Rasp

Our Home

must make gd relationship with the neighbours esp the one that stays directly below you during reno period.. hee dont make enemies before moving in..

hee.. yes yes, think our neighbours quite important. But we didnt get to see them before reno. Went during the evening around 8pm also no one at home. ;)

Luckily my block still doing the upgrading now. So the noise from the reno, people might thought its from the upgrading. :D

WD 1 (29/Jul):

After laying the paper, the workers only managed to hacked the common bathroom tiles, kitchen cabinets and half the kitchen wall tiles.

Hacked common bathroom

P1020440.jpg

Kitchen cabinet gone

P1020445.jpg

Half the kitchen wall tile gone

P1020443.jpg

And the rubbish from the dismantling

P1020452.jpg

Hb also arranged for Gain city to dismantle the existing aircon unit on WD 1. They were fast and efficient. Within less than 2hrs, they took down all the trunking, aircon unit as well as the compressor outside. :thumbs up:

Mbr after taking down the aircon and they 'block' the hole with a wood board. Look filmsy, and they told me this is the usual practise and also for the ease of their colleagues when they do installation.

And yes, the whole unit is pink in colour when we bought it. We painted it white ourselves. The pink resurfaced again after the removal and hb still can tell me, last time is pink meh.. ;)

P1020429.jpg

The holes left behind after removal of the trunking. Had told Henry, and he said will settle the holes for us. :D

P1020432.jpg

One unexpected thing happened though. During the dismantling of the water pipes next to the balcony, the gain city staff called me over and showed me the broken marble skirting. He said the previous aircon installers had broke it while installing and tried to 'paste' back and hide under the trunking. Hence, can see the cement along the breakline. So he wanted to show me so that there is no misunderstanding. Aiyo... but seeing that still broke my heart.. my poor marble skirting...

Hb told Henry about it already. He will settle that for us too. :thumbs up:

P1020438.jpg

P1020439.jpg

WD 2 & 3

Mbr toilet hacked.

P1020465-1.jpg

Balcony wall and floor tiles hacked. Sorry for the dark pic.

P1020464-1.jpg

Walls and concret support between the common bedroom & mbr hacked

View from mbr

P1020498.jpg

View from common bedroom

P1020501-1.jpg

The kitchen entrance is also hacked. And all the debris have been cleared off on Friday.

P1020503-1.jpg

Tiles also arrived on Friday. We spotted them at the void deck. :D

P1020491a-1.jpg

P1020492a-1.jpg

WD 1: The workers came around 9.30am and start to load their stuff first before laying those papers.

The 2 rolls of papers which they brought up..

P1020403.jpg

Close up of the papers.. Last time, I thought they are just those flat cardboard that are used for carton boxes. Didn't know that they have wedges inbetweens. Very fun to step on them to play with the 'sinking' effect. Hee.. :D

P1020408.jpg

They covered the whole place (less the area which we placed our barang barang)..

P1020416.jpg

P1020413.jpg

Your ID very good leh, sticked the paper until so nice.

Mine just anyhow laid, ended up my marble floor got scratched. Sway!

Your ID very good leh, sticked the paper until so nice.

Mine just anyhow laid, ended up my marble floor got scratched. Sway!

My paper also become abit ko-ya after the unloading of debris as they use the barrow wheel on it. I do the 'patching' myself cause I found a big roll of the cardboard lying around. Hee.. somehow managed to use all up to patch the major 'holes'.

How's the scratch? Can the polishing removes them? I also saw scratches near the new kitchen entrance as they have to use some force to push the barrow up from the kitchen area. So the paper cant withstand and torn off, exposing my marble to the scratch also. :(

Edited by Rasp

our marble has also been super scratched... the protective layering was oredi torn on the 2nd day it was put up, hah.

the hubby was quite upset @ first, then think as the days passed, and more and more holes appeared in the paper, see oredi also no feeling.

guess its inevitable, esp as the workers go around doing their stuff.

BUT it had better not leave permanent damages on the marble... we'll know soon enuff... marble polishing today!

our marble has also been super scratched... the protective layering was oredi torn on the 2nd day it was put up, hah.

the hubby was quite upset @ first, then think as the days passed, and more and more holes appeared in the paper, see oredi also no feeling.

guess its inevitable, esp as the workers go around doing their stuff.

BUT it had better not leave permanent damages on the marble... we'll know soon enuff... marble polishing today!

I see i see. I went to patch them (the more serious lobangs) on my own during 2 nights. :P Hopefully that the damage will be reduced.

Please share with me, if the scratches can be remove via polishing. Thanks!! :D

My paper also become abit ko-ya after the unloading of debris as they use the barrow wheel on it. I do the 'patching' myself cause I found a big roll of the cardboard lying around. Hee.. somehow managed to use all up to patch the major 'holes'.

How's the scratch? Can the polishing removes them? I also saw scratches near the new kitchen entrance as they have to use some force to push the barrow up from the kitchen area. So the paper cant withstand and torn off, exposing my marble to the scratch also. :(

No can't be removed with the polishing. ID said will use sandpaper but then long already still haven't done anything.

Very disappointed with my ID, at first very on the ball. Now very restless. Things have not been moving for the last few days.

Yah, you are lucky.. escape the lengthy draggy procedures for the purchase of recess area. We also shifting the main entrance outside. I remember your recess have a window or something, are you keeping a space open with window? Then it will be much brighter than ours. We went to look at our neighbour one, quite small and dark. ;)

Ya, mine has a small area for grilles which make the foyer the brightest & windy corner of the house.

No can't be removed with the polishing. ID said will use sandpaper but then long already still haven't done anything.

Very disappointed with my ID, at first very on the ball. Now very restless. Things have not been moving for the last few days.

Gosh... hope your ID able to do something using the sand paper. Maybe she is checking it out for you.

When's your HO?

Edited by Rasp

Ya, mine has a small area for grilles which make the foyer the brightest & windy corner of the house.

*Envy* Mine going to be very dark after wall is erected to seal off the place cause not allow to do windows (HDB regulations).

I ever thought of using those big glass block to construct a small area on that wall (saw 2 neighbours below doing that), hoping to bring in some light. But my contractor told us that those glass block are quite fragile and they tends to 'crack' within. So from outside, we can see the cracks and no way to change them unless we hack the whole wall. ;)

Updates on hacking:

Debris cleared from the mbr bathroom and future pathway to it.

P1020548.jpg

P1020547.jpg

Common bathroom wall fully hacked to shift entrance.

P1020538.jpg

Old rubbish chute remove and sand loaded to kitchen.

P1020543.jpg