ossify 1 Report post Posted November 4, 2009 Hi Rasp, My aircon agent came back with a quote of $3090 for a sys 3 mit. I requested for all rooms 12000BTU cos i like it really cold. im not sure if tats expensive but i will go down to check out GC as well. Pls let me noe ur quotes and prices to upgrade the pipes ya. Thanks so much for ur help. =D Make sure your compressor can support your 12k btu units. if your compressor is 20k (normally this is the case), and if you switch on 2 aircon, your compressor cannot generate 24k btu of cool air. if you switch on all 3, it would definitely be very slow to cool down the room. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted November 4, 2009 Hee.. Welcome to our home~ This is how our apartment look like from outside when we leave our door open. Hehe, Rasp, Welcome me more into the house leh. Wanna see more pics of what's inside. Have been hoping to see more pics for the last few days. Hope you n hb are settling well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted November 4, 2009 (edited) Hi Rasp, My aircon agent came back with a quote of $3090 for a sys 3 mit. I requested for all rooms 12000BTU cos i like it really cold. im not sure if tats expensive but i will go down to check out GC as well. Pls let me noe ur quotes and prices to upgrade the pipes ya. Thanks so much for ur help. =D Hihi matchgirl, The price to upgrade the insulator & pipes is $120. The total cost of the aircon is around 2.4k. Hb went for toshiba as he done some research and reading the reviews online. My bil is using sanyo, but he feedbacked to us that it wasn't good and he had service it quite a number of time etc, hence hb drop it off the list. The last 2 brand that made it to hb's finalise stage was toshiba & mitsubishi, and he finally went for toshiba cause he doesn't want to be reminded of jack neo each time he on the a/c. For the btu, you may want to bring your floor plan to check with the salesman. Hb calculated on his own as the 'formula' was available online. We went for a 'larger' compressor as our mbr was quite big after the 'expansion' (around the size of my living rm). I think the btu for my mbr is 16k btu and the other normal room is 9k btu. The salesman actually encourage us to go for non-invertor so as to save more, plus we are also not frequent user of a/c. However, hb was quite set on getting invertor as he's concerned about the noise from the compressor. So we went for the toshiba invertor. Edited November 4, 2009 by Rasp Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted November 4, 2009 Hehe, Rasp, Welcome me more into the house leh. Wanna see more pics of what's inside. Have been hoping to see more pics for the last few days. Hope you n hb are settling well. Good Morning Reiki! Hee.. okok.. will welcome you abit more into the house.... er.. recess area first hor.. cause I have only clear the mess until the recess area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coffee_o 1 Report post Posted November 4, 2009 Hee.. Welcome to our home~ This is how our apartment look like from outside when we leave our door open. Hee.. feel like going home now. Wah nice :good: I like bright bright & white white house Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elfettucine 0 Report post Posted November 5, 2009 Updates on Kitchen sink: The plumber came to install the kitchen sink the following day after the granite top was installed. He was very careful with the installation. To ensure that the silicon will be applied nicely, he spent sometime 'tape-ing' the granite top and the sink to 'outline' the area. Afterwhich, he first installed the tap onto the sink. And he starts to apply the silicon. Very neat workmanship. Hee.. Here's the pics.. This is how the plumber taped the sink & surrounding granite top. Hi Rasp, I noticed you have a black granite worktop in the kitchen. Can you share with me how much your id quote for the whole worktop in the kitchen please? Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
amrasenelya 1 Report post Posted November 6, 2009 Hey Rasp, u mentioned prev to get to EDL at sungei kadut, is to take mrt to woodlands, then take shuttle bus rite? the shuttle bus take from where? whats the frequency and the bus is by EDL or by sungei kadut? thankewww!!! although i'll be out from morn, i'll check back here.. hehe.. cus ur pm inbox full la... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2009 Hey Rasp, u mentioned prev to get to EDL at sungei kadut, is to take mrt to woodlands, then take shuttle bus rite? the shuttle bus take from where? whats the frequency and the bus is by EDL or by sungei kadut? thankewww!!! although i'll be out from morn, i'll check back here.. hehe.. cus ur pm inbox full la... Hihi Amrasenelya, Hee.. I cant recall the bus no. already. That time Henry passed us the EDL book, we searched on the route using the postal code on it. Hee.. just did a brief search on it (without the book), if not wrong, the service no. should be 925. You might want to do check check on it, incase I got it wrong. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2009 Hi Rasp, I noticed you have a black granite worktop in the kitchen. Can you share with me how much your id quote for the whole worktop in the kitchen please? Thanks! Hi elfettucine, I pm you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
amrasenelya 1 Report post Posted November 7, 2009 Hihi Amrasenelya, Hee.. I cant recall the bus no. already. That time Henry passed us the EDL book, we searched on the route using the postal code on it. Hee.. just did a brief search on it (without the book), if not wrong, the service no. should be 925. You might want to do check check on it, incase I got it wrong. hee oke thanks! I tot it's a shuttle bus. Hehe thankews! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elaineteo 0 Report post Posted November 8, 2009 Hi lovely house!! feel good to read all the progress of doing up your love nest! By the way, i love your main gate, can i check with you, is it customed made or ready-made? Where did you get it ? Is it very expensive? Thanks alot for the reply! Cheers, Elaine Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted November 8, 2009 Hi lovely house!! feel good to read all the progress of doing up your love nest! By the way, i love your main gate, can i check with you, is it customed made or ready-made? Where did you get it ? Is it very expensive? Thanks alot for the reply! Cheers, Elaine Good Morning Elaine, Thanks. Our main gate is from our contractor. Err.. I guess its not so-call custom-made, cause we picked from the catalog. We only asked our contractor to add the center metal plate so that our lockset can be hidden. Because we shifted our entrance, we actually widen our entrance. Hee.. and of course, the cost of both the gate & door also widen abit. Im not sure about the cost, need to check with my hb. Will pm you about the cost once I check. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 Updates on Main Entrance: Continue from above.. As mentioned above, our gate came with a metal plate to help us hide/cover our main door lockset. The reason for having to hide our lockset was.. we bought the Samsung electronic lockset for our main wooden door. Hence, we didnt want any outsider to play/meddle with it while we're away. The electronic lockset was one of our earliest purchase for the house. We went for this electronic lockset, mainly because we noticed that the usual lockset for main door nowsadays doesn't lock when the door is closed. We need to use the keys to lock it when we are going out. Hee.. unlike the lockset of olden hdb, once the door slam, its locked. Both of us are not used to turning the keys to lock the door when going off. Hence, over the past 2 years of staying there, we only close the main door and lock the main gate which can be quite dangerous. Now with this electronic lock, we just got to slam the door and yes, the door is locked. And in the event, we missed out something after the door closed, we just got to enter the pin and we are in again. Hee.. pretty convenient. Unlike most, we got the lockset from a local dealer/shop to have a peace of mind. We're glad that we did so, as the door installer actually came down twice with the lock, the first time to meet with the gate installer to ensure that the metal plate will be done up nicely and the second time to install the lock at the end of the reno. The lockset wording/instructions etc, are also in English, instead of Korean if we had bought it from importers. For our recess area, we didnt do any fanciful stuff. Just kept it simple and cluster-free with a suspended shoe rack. We had it suspended as our recess area cant be leveled to living area floor height due to HDB regulations and hb is concerned about the wood contact with water during the monthly block-washing. Hee.. Here's the pics of the main entrance / recess area.. This is what the external parties will see from outside. Hee.. can hardly peek inside, plenty of privacy, we like it very much. Our shoe rack tucked nicely at the corner. Hee.. we managed to pick a laminate with beautiful strips that kinda of matches our floor tiles too. The laminate is slightly 3d but cant see much from pics. Here's the full view of the shoe rack. Nothing fancy, just a simple suspended shoe rack to prevent flooding from the monthly block water and ease of cleaning the floor. And we done some gaps within the shelves.. hopefully.. can help with the circulation of the internal air to prevent molding of shoes and lighten the smell. Our main door lockset and gate. (I forgot to upload the front view of the lockset. ) Ok... here's the view of my opposite neighbour. Pretty good distance between our doors. Hee.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
elaineteo 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 Good Morning Elaine, Thanks. Our main gate is from our contractor. Err.. I guess its not so-call custom-made, cause we picked from the catalog. We only asked our contractor to add the center metal plate so that our lockset can be hidden. Because we shifted our entrance, we actually widen our entrance. Hee.. and of course, the cost of both the gate & door also widen abit. Im not sure about the cost, need to check with my hb. Will pm you about the cost once I check. oh, i see! It is lovely! okok, will wait for your PM then! We are thinking of changing ours too! But depends on how much it is! Thanks! =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
silhouette 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2009 Updates on Main Entrance: Unlike most, we got the lockset from a local dealer/shop to have a peace of mind. We're glad that we did so, as the door installer actually came down twice with the lock, the first time to meet with the gate installer to ensure that the metal plate will be done up nicely and the second time to install the lock at the end of the reno. The lockset wording/instructions etc, are also in English, instead of Korean if we had bought it from importers. Hi, can i check with you from which dealer/shop did you get your lockset from? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites