adrian_john

Our 2nd Home In Bishan

Eh New

Maybe AJ slept like that after having too much croc meat leh :rofl:

wahahahha kopi u very bad!!!

Kopi, you trying to hint that I'm a 'buaya' issit??? 8|

You know, I wish I could have some sleep like that leh. I think one of the things I'm lacking for the last 2 weeks is good sleep.

Work, packing, shifting and now being sick is taking a toll on me man! zz

Edited by adrian_john

Kopi, you trying to hint that I'm a 'buaya' issit??? 8|

You know, I wish I could have some sleep like that leh. I think one of the things I'm lacking for the last 2 weeks is good sleep.

Work, packing, shifting and now being sick is taking a toll on me man! zz

Bro MC MC take MC and rest at home.

I know it's tough but at least yours is reaching the finishing line soon whereas mine have not reach the start line yet :(

think positive bro, at least now you got a nice and beautiful home to go back to after you knock off from work :)

I know it's tough but at least yours is reaching the finishing line soon whereas mine have not reach the start line yet :(

think positive bro, at least now you got a nice and beautiful home to go back to after you knock off from work :)

ya.. adrian, take mc.. tell doctor got flu.. at least 2 days mc..

hubby common flu nia.. doctor gave him 5 days mc.. so shiok... hahaha

Heya Guys, I've PMed you as requested.

Cheers. :)

Thanks Adrian! I tried to reply thru pm but your inbox is full. Pls share with us the service and workmanship of the blinds k? Looking forward to see the pics of your completed reno! :D

Hey man,

take care. Haze is getting worst these days.....and I am having dry eye probably due to that...dad also down with flu and cough...

The haze is back :curse:

The Land Line Phone Transfer Saga - My Rant

phonerage.jpg

Since we're moving in this week, arranging for the phone line to be transferred to the new address is one of the routine tasks to do.

So I had my mum call up the provider and inform them of the transfer, and the Customer Service person informed her that there would be a transfer fee imposed; which is normal and fine with us. But what really got me annoyed was that she added we would have to pay an additional $24 w/GST every quarter since we wanted to retain our current number. The officer was saying that my new address in Bishan comes under Ang Mo Kio zone in their system so hence, they need to impose this retention charge.

I was a little puzzled and I spoke to the officer and told her that we've had this line and number for like almost 40 years now and even though we have shifted previously many years ago from TPY to Bishan, and then from Bishan to within Bishan. So now that we're once again doing another Bishan to Bishan shift, I don't see why we need to pay this additional retention charge. I asked her how can my new place also at Bishan, which is not even 2km away, come under Ang Mo Kio, and all she could reply was that their system puts the zone this way. And I also reiterated that its not as though I'm moving from Bishan to Tuas or Pasir Ris.

I told her off that I think the system's flawed and I think the perpetual charges of approximately $100 per annum is totally unfair and ridiculous and I would definitely not want to pay it. I did cite and stress to her however, that I have no problems with the one-time transfer fee as that's fine and expected. So I told her to bring this matter up to the supervisor/manager and let me know quickly. In the meantime, I explored the option of switching to the services of an alternative provider; and found that they only charged a 1-time porting fee. Should the current provider insist on charging me for number rentention, I'd just cancel my subscription.

Finally they got back and said that after speaking to the manager, they would waive the transfer fee and perpetual number retention.

So for those who will be transferring or retaining your numbers in future, do take note of this.

Since we're moving in this week, arranging for the phone line to be transferred to the new address is one of the routine tasks to do.

So I had my mum call up the provider and inform them of the transfer, and the Customer Service person informed her that there would be a transfer fee imposed; which is normal and fine with us. But what really got me annoyed was that she added we would have to pay an additional $24 w/GST every quarter since we wanted to retain our current number. The officer was saying that my new address in Bishan comes under Ang Mo Kio zone in their system so hence, they need to impose this retention charge.

I was a little puzzled and I spoke to the officer and told her that we've had this line and number for like almost 40 years now and even though we have shifted previously many years ago from TPY to Bishan, and then from Bishan to within Bishan. So now that we're once again doing another Bishan to Bishan shift, I don't see why we need to pay this additional retention charge. I asked her how can my new place also at Bishan, which is not even 2km away, come under Ang Mo Kio, and all she could reply was that their system puts the zone this way. And I also reiterated that its not as though I'm moving from Bishan to Tuas or Pasir Ris.

I told her off that I think the system's flawed and I think the perpetual charges of approximately $100 per annum is totally unfair and ridiculous and I would definitely not want to pay it. I did cite and stress to her however, that I have no problems with the one-time transfer fee as that's fine and expected. So I told her to bring this matter up to the supervisor/manager and let me know quickly. In the meantime, I explored the option of switching to the services of an alternative provider; and found that they only charged a 1-time porting fee. Should the current provider insist on charging me for number rentention, I'd just cancel my subscription.

Finally they got back and said that after speaking to the manager, they would waive the transfer fee and perpetual number retention.

So for those who will be transferring or retaining your numbers in future, do take note of this.

Bro all the service provider in SG is the same.

They're just trying their luck and hope that out of 10 customer i of them will guai guai pay and thus up their profit and thus an proudly inform share holders and public and they havean increase of 60% profit...blah blah blah

Take credit card company, it's so easy to waive their subscriptions fees and yet they are just trying their luck for those who do not keep track of the bill when they received it and obediently pays the bill. Some countries i've been to does not even need to pay subscription fees for applying credit card :curse:

ya.. adrian, take mc.. tell doctor got flu.. at least 2 days mc..

hubby common flu nia.. doctor gave him 5 days mc.. so shiok... hahaha

AJ, do take care ah!

Hehe, yup yup go doctor - a friend got a flu and got 5 days mc too!

Hey man,

take care. Haze is getting worst these days.....and I am having dry eye probably due to that...dad also down with flu and cough...

The haze is back :curse:

Kopi, Chip&Dale, Red_Devil and Reiki:

Yup, I went to see the company Doc on Wednesday afternoon and he gave me MC for yesterday only. Wah Chip&Dale and Reiki, where's this doctor man? I must go visit him - I so could use a 5-day MC now! :D

Back at work today, still coughing like mad, but at least no wheezing for now, touch wood. Taking half-day to go back and help with packing, moving and unpacking. I really hope that after Sunday, I can rest a little easy... but I think not lah, with all the unpacking to do, then somemore still haven't bought anything for the Living room... Haiz!

Yes the haze is still bad. so much for enjoying nice breeze at the new house when the air's polluted ..ahahahahaha!

Edited by adrian_john

Bro all the service provider in SG is the same.

They're just trying their luck and hope that out of 10 customer i of them will guai guai pay and thus up their profit and thus an proudly inform share holders and public and they havean increase of 60% profit...blah blah blah

Take credit card company, it's so easy to waive their subscriptions fees and yet they are just trying their luck for those who do not keep track of the bill when they received it and obediently pays the bill. Some countries i've been to does not even need to pay subscription fees for applying credit card :curse:

Yah man. Nowadays, all these corporations and monopolies are really going all out to bleed people dry in these 'underhanded' means.

It just takes advantage of folks who are simple, non-confrontational and easy-going. I think its really important to be an informed consumer these days and speak up (and if necessry, tell them to F#$% off) if you feel anything's unfair or unjustified. There is just no consumer rights in S'pore.

Edited by adrian_john

Yah man. Nowadays, all these corporations and monopolies are really going all out to bleed people dry in these 'underhanded' means.

It just takes advantage of folks who are simple, non-confrontational and easy-going. I think its really important to be an informed consumer these days and speak up (and if necessry, tell them to F#$% off) if you feel anything's unfair or unjustified. There is just no consumer rights in S'pore.

Yup Yup i agree no consumer rights at all. The case with my beloved EPL :( hahaha

and they make it so **** difficult for us file a complaint too :(

The Calm Before the Storm

Since tomorrow's shifting-in day, I thought I'd take the opportunity to take some simple pics of what's more or less the completed home before the huge stacks of carton boxes fill my Living Room like a storeroom.

Here's the Living Room area, with tea-glass mirror and small altar shelf installed. Some carton boxes already in place along with the TV console.

laststageliving.jpg

View from behind the Balcony's glass door of the storage cabinet flushed with the Living Room wall and the new Storeroom entrance on the right.

laststage008.jpg

Completed Kitchen. The carpenter also cute, decided to get creative by leaving some of the protective green strips on the roller shutter for the oven cabinet. Sink, hood and hob all installed.

laststage009.jpg

Will try to take more pics today, hopefully not much of a mess.