pinkiedreamy

Dreamy's Love Nest

what happen? thought 1st apt on 13 may? saw your posts, quite well prepared for your reno to start....

yah. it is 13 may.

i mean...i haven sign 1st appt, and i so sian le.

haha.

we are think to get the wetworks done by this uncles contractor who did up our current 4rm flat.

then get a ID to design and do carpentry.

Anyone have experience with CityDesign @ IMM?

hi thanks for reminding me. will take not when CO do the closet measurement.

yah...tat uncle did a handsketch 3D. but very difficult to visualise the laminates color combination.

haiz...now head big big...n getting veri veri tired with all these.....and worse thing is I HAVEN GET MY 1st appt...n I'm so sian le

dun sian dun sian, its just a passing phase for a better home soon! Its gd that u get all ur details now, then when reno start u'll be happy that u've done ur research long ago!

U mentioned u may wanna get CD to do the kitchen cabinets for u too right? Do they provide 3D? Maybe can ask them for the laminates for u to take a look n have a feel 1st.

dun sian dun sian, its just a passing phase for a better home soon! Its gd that u get all ur details now, then when reno start u'll be happy that u've done ur research long ago!

U mentioned u may wanna get CD to do the kitchen cabinets for u too right? Do they provide 3D? Maybe can ask them for the laminates for u to take a look n have a feel 1st.

CD did mention they will do kitchen.

still thinking wanna let them do or my ID whose doing the rest of carpntry.

CD quoted me LG solid surface @ $80+pfr

whereas my ID quote LG @ abt $100+....

Went Jalan Besaer to shop around for bathroom accessories.

Anyone using TURBO Hood and Hob?

cos this is the only brand that I've seen, carries white glass hob.

Went Adamas and Hoe Kee

Will probably get taps from Hoe Kee - cos they have designs which i cant find elsewhere.....still looking.

Rain shower (mayb getting), sinks, storage heater and etc from Adamas.

but will get after i get my $ from 2nd appt (sale of my current flat).

cos usually pay via cash, they can give more discounts =)

Quote from my ID on carpentry

Living room

1. To design and fabricate suspended shoe cabinet 4ft - $1040

2. To design and fabricate Feature wall 5ft - $1400

3. To desgn and fabricate suspend TV console 5ft - $650

Study/ entertainment room

4. To design and fabricate study table 4ft - $640

5. To design and fabricate top hung cabinet 4ft - $640

6. To design and fabricate book cabinet 4ft - $1040

Bathroom

7. To design and fabricatesuspended vanity cabinet 5ft - $650

8. To design and fabricate vanity top using solid surface 5ft - $400

9. To supply and install solid surface top 15.5ft - $1240

10.To designa nd fabbricate designer tal unit 2ft - $660

11.To design and fabricate kitchen top cabinet 15.5ft - $1705

12. To design and fabricate kitchen bottom cabinet 15.5ft - $1705

13. To supply and contruct spray paint tempered glass (3.3m x 0.75m) - $950

Miscellaneous

14. To designand construct ceiling design for foyer, passage way, living and dining hall - $1800

15. To supply and install 10mm tempered glass fix panel at kichen entrance (1.2m x 2.1m) - $480

16. To supply and construct 10mm tempered sliding door a kitchen enttrance (0.9m x 2.1m) - $1420

17. To supply and install 10mm tempered glass fix panel (partition between kitchen and service balcony) (1.5m x 2.1m) - $380

18. To supply and install 10mm tempered glass fix panel at Study/entertainment room (1.5m x 2.1m) - $480

16. To supply and construct 10mm tempered sliding door a Study/entertainment room (0.9m x 2.1m) - $1420

17. To supply and paint whole house including ceiling, door, door frame, gate and expose pipes - $1050

Tempered glass door really ex. One sliding door already cost me $1900 :(

i think this quote a bit expensive leh.

my 4ft full ht shoe cabinet is less than $1K

I was quoted around $1.4k for tv feature wall and console but it is for 8ft with wall paper.

i think this quote a bit expensive leh.

my 4ft full ht shoe cabinet is less than $1K

I was quoted around $1.4k for tv feature wall and console but it is for 8ft with wall paper.

we also find the shoe cabinet and Tv wall + console ex.

Yours 8 ft with wall paper and console, only $1.4k?

the price she quoted me is using laminates. :unsure:

we also find the shoe cabinet and Tv wall + console ex.

Yours 8 ft with wall paper and console, only $1.4k?

the price she quoted me is using laminates. :unsure:

My old quote states $1.3K yah with wall paper. but i not yet sign on the finalise quote so it will be abt there. urs ahh TV console + feature wall add together around $2K already.

ok my 4 ft shoe cabinet cost about $720 to be exact. However these are contractor price lah not ID price.

Your quote does not include hacking/disposal and haulage??

My old quote states $1.3K yah with wall paper. but i not yet sign on the finalise quote so it will be abt there. urs ahh TV console + feature wall add together around $2K already.

ok my 4 ft shoe cabinet cost about $720 to be exact. However these are contractor price lah not ID price.

Your quote does not include hacking/disposal and haulage??

To supply and lay protection sheet for the affected area - $180

General cleaning for the whole house - $280

Debris fee - $250

This ID oni do my carpentry, false ceiling and lighting.

Tiling and hacking is by another contractor.

cos my contractor sub his carpentry and ID out to others, and the 'designer-cum-carpenter" cant even dry a proper 3D design.

So we decided to get ID to design our place and the carpentry.

But really scared of ID firms....expecially hearing lawry's story

it is hard to compare. Esp item by item.

I heard Uncle Soon mentioned his prices are better if you let him do the whole house. Like Ivy and mine, he said he can move prices better cos we let him do everything.

He said if he someone ask him to do just cabinets.. it is hard to give our kind of prices. Same goes for TV console + Feature wall.

it is hard to compare. Esp item by item.

I heard Uncle Soon mentioned his prices are better if you let him do the whole house. Like Ivy and mine, he said he can move prices better cos we let him do everything.

He said if he someone ask him to do just cabinets.. it is hard to give our kind of prices. Same goes for TV console + Feature wall.

I agree. If they do whole house, then the prices are better.

But the tiling contractor we engage, sub the carpentry out, and we pay direct to the carpenter, so price not much discount, but of cos cheaper cos he is not ID.

The "carpenter" brought us to view a flat which he done up the carpentry, and I would say, very outdated feel.

Whereas the ID we spoke to, gave us a trendy and modern feel. Moreover hubby and I cant design, so decided it is best to leave this job to ID.

And best of all, she can do a 3D graphic design for us to visualise.

Perhaps you might ask, why didn't our tiling oso give to this ID?

well, we are very particular about the tiling job. and this tiling contractor has good workmanship.

So we decided to have 2 different companies to do up our place.

hmm the carpentry is a bit expensive i think but still reasonable....

for comparison my ID quoted me about 1K total for 5ft wall feature (full length) and console using laminates....

hmm the carpentry is a bit expensive i think but still reasonable....

for comparison my ID quoted me about 1K total for 5ft wall feature (full length) and console using laminates....

saw from your blog, the inital qote for 9ft as 2.5k.

so u reduced to 5ft. and yours seems to be cheaper than mine.

do you have any picture of your wall feature?

my ID mentioned it is designer wall feature. hopefully not just a board with laminates.

I kinda like those wall feature with 3D feel....

Finaly 1st APPT with HDB completed on 13th May 2009.

2nd APPT will be on 8th July. cos mine is a contra case, so estimated 8 weeks.

Going up to the unit on 16th May 2009 with contractors and IDs for measurement and some photo taking.

After that will go up for last inspection before 8th July 2009.

Finally it is moving....