Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2009 Hooray! Another Impressor! Hee Clap Clap =) Enjoy the journey! Hihi XBB, YEA~ We signed up with Henry. So our 'nationality' is Impressor? Hee.. How's his work so far at your place? I read about your laser chalk. You're soooo pro man. Must share your experience and stuff to take note with me. I quite blur kinda. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2009 Hihi XBB, YEA~ We signed up with Henry. So our 'nationality' is Impressor? Hee.. How's his work so far at your place? I read about your laser chalk. You're soooo pro man. Must share your experience and stuff to take note with me. I quite blur kinda. I'm also in a blur mode myself...The best way is that YOU work ahead of Renovation. The house currently under painting...HTB says we have a nice blue study room...Ohhhh so excited to see it! When are you starting RENO? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2009 I'm also in a blur mode myself...The best way is that YOU work ahead of Renovation. The house currently under painting...HTB says we have a nice blue study room...Ohhhh so excited to see it! When are you starting RENO? Good Morning XBB, We starting on 29th July. Hb got the sms from Henry yesterday afternoon that the HDB permit had been approved for all the works. So excited!!! We almost cant believe it that we called him up last night to check if the approval includes the 2 walls to be hack and all the walls that we are putting up. And the answer was positive. So happy..... We are expecting the worse as almost all the contractors/ids that we met previously, told us that its very tough to get the permit approved and its going to be a long wait for those special permits on the walls. Some even suggested that we put glysum boards instead. Henry told us that he will try his best to apply the permit for us and in the event that its reject, we can work out alternatives around the rejection reason. Infact, he's the only one during our search who can tell us the likely reason for the HDB rejection on putting up the wall (i cant remember well, something about fire exit route to be less than 20m, ventilation etc). So happy that its approved already. And the best part was we signed up with Henry on Sat and its approved yesterday afternoon. Only took 3.5working days to done. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted July 3, 2009 Wao, congrates on the approval! Henry sounds like a great and responsible guy. Hehe, u guys got urself a good contractor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted July 3, 2009 Amazing efficiency right? Hee I think he did it online ...mine was overnight sia~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 Wao, congrates on the approval! Henry sounds like a great and responsible guy. Hehe, u guys got urself a good contractor. Amazing efficiency right? Hee I think he did it online ...mine was overnight sia~ Thanks. Yah. He's quite efficient. And in order not to delay the work, he told us to inform the window guy to come down to install on the 4th work day (2nd Aug) and reminded us to tell that guy to apply for the window installation permit. We also not bad... started to ask him about the aircon installation date which he said not so soon. Hee.. Roughly when are the aircons installed? 1st week? or 2nd week? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 We confirmed and bought most of the electrical applicances today. Below are the items we bought: 1. Mitsubishi Fridge (MR-F62U) Our criteria for fridge is quite simple; just big, clean look and easy maintenance. Prefer this over side-by-side fridge as the space inside will be more 'flexible'. This fridge doesn't have any protruding handle which give it a clean and sleek look. And most importantly, it can hold alot with its capacity (>500litres). 2. Samsung washing machine (WA-11VP) We went for top load instead of front load as top load washes faster and save more electricity. Initially, we wanted to go for a smaller machine but heard from many sales assistants that 7.5kg would not be able to wash comforter/curtains/bedsheets etc.. so decided to go for this 9kg. This come with quite a number of functions such as diamond drum, misty shower, silver nano technology, powerful water flow effect, air turbo drying system and most importantly, the magic filter. My current washing machine is using the old school cloth filter which is very troublesome, so I insisted on 'no-cloth filter'. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 Thanks. Yah. He's quite efficient. And in order not to delay the work, he told us to inform the window guy to come down to install on the 4th work day (2nd Aug) and reminded us to tell that guy to apply for the window installation permit. We also not bad... started to ask him about the aircon installation date which he said not so soon. Hee.. Roughly when are the aircons installed? 1st week? or 2nd week? Well he will tell you when to deliver sanitary stuffs. He will let you know when to install aircon..cos need to wait until toilet is completed. He won't inform you last min for sure. Just do your homework in advance and you can pace easily. The first day we caught smoking in the house, lights left on and wall fan used...within a few days, the house door has house rules liao. Haha His standards quite high and confirm no prob with HDB. I find his reasoning often with good intentions and not the typical "push responsibility". Although I wanna micro-manage but hahaha I think things going nice and smooth - I'm not worrying so much BUT you do have to check and let him know of any displeasure! I also do tell him the gd stuffs of course. Haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 3. 2 LCD TV (42" LG70YR & 32" LH20R) HB decided on these 2 models. Just using the TVs to watch programs, so didnt go for any top-notch models. Think these two should be good enough for us. 4. Sharp Super Steam Oven (AX-1500) We went for this mainly because of its multi-function. It can steam, grill, bake and microwave. We worked out that since we are going to get a microwave, might as well go for this which can microwave as well as steam and bake. Good for saving the worktop space. The 'extra' benefits that come with this oven was it cooks in a healthier way. It reduces fat, calories and salt during cooking. And retains more vitamins in the food. Not sure if they are true. But we certainly hope they are. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 5. Rinnai Hob (RB-2CG) Initial plan was to go for induction cooker. However, HB found that our electricity load might not be sufficient and our electricity might trips if our storage heater, aircon and induction cooker are on together. Hence, we changed plan to use gas cylinder instead. Read that the forum that inner flame was better for Asian cooking. So we narrowed down our search to 2, fujioh or rinnai. Decided on Rinnai, mainly due to its sleek look and the demo that the hoe kee staff do on the fujioh hob didnt managed to impress us as it look more 'complex' than rinnai having to take up more 'parts' to remove the burner for spills. 6. Elba Hood (EFCH 9401) We have no idea which hood to go for as there are some negative comments about rinnai hood in the net. Initially decided to go for brandt slim hood, but we are convinced by the shop that brandt hood was overpriced. This Elba hood have similar look as the brandt one, maintanence wise also similar which is to remove and clean the filter every 2weeks. But there's a huge difference in the suction power between them. Elba suction power was like twice of brandt and yet its price is half of it. Hence, we are sold. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 Total Damage: $5500 Free freebies: a) 2 HDMI wires, b) 2 pcs microwave set and cooking lesson for the oven, c) $100 voucher from the washing machine and d) 1 free gift which the shop allow us to choose ourselves (blender, rice cooker, electric cooker, cordless phone etc). We cant decide on what to get. Maybe we might take the slow cooker below. Pretty cool look for a slow cooker. And the glass bowl can be use in microwave also. Hee.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 Well he will tell you when to deliver sanitary stuffs. He will let you know when to install aircon..cos need to wait until toilet is completed. He won't inform you last min for sure. Just do your homework in advance and you can pace easily. The first day we caught smoking in the house, lights left on and wall fan used...within a few days, the house door has house rules liao. Haha His standards quite high and confirm no prob with HDB. I find his reasoning often with good intentions and not the typical "push responsibility". Although I wanna micro-manage but hahaha I think things going nice and smooth - I'm not worrying so much BUT you do have to check and let him know of any displeasure! I also do tell him the gd stuffs of course. Haha Hihi XBB, I see I see. I think I will take leave on the first day to look around. Hee.. Now that you mention, I guess we will have to confirm our sanitary stuff soon. Thanks for the reminder. Good to hear that Henry is responsible and responsive. Both of us are not good with details. Its going to be good for us if Henry have high standards. Then we don't have to stress too much. Hee.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2009 (edited) You need to know the wc hole size first wor~ =) the first day shld be hacking.....bangaladeshie...most cannot speak english. HTB says only one...and they listen to foreman. So anything wrong let henry or Ong know. Edited July 4, 2009 by XiaoBinBin Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rasp 0 Report post Posted July 20, 2009 Hee.. long time no update again... nearly cant find my blog. Past 2 weeks, we settled and bought the below items: a) our simple lights, b) ceiling fans, c) bathroom sinks, taps, shower set, w.c. and accessories, d) kitchen sinks & taps, e) instant & storage heater, f) aircon, and g) sofa. Hee.. is there anything that we missed out? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted July 20, 2009 d) 1 free gift which the shop allow us to choose ourselves (blender, rice cooker, electric cooker, cordless phone etc). We cant decide on what to get. Maybe we might take the slow cooker below. Pretty cool look for a slow cooker. And the glass bowl can be use in microwave also. Hee.. Super cool looking slow cooker. Hee.. long time no update again... nearly cant find my blog. Past 2 weeks, we settled and bought the below items: a) our simple lights, b) ceiling fans, c) bathroom sinks, taps, shower set, w.c. and accessories, d) kitchen sinks & taps, e) instant & storage heater, f) aircon, and g) sofa. Hee.. is there anything that we missed out? Hehe, u've missed out the pics of the items above. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites