Rasp

Our Home

pple rarely do marble flooring now is becos of the high price tag! that's why usually only see it being used in condos. My mum also reminded me that the marble floor can be very cold during cold mths, she dun really like that part of it after staying in a house >10yrs w marble flooring, but we can always get bathroom slippers mah! :rolleyes:

Gd luck on ur reno search ya!

Thanks for the well wishes.

I just received the electronic copy of my floorplan from HDB. But its in pdf format. Let me see hw to post it.

Actually we had the physical copy of the floorplan already. Bought them on our 2nd hdb appt.

But I read that we can request for it online, so I went to try out the system last week. Waste $$ .. :bangwall:

I just received the electronic copy of my floorplan from HDB. But its in pdf format. Let me see hw to post it.

Actually we had the physical copy of the floorplan already. Bought them on our 2nd hdb appt.

But I read that we can request for it online, so I went to try out the system last week. Waste $$ .. :bangwall:

hehe just do a print-screen while the file is open, paste it in paint program and save it as a jpg file. :)

laying marble can cost 2 times that of laying homogenous tiles depending on the size of the marble slab. The material itself is more expensive, it's heavier so harder to lay and thicker so harder to cut, thus labour costs can be very high. :)

Hahaha, I actually got the floor plan from the previous owners too, but there were some drawings in pen and I had to scan and take away some of the drawings (lines and dotted lines and stuff).. Den I thought why not buy online in pdf format.. Hahaha.. Come to think about it, waste money even if it's $5, cuz the old plan is actually good enough.. hahaha.. Yah, follow what pet says, print screen, paste it onto paint den save as jpeg..

Hi Angel81,

Thanks for sharing your experience.

The colour is greyish so once its stained, the patches are going to be very obvious. Like the wanton mee sauce. Your beige/brown marble is good also, at least the stainings won't be that obvious.

I didn't took any pictures of the terrible flat conditions at the time we first took over cause the whole place was in a big mess and pretty dark. Being quite a timid person, I was afraid that the pictures might capture something weird / strange and my imagination will run wild. Hee... i know i am silly. :D

Can I check with you, if your marble have a top coating like a seal protection or something? Mine seems very 'raw' / rough now. Not sure if the polishing include such a thing.

There should be a layer of sealant applied to the marble after polishing. Maybe cuz it's been a long time since the last polish, that's why it seems raw/rough now.

Check out this link about marble polishing. I was searching on how to care for my marble floor previously and found this webbie. Hope it helps. :)

My place also uses tank gas. That's the problem with old flats. I got to know it just before my 1st appt, and really wondered if we should go ahead with the purchase, as I hate using gas cylinders. But to let this small problem stand in the way of such a nice flat... In the end, we went ahead with it. :)

Edited by Angel81

There should be a layer of sealant applied to the marble after polishing. Maybe cuz it's been a long time since the last polish, that's why it seems raw/rough now.

Check out this link about marble polishing. I was searching on how to care for my marble floor previously and found this webbie. Hope it helps. :)

My place also uses tank gas. That's the problem with old flats. I got to know it just before my 1st appt, and really wondered if we should go ahead with the purchase, as I hate using gas cylinders. But to let this small problem stand in the way of such a nice flat... In the end, we went ahead with it. :)

The link is very useful. Thanks Angel81. I saw your renovated house. Very nice. We also view several EM around this area that time. But didn't get cause lazy to climb steps. Heehee. Your place look really spacious.

My place had 2 tank of gas currently. Freebies from the ex-tenants. :D I have been trying to ask the gas supplier to get rid of them but cant fix up the appt always. We bought a small portable induction cooker for temporary use cause I don't dare to use the gas tank. Guess we'll go for induction after reno. Still cant get use of the gas tank, maybe watch too much show with gas tank explosion scenes. :dunno:

Thanks pinkpetter and metalsubzero.

Here's my floorplan. Feel free to share any ideas.

HDBFloorplan.jpg

hey ur floor plan is very similar to mine!! except the MBR toilet is at different position and my kitchen bathroom n toilet is seperate, other than that everything else is the same.

I will want to hack that piece of wall right in front of the entrance to make the whole place looks bigger! I also have the same piece of wall right after I enter my unit.. but unfortunately mine cannot hack :( i think urs can hack leh, that is if u want to.

Your house plan looks like mine. But, wow!, your common toilet is so much bigger! :o

You will get used to the cylinder gas tank. Hehe, it is actually not that bad lah :) We didnt expect our house didnt have 'government gas' too when we purchased. Only found out during renovation.

How big is your square area eh?

The link is very useful. Thanks Angel81. I saw your renovated house. Very nice. We also view several EM around this area that time. But didn't get cause lazy to climb steps. Heehee. Your place look really spacious.

My place had 2 tank of gas currently. Freebies from the ex-tenants. :D I have been trying to ask the gas supplier to get rid of them but cant fix up the appt always. We bought a small portable induction cooker for temporary use cause I don't dare to use the gas tank. Guess we'll go for induction after reno. Still cant get use of the gas tank, maybe watch too much show with gas tank explosion scenes. :dunno:

No probs, glad it helps. Hee, we love EMs cuz of the space, and there's more privacy when guests come.

Actually after using gas tank, it's still ok. Just that have to sacrifice a cabinet space for the tank. I wanted to go for induction when I heard that I'll have to use gas tank at first. But after hearing that induction uses lots of electricity, I decided against it. Moreover my ILs live with me, and if my MIL cooks, I'm sure she'll prefer the traditional way of cooking.

hey ur floor plan is very similar to mine!! except the MBR toilet is at different position and my kitchen bathroom n toilet is seperate, other than that everything else is the same.

I will want to hack that piece of wall right in front of the entrance to make the whole place looks bigger! I also have the same piece of wall right after I enter my unit.. but unfortunately mine cannot hack :( i think urs can hack leh, that is if u want to.

I went to see your floor plan. Yes, very similar. Only our MBR abit different.

I think our common bathroom is the same, except that they spilt yours into 2 area while mine is a deep long one. Think yours better, got a designated area for each purpose. :D

For my place, the wall right in-front the entrance is already hacked off by the previous owners. I am thinking if its possible to hack off the wall that is 'right-angle' to this wall to open up the kitchen. Any idea where can I ask? Email HDB ? Will they entertain me?

Your house plan looks like mine. But, wow!, your common toilet is so much bigger! :o

You will get used to the cylinder gas tank. Hehe, it is actually not that bad lah :) We didnt expect our house didnt have 'government gas' too when we purchased. Only found out during renovation.

How big is your square area eh?

Hi Reiki,

I went to look at your blog. Its your place that I should WoW! :D

Did you have 2 entrance to your kitchen? 1 from the living and 1 from the dining.. very unique.. What is the wide of your kitchen? Seems quite wide even with the 2 rows of cabinets. Think wider than my kitchen.

We are 122sqm. What about yours?

No probs, glad it helps. Hee, we love EMs cuz of the space, and there's more privacy when guests come.

Actually after using gas tank, it's still ok. Just that have to sacrifice a cabinet space for the tank. I wanted to go for induction when I heard that I'll have to use gas tank at first. But after hearing that induction uses lots of electricity, I decided against it. Moreover my ILs live with me, and if my MIL cooks, I'm sure she'll prefer the traditional way of cooking.

I see. I see. Yah, my mum also prefer to cook with 'real' fire. They just cant get use to adjust the screen to lower the heat, must see with their eyes that the flames become smaller. Hee..

I also heard that some old flats cant support the electricity load of induction. So I think that's another issue too. Have to read up on that.

I went to see your floor plan. Yes, very similar. Only our MBR abit different.

I think our common bathroom is the same, except that they spilt yours into 2 area while mine is a deep long one. Think yours better, got a designated area for each purpose. :D

For my place, the wall right in-front the entrance is already hacked off by the previous owners. I am thinking if its possible to hack off the wall that is 'right-angle' to this wall to open up the kitchen. Any idea where can I ask? Email HDB ? Will they entertain me?

i think that wall can hack. The IDs I met taught me that if on plan the walls are coloured black means cannot hack. those that white can hack! Means yours can hack. Any ID will be able to advise you. but if you want official confirmation, it should be HDB.

Did you have 2 entrance to your kitchen? 1 from the living and 1 from the dining.. very unique.. What is the wide of your kitchen? Seems quite wide even with the 2 rows of cabinets. Think wider than my kitchen.

We are 122sqm. What about yours?

Yup, we have 2 entrances. We knocked down the wall [from the living room].

EntrancetoDining-Living1A.jpg

The area, err, not so sure but according to the house plan is 5.9 x 2.85. Our total square area for the house is 121.

Edited by Reiki

Yup, we have 2 entrances. We knocked down the wall [from the living room].

The area, err, not so sure but according to the house plan is 5.9 x 2.85. Our total square area for the house is 121.

I see i see. My kitchen is 5.35 x 2.9, shorter than yours. So I guess we can still do the facing cabinets like you, since our width are quite close.

But the thing is.. currently our bamboo sticks are hung vertically along the kitchen. So if we were to do the facing cabinets.. we cant hang our clothes up there and I don't dare to put them outside. Scare I drop them / drop myself. :o