back, as the difference in cost cost ain't that much between plastering and tiling it back. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
freddyprince 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 hmm actually i can spray the tiles for both the toilet. as the toilet tiles are actually quite new, which was renovated by previous owner a couple of years back just that i dun like it to be blue. Btw how much does tiles spraying cost? my kitchen really bo bian got to do because its those very old type of tiles small rectangle type. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 Spraying sounds like an option but before you do, knock on the tiles to make sure they are secure. if you're spraying for the wall tiles only, you need to decide what to do with your floor tiles. Usually when floor tiles are laid the waterproofing should be done at the bottom portion of the walls too. Thus if you are not removing the wall tiles... your only option will be to overlay the floor tiles.. which can be a risk at times. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 (edited) hmm actually i can spray the tiles for both the toilet. as the toilet tiles are actually quite new, which was renovated by previous owner a couple of years back just that i dun like it to be blue. Btw how much does tiles spraying cost? my kitchen really bo bian got to do because its those very old type of tiles small rectangle type. It cheaper than re-tiles. My common toilet's floor and wall. They will also spray the piping inside the same color of the wall. My kitchen's, yard's floor and wall. They come with a lot of color to choose from. Easier to maintenance, and have different roughness or smoothness. Long lasting and won't peel off unless u crack the tile. Waterproofing also. Edited April 12, 2009 by jaskel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 Looks quite good! Can post the contact for the spraying? Thanks!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 Looks quite good! Can post the contact for the spraying? Thanks!! I'm so sorry pinkpetter, I can only PM the contact only cos she a lady. Scare nuisance calls. Safety first. Will post some more photos when I'm moved in next week. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 Understand. Will wait for your pictures! They do look nice. Congrats on moving in!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted April 12, 2009 Understand. Will wait for your pictures! They do look nice. Congrats on moving in!! Thanks for your understanding. My master bedroom toilet with another color. I used ard 10-11 color for all my toilets' walls and flooring, kitchen, store room also done that. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites