ocheeeng 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 We met up with one contractor last wkend. And during the discussion, he recommended that we use arylic for our bedroom doors. One of their customer had install it and they shown me the pic (white arylic whole piece door). Its a swing bedroom door with the lockset. And the whole door is a whole piece of arylic and the look is quite class. I just browse through the catalog, quite a no. of colours to choose from and there are some colours are with sprinkles embedded. The cost is around the same as those normal wooden bedroom door. The advantages that he told us was.. its easy to clean, and there's no need to repaint the door again in few years time as the colour doesn't fade. And won't face the problem on the expansion/contraction of the normal wood door. I did have this expansion/contractor problem with the wooden doors at my parent's place last time, cant close the door during the colder months and have to force the door open/close as they just cant go into the frame. I have never see any one using arylic for their bedroom doors. What do you guys think of arylic bedroom door? For arylic bedroom doors, what will happen if the door is slammed by winds? Will it break? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 For arylic bedroom doors, what will happen if the door is slammed by winds? Will it break? Hi Ocheeng, That was my very concern when he told us about it. According to that contractor, it will not break if the door slam as its of a certain thickness which make it sort of tough. He passed us a sample 3-4cm thick. But I cant remember if I ask whether the door will be of this thickness. The door package will include the lockset and stopper. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Hi Angel81, I think I am not so lucky. I email Yeak the item that I want to do last week and just spoken on the phone with him this morning. He said his schedule for next month already packed. I ask him for Aug, but he sort-of hestitated, I how also. So I ask him to have a look at my email first and see how. Guess more likely he too packed to take up my reno. I too slow... I forgotten about the shadow part for Arylic. Ummm.. have to check on this area. Thanks for highlighting it. Oh ya, I wanted to ask you about your kitchen cabinet height from the floor. I am quite short, so I wonder how much to have for the height. Hmm, think should be cuz his schedule really full liao bah. Then faster nag at him and try to "chop" him. hehehe.. if not wait he go and take other's reno projects. Maybe he's still able to squeeze u in leh. Hmm, my kitchen cabinet height is around my waist level like that. I rem Yeak looking at my height and say that my kitchen cabinets is about standard height. How tall r u? I'm 1.55m. If u're abt the same, then should be able to use standard height cabinets bah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Me doing option C without the glass door.. Hi Angel81, Reiki and Smallboy, My hubby have the same idea as you three. Seems like more organised way to do it this way. Hee.. so all the great mind think alike? The only concerns are the need to hack and build wall, any one have a rough idea hw much it will cost? Above are some of the ideas generated, which one do you prefer? Option C is the one that you four (including my hubby) thought of.. Hee.. Option A doesn't need to hack, an easier way. Option B seems to make the area very cramped, don't know if got enough space to shower and the washing machine 'room' is really just put the W/M. What are your comments? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Hmm, think should be cuz his schedule really full liao bah. Then faster nag at him and try to "chop" him. hehehe.. if not wait he go and take other's reno projects. Maybe he's still able to squeeze u in leh. Hmm, my kitchen cabinet height is around my waist level like that. I rem Yeak looking at my height and say that my kitchen cabinets is about standard height. How tall r u? I'm 1.55m. If u're abt the same, then should be able to use standard height cabinets bah. Ok, I will try to phone him again. Abit paiseh to keep calling him. Scare wait he think I difficult customer, and drop me like hot potato.. I pm you about the kitchen cabinet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Me doing option C without the glass door.. We also sort- of decided on option c, but might change the glass door to a concrete wall.. saw a magazine design which is quite simple and nice.. but still thinking... The contractor that we met up last wkend said very sa-yang to waste the space there. He suggest that we do something like ivy's common toilet.. erect the wall inbetween and have 2 entrance.. where the original entrance is the area for bathing and the new opening for wash basin and w.c. ... he said more convenience for the whole family where those want to bath can bath, doesnt need to wait for the loo. But we thought that it might be quite crampy for the bath area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 hmmm if u have a big family then that is not a bad idea.. but will be cramp.. hee my house only Mr J and I so we are okie with having only 1 entrance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Ok, I will try to phone him again. Abit paiseh to keep calling him. Scare wait he think I difficult customer, and drop me like hot potato.. Haha! Must show him tat u r an interested customer! hehehe We also sort- of decided on option c, but might change the glass door to a concrete wall.. saw a magazine design which is quite simple and nice.. but still thinking... The contractor that we met up last wkend said very sa-yang to waste the space there. He suggest that we do something like ivy's common toilet.. erect the wall inbetween and have 2 entrance.. where the original entrance is the area for bathing and the new opening for wash basin and w.c. ... he said more convenience for the whole family where those want to bath can bath, doesnt need to wait for the loo. But we thought that it might be quite crampy for the bath area. Hehe, I always wonder wat if suddenli need to do big biz while bathing. But if u'll have a big family living together, then that will be a gd idea. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted June 24, 2009 (edited) rasp, this is the night shot for the flames (at full blast) from the rinnai hob. Edited June 24, 2009 by fondue_ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 rasp, this is the night shot for the flames (at full blast) from the rinnai hob. Hi fondue, Thanks for the picture. Hee.. i quite like this burner. Actually I was quite upset initially that we are going to use gas. Like I mentioned earlier in my blog, we doesn't have government gas, so probably going for induction cooker. But recently after hubby checked the electrical load etc.. seems like my old flat cant go for induction as it might trips if aircon / storage heater are on at the same time. So decided to go for gas. I am so glad to find your blog about this burner. Thanks, babe and your helpful hb!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 Hi fondue, Thanks for the picture. Hee.. i quite like this burner. Actually I was quite upset initially that we are going to use gas. Like I mentioned earlier in my blog, we doesn't have government gas, so probably going for induction cooker. But recently after hubby checked the electrical load etc.. seems like my old flat cant go for induction as it might trips if aircon / storage heater are on at the same time. So decided to go for gas. I am so glad to find your blog about this burner. Thanks, babe and your helpful hb!!! wah, no government gas and not enough electical load? Later on microwave will trip anot? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 wah, no government gas and not enough electical load? Later on microwave will trip anot? errmm... i don't think so bah.. i haven't check microwave electrical needs. Does it also use those 15 amps points? So far, I only know that aircon, storage heater and induction cooker use those points. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
merryman 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2009 errmm... i don't think so bah.. i haven't check microwave electrical needs. Does it also use those 15 amps points? So far, I only know that aircon, storage heater and induction cooker use those points. actually, I don't know also... dies liao, i dunno if my unit will give such problem anot Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted June 28, 2009 We finally confirmed our renovator yesterday. Really tiring to kept explaining the floorplan again and again to different people. Hee.. we wasn't those ultra-hardworking kind. Went to only 5-6 and think its enough. Didnt get any drawing from anyone too , think we too thin-skinned to ask for it. And like the rest, we kinda of made some changes after new inputs from each meetings. So it seems kinda of difficult to confirm the stuff we wanted to do. Weekends burned to meet the IDs/Contractors to discuss the plan and quotes. Really tiring. Phew, thank god that its over. And we sort of managed to keep to our tight budget. Hopefully everything will go smoothly from now onwards. PS. will share our experience with the different renovators in the next post. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites